Jump to content


Problem starting LDD today


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Kazz

Kazz

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 27-September 11
    Member: 20669

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:21 PM

Hi All,
I was using LDD this morning and all was ok. Tried it again this evening and it freezes on the 'initializing' start up part. Is anyone else having this issue?
I reinstalled it but still no good. All was fine with it this morning.

Edited by Superkalle, 02 June 2012 - 08:08 AM.
Updated topic title

Posted Image    Posted Image MY CUUSOO Projects - please support :)
-Modular Police Station- ---Modular Post Office---

#2 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:38 PM

View PostKazz, on 31 May 2012 - 07:21 PM, said:

Hi All,
I was using LDD this morning and all was ok. Tried it again this evening and it freezes on the 'initializing' start up part. Is anyone else having this issue?
I reinstalled it but still no good. All was fine with it this morning.

Yes, this is pretty much across the board right now, ongoing discussion is in the Troubleshooting thread :sweet:

It's probably a server issue according to our friendly regulator, and hopefully TLG are already well into fixing whatever has caused it. Hang tight!

~A.S.

Edited by AwesomeStar, 31 May 2012 - 07:38 PM.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#3 JackGhost

JackGhost

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 11-April 12
    Member: 27911
    Country: Germany

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:43 PM

I checked preferences.ini the only entry is:

LANGUAGE=de

nothing else.

Problem still acute.

#4 Kazz

Kazz

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 27-September 11
    Member: 20669

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:44 PM

View PostAwesomeStar, on 31 May 2012 - 07:38 PM, said:

Yes, this is pretty much across the board right now, ongoing discussion is in the Troubleshooting thread :sweet:

It's probably a server issue according to our friendly regulator, and hopefully TLG are already well into fixing whatever has caused it. Hang tight!

~A.S.

Thats great news Awesome Star, Im happy that its not my end. Thanks for the info. Im lost without it right now. I need my LDD fix
Posted Image    Posted Image MY CUUSOO Projects - please support :)
-Modular Police Station- ---Modular Post Office---

#5 Kazz

Kazz

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 27-September 11
    Member: 20669

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:47 PM

do they not have a place where they report any bugs or problems?
Mine is the same too.
Posted Image    Posted Image MY CUUSOO Projects - please support :)
-Modular Police Station- ---Modular Post Office---

#6 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:51 PM

View PostKazz, on 31 May 2012 - 07:44 PM, said:

Thats great news Awesome Star, Im happy that its not my end. Thanks for the info. Im lost without it right now. I need my LDD fix

Same here! I'm halfway through a MOC and ran out of money so I was experimenting in LDD to construct it while I get funds. I go out for a few hours and whaddya know... :sceptic:

Ah well, should be sorted soon! :thumbup:

~A.S.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#7 Kazz

Kazz

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 27-September 11
    Member: 20669

Posted 31 May 2012 - 07:54 PM

View PostAwesomeStar, on 31 May 2012 - 07:51 PM, said:

Same here! I'm halfway through a MOC and ran out of money so I was experimenting in LDD to construct it while I get funds. I go out for a few hours and whaddya know... :sceptic:

Ah well, should be sorted soon! :thumbup:

~A.S.

haha I hate not knowing how long things take. Hopefully someone will confirm when it is working again but i am relieved its nothing to do with anything Ive done on my pc, not that I have done anything anyway.
Posted Image    Posted Image MY CUUSOO Projects - please support :)
-Modular Police Station- ---Modular Post Office---

#8 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2316
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 31 May 2012 - 08:00 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 31 May 2012 - 06:51 PM, said:

I'm thinking more some kind of server problem.
If it is a server related problem, you should try to start LDD offline disconnecting the PC, and it should be work fine.

View PostJackGhost, on 31 May 2012 - 07:43 PM, said:

I checked preferences.ini the only entry is: [...]
There are two preferences.ini files. Did you checked the one in the user directory as I suggested before?
Anyway, it seems that the problem is not due to that. Try, anyway.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#9 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 31 May 2012 - 08:06 PM

Just disconnected from my network and attempted to load LDD but the problem persisted. I think the best we can do now if we wish to continue designing is to resort to the old technical drawing!

I knew those classes would come in handy one day... :laugh:

~A.S.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#10 Yatkuu

Yatkuu

  • Valiant effort


    Posts: 527
    Joined: 20-March 10
    Member: 9984
    Country: USA, NC

Posted 31 May 2012 - 08:34 PM

Same here, freezes while initializing on my 2 computers. I guess we need to wait... for TLG to solve the problem.

#11 Kazz

Kazz

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 27-September 11
    Member: 20669

Posted 31 May 2012 - 08:51 PM

Ive just disconnected my internet, started LDD and it asked me if i wanted to run it offline and it worked offline!
It may be an option to try for now as it worked for me.

Edited by Kazz, 31 May 2012 - 08:51 PM.

Posted Image    Posted Image MY CUUSOO Projects - please support :)
-Modular Police Station- ---Modular Post Office---

#12 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 31 May 2012 - 09:08 PM

Got a work-around for those of us whose computers allow for manually connecting/disconnecting without having to turn off the modem/router (though you could do this if you have to it'd just be a lot of bloody hassle!).

1.Disconnect from your network.

2. Open LDD.

3. Re-connect to your network

Bingo.

~A.S.

Edited by AwesomeStar, 31 May 2012 - 09:12 PM.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#13 Jason C. Hand

Jason C. Hand

    Posts: 196
    Joined: 31-January 12
    Member: 25365

Posted 31 May 2012 - 10:07 PM

View PostKazz, on 31 May 2012 - 08:51 PM, said:

Ive just disconnected my internet, started LDD and it asked me if i wanted to run it offline and it worked offline!
It may be an option to try for now as it worked for me.

Just did the same thing, and it worked. It must be LTG's servers  :sceptic:

#14 JackGhost

JackGhost

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 11-April 12
    Member: 27911
    Country: Germany

Posted 31 May 2012 - 10:12 PM

I also disconected and it works!

#15 BrickCommander

BrickCommander

    Posts: 41
    Joined: 02-April 11
    Member: 17008
    Country: Denmark

Posted 31 May 2012 - 11:20 PM

You have to cut your internet connection to start LDD in offline-mode. Shouldn't be that way, of course.

#16 Kazz

Kazz

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 27-September 11
    Member: 20669

Posted 01 June 2012 - 10:32 AM

View PostBrickCommander, on 31 May 2012 - 11:20 PM, said:

You have to cut your internet connection to start LDD in offline-mode. Shouldn't be that way, of course.

Yep thanks BrickCommander, I did that and got it working and yes it shouldnt be that way but it helps short term.
Posted Image    Posted Image MY CUUSOO Projects - please support :)
-Modular Police Station- ---Modular Post Office---

#17 Lego Otaku

Lego Otaku

    Posts: 1142
    Joined: 16-September 10
    Member: 13293

Posted 01 June 2012 - 11:28 AM

Depending on firewall software, you can also add LDD to block list. It worked for me as it asked if I wanted to use LDD offline.

#18 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 01 June 2012 - 11:55 AM

Everything seems to be working fine now. I can use it online and it loads as per normal.

Glad that's fixed!

~A.S.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#19 Kazz

Kazz

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 27-September 11
    Member: 20669

Posted 01 June 2012 - 12:41 PM

View PostAwesomeStar, on 01 June 2012 - 11:55 AM, said:

Everything seems to be working fine now. I can use it online and it loads as per normal.

Glad that's fixed!

~A.S.

Not for me :( still cant use it online from start up
Posted Image    Posted Image MY CUUSOO Projects - please support :)
-Modular Police Station- ---Modular Post Office---

#20 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 01 June 2012 - 02:09 PM

View PostKazz, on 01 June 2012 - 12:41 PM, said:

Not for me :( still cant use it online from start up

Oh, it seems I'm mistaken then. Still, perhaps they're bringing it back online area by area. I'm fairly sure the fix will hit where you live soon enough most likely within the next 24 hours.

~A.S.

EDIT: scrap that, the problem has just returned. Back to offline mode it is then...

Edited by AwesomeStar, 01 June 2012 - 02:25 PM.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#21 Rail Co

Rail Co

    Posts: 259
    Joined: 18-March 12
    Member: 27393

Posted 01 June 2012 - 03:30 PM

Hello, I have been having problems with my LDD. It will load about 1/8 or 1/12 of the way then stop and wont move. Could anyone please help me with this?

Thanks, Rail Co

EDIT: found my problem sorry for the post!

Edited by Rail Co, 01 June 2012 - 03:33 PM.

Check out my Flickr Stream! For all photo updates!   https://www.flickr.c.../126425458@N06/

Lego Trains make the world go round, or at least a loop!

#22 Graysmith

Graysmith

    Posts: 346
    Joined: 18-January 12
    Member: 24460

Posted 01 June 2012 - 05:23 PM

Maybe I'm just crazy, but LDD seems to run faster on my computer in offline mode. I wonder if there's any way to stop LDD from accessing the internet without having to turn my internet connection off every time I start it..

#23 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5736
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:19 PM

About this issue. I mailed the LDD team and got a reply that they are aware of it and working on the problem. At least some comfort in that it's being looked into. For the time being I guess the best solution is to temporarily disconnect internet while starting LDD.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#24 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 01 June 2012 - 09:50 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 01 June 2012 - 08:19 PM, said:

About this issue. I mailed the LDD team and got a reply that they are aware of it and working on the problem. At least some comfort in that it's being looked into. For the time being I guess the best solution is to temporarily disconnect internet while starting LDD.

I'm experiencing it on-and-off now. Sometimes it works as it always did and sometimes I have to disconnect and then reconnect when back in. I guess it's on-going for now.

~A.S.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#25 kotaco

kotaco

    Posts: 66
    Joined: 27-October 11
    Member: 21203
    Country: United States

Posted 02 June 2012 - 02:13 AM

View PostGraysmith, on 01 June 2012 - 05:23 PM, said:

Maybe I'm just crazy, but LDD seems to run faster on my computer in offline mode. I wonder if there's any way to stop LDD from accessing the internet without having to turn my internet connection off every time I start it..

You could accomplish that by creating a hosts file for LDD. That would block outgoing connections and have you start in offline mode by default without turning off your internet. All you'd need to do is find out what url LDD is calling when it starts up to create the host file.

It'd look something like:

127.0.0.1 lego.com

but with the the url that LDD is calling at start up, which I don't know as of yet. This may complicate updating although you could easily comment out that line for updates by putting a # sign in front of it. i.e)

#127.0.0.1 lego.com

Just a suggestion, for more on hosts file google search or http://www.wikihow.c...File-in-Windows
Posted Image
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Visit Us Today @ Emergency Bricks! - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users