Jump to content


Building bridges with Brick, Arch 1 x 12 x 3


7 replies to this topic

#1 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 15 April 2012 - 04:38 PM

Hello,

I'm currently some way down the line of constructing a diorama built in the late 80s CC style featuring Forestman and other sets of that era, in both LDD and real life. I use LDD to plan ahead, test and experiment so that when it comes down to ordering through BL I have just what I need.

However, there is obviously a limit to what LDD can do compared to the real world, and as I'm sure you are all aware this includes 'illegal' techniques and friction. I wish to build a bridge across two parts of the diorama - a span which the Brick, Arch 1 x 12 x 3 fits perfectly - but unfortunately I do not possess two or even one of said part to test for myself.

Here is an image of the diorama so far (I would show you a real life image but it is a fair bit behind this up-to-date version):
Posted Image
LDDScreenShot14 by AwesomeStar, on Flickr

And here is an image of Brick, Arch 1 x 12 x 3 (borrowed from BrickLink).

Now the idea I have is of placing 1x6 plates underneath the parts so that they form a nice arched bridge while still in that Classic Castle style. However seeing as I can't test for myself I thought I'd drop a note here asking if any of you kind folks out there could possibly have a go?

Thanks so much,

-A.S.

Edited by AwesomeStar, 15 April 2012 - 04:39 PM.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#2 mrklaw

mrklaw

    Posts: 354
    Joined: 04-November 10
    Member: 14078

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:21 PM

Do you mean you want to put 1x6 plates on the underside of the arch, joining two of them together to make the floor? You're not sure whether they'll stick because of the curve?

#3 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 15 April 2012 - 07:54 PM

View Postmrklaw, on 15 April 2012 - 07:21 PM, said:

Do you mean you want to put 1x6 plates on the underside of the arch, joining two of them together to make the floor? You're not sure whether they'll stick because of the curve?


Yep, that's exactly what I mean. I have come up with another variant of the bridge that is built in the same style but doesn't use the under-curve technique. However, I would like to see if this works.

-A.S.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#4 mrklaw

mrklaw

    Posts: 354
    Joined: 04-November 10
    Member: 14078

Posted 15 April 2012 - 08:05 PM

I don't have that exact piece, but

- on a 1x5x4 arch (2339 - as used in the fire brigade), nothing will stick underneath it - no grip at all

- on a 1x6 arch (part number 3455), the arch is four studs long and 4 1x6 plates fit nicely underneath it. Thats a fairly gentle curve and I think you'd get away with something steeper and still hold plates

so.... not much help at all, sorry. Not sure if there is a pattern to whether different sized arches accept studs or not.

Edited by mrklaw, 15 April 2012 - 08:28 PM.


#5 mrklaw

mrklaw

    Posts: 354
    Joined: 04-November 10
    Member: 14078

Posted 15 April 2012 - 08:41 PM

looks like the answer might be yes - Japanese water Garden

#6 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 15 April 2012 - 09:16 PM

View Postmrklaw, on 15 April 2012 - 08:41 PM, said:

looks like the answer might be yes - Japanese water Garden

Perfect, thank you ever so much.

I'm now torn between two bridge designs but that's another matter all together.

Cheers, mrklaw! :thumbup:  

-A.S.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#7 JackJonespaw

JackJonespaw

  • Help Me Build Hogwarts!


    Posts: 2097
    Joined: 12-June 11
    Member: 18405
    Country: U.S.A.

Posted 16 April 2012 - 12:00 PM

This will work, and it will look quite nice, with tiles.

#8 MinuteBot

MinuteBot

    Posts: 11
    Joined: 13-April 12
    Member: 27944

Posted 16 April 2012 - 04:30 PM

View Postmrklaw, on 15 April 2012 - 08:05 PM, said:

I don't have that exact piece, but

- on a 1x5x4 arch (2339 - as used in the fire brigade), nothing will stick underneath it - no grip at all

- on a 1x6 arch (part number 3455), the arch is four studs long and 4 1x6 plates fit nicely underneath it. Thats a fairly gentle curve and I think you'd get away with something steeper and still hold plates

so.... not much help at all, sorry. Not sure if there is a pattern to whether different sized arches accept studs or not.

Hi, we are working on a part, that could help with an alternative bridge design. Could be used to join two plates, or as a top layer for a bridge - more as a viaduct than an arch bridge. Depends on how big construction you need :) Have a look at our idea http://www.kickstart.../minutebot-base

Attached Images

  • viaduct.jpg




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users