Paul B Technic

New to Trains - Some Questions

Hi all,

I am very new to the whole Lego Train world having being a Lego City fan for the first 10 years of my life and then moving on to Lego Technic for the last 18 years on and off. I sold all my Lego Technic late last year and now I have purchased my first train (7939) which I built over the weekend. I now have some questions:

1- Should / does anybody else's train fly off the tracks at higher speeds? I have already crashed quite a few times and as mine is up off the floor on my desk it breaks when it flies off.

2- I am getting my head around the various systems used in the past as I have never had anything to do with trains before, can the older rolling stock be used with this train / track?

3- Due to the space I have to set this up I can't lay out the track like it shows on the box so I have done it a different way so it fits in the space I have, does anybody have any suggestions for possible layouts using the track from this set?

Thanks

Paul

Hi 'Paul B', I think I can help you with your questions,

1- Should / does anybody else's train fly off the tracks at higher speeds? I have already crashed quite a few times and as mine is up off the floor on my desk it breaks when it flies off.

At higher speeds, trains do tend to derail on regular curve tracks. If you run them at high speed you need to make longer gradual bends using straight tracks but, this requires a lot of space and track. It's easiest just to run them a bit slower, I used to run mine at a mid range.

2- I am getting my head around the various systems used in the past as I have never had anything to do with trains before, can the older rolling stock be used with this train / track?