Sign in to follow this  
Slave2Leia

9V Train Help w/Emerald Night

Hi

I'm new to Eurobricks and to the world of Lego Trains. I'm having an issue with my first train set and I hope you all could help. I bought and converted the Emerald Night to run on a 9v track using the method I read on the forum, motor on tender. I’ve set up my Emerald Night on an tracking and started running it with two passenger cars and a caboose and it was going great for a few minutes then just stopped. I’ve tried fixing the wheels on the locomotive like was mentioned and even removed the piston that connects all the wheels. But it is still coming to a stop after a few minutes. I got the 9V motor used on eBay is it possible the motor is not strong enough? It seems to run fine without the locomotive in front of it that's why I thought it was the wheels causing the problem.

Any help would be great, thank you.

Edited by Slave2Leia

There's a thread or two here on EB about friction problems with the EN. Have you read them? That's where I would start...

May you post some pictures of your Emerald Night locomotive (maybe of the bottom)?

Where does locomotive stop? Does it stop running on corners or on straight track? :sceptic:

I can post some pictures tomorrow but for now, the EN has stopped on several different points on the track. I thought it was the track so I checked it and moved it around and still it just stops. I but the 9v motor/tender in the front and it ran longer then before but still came to a stop after 5 or so minutes. I'm going to get an other motor and see if that makes a difference. Maybe if I put 2 on the train it will be better.

You should try just pushing the train (without the motor) around your layout first. There are many issues with the EN that can make it seize up, the track is unlikely to be the problem.