Sign in to follow this  
Duke

Power Functions Motor with Steam Drivers

I'm relatively new to lego trains and own only a powered Emerald Night at the moment. I've been puzzling over making a motorised 0-6-0 model something along the lines of this:

6356.jpg

I found a really great model by Carl Greatrix which isn't motorised:

5146516568_065846bfd9.jpg

I guess the difficulty is in fitting an XL motor inside and was wondering whether it would be any good to put the big steam driver wheels on a power functions train motor. I haven't seen any models like this so I feel there must be some issue with that configuration. However I don't own one of those motors.. can anyone shed any light on it or perhaps suggest an alternative solution?

For a model like that, an 'M' motor would probably be more appropriate. The standalone PF motors rotate much slower, but have more torque so won't slow down so much when a heavy load is applied. They are awkward shapes though, so that is a point of contention. In this model, the other problems are fitting the other equipment (and the massive cables) in.

The PF train motor can take the Large drivers, however the gearing of the motor is internal and unchangeable. This makes it move way too fast. For reference, Carl's model is using Medium BBB (Big Ben Bricks) wheels, which are in between the regular train wheel and the driver in size.

I actually built a model of that same 0-6-0 engine (Here, if interested), and one of my goals with it was to try and have it motorized.