Sign in to follow this  
Derfel Cadarn

Elizabethan Privateer The Princess Ceinwyn

thindexedgif.gif 105b

Hi there, this is an English Galleon, currently a privateer in the service of the queen of England.

Ive wanted to have a go at building a more realistic ship for ages, but ive never really been a ship builder as I have always prefered landscapes. However, this has changed! Ive really enjoyed building this ship as it was a refreshing challenge. Usually I power build a moc and finish it in a few weeks, but I started this in March and took a bit of time working an hour here and there on her. Its my first try at a Galleon and even though im quite happy with how shes turned out, there are a few ideas and techniques which I'd like to try instead on my next one. My long term vision is to recreate part of a battle in the Spanish Armada, so I need a few of these and then a few big Spanish Galleons. That will take time! I used CGH's tutorial to get me going then built her up from pictures of the Golden Hinde, as there is a lot of info and pics of that ship. I wanted to try a different technique for the colours, so I used the tooth plates instead of a checker pattern with plates. The sails are test ones, as I plan to make some with a printed Elizabethan design in the future. I chose to sow all the sails and ive also sowed them onto the yards. For the rigging I have just gone with the basics, although I really wanted to go all out and add as many parts as I could, however, anyone who builds ships will know rigging is tricky and time consuming.

I'd like to thanks CGH for his great tutorial, Admiral Croissant for his great sail making thread, and all other members who have given me info and ideas! The next ship is already under construction!

The ship has been photographed without figs as I thought it was best in this case. Enough talking, heres the pics:

6026934852_7501bb26d4_z.jpg

6026336743_c4cbcb5416_z.jpg

6026297263_9e78779b4b_z.jpg

6026300061_f42c86177f_z.jpg