Jump to content


Need help with 8053 moc


32 replies to this topic

#1 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:00 PM

Hi all, I'm Federico.
I have some problems with this model, I have some problems with the front-back movement.
I don't know where to place the motor. All the other motors are ok and work well.
I have uploaded a video on youtube with the movement but as I did it, it has some problems.

Here you can see the 3D model of all the other parts (It's based on the 3D model found here
Turret: https://sites.google...s/Gruturret.lxf
Base: https://sites.google...izingsystem.lxf

Thanks in advance for the help! :classic:

#2 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:02 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 01:00 PM, said:

Hi all, I'm Federico.
I have some problems with this model, I have some problems with the front-back movement.
I don't know where to place the motor. All the other motors are ok and work well.
I have uploaded a video on youtube with the movement but as I did it, it has some problems.

Here you can see the 3D model of all the other parts (It's based on the 3D model found here
Turret: https://sites.google...s/Gruturret.lxf
Base: https://sites.google...izingsystem.lxf

Thanks in advance for the help! :classic:

Hi!

Is it possible to upload some pictures to show us what you mean?

#3 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:06 PM

I can put a picture of the full model but not the front-back engine that I want to get because I do not know where to start ...

Thanks for your concern and quick response :laugh:

#4 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:11 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 01:06 PM, said:

I can put a picture of the full model but not the front-back engine that I want to get because I do not know where to start ...

Thanks for your concern and quick response :laugh:

Let's start with a picture of the full model and proceed from there Posted Image

#5 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:12 PM

I'm  upoloading the images ( 26 Mb!)  :wink:

Download (zipped)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=U8ISEZPQ

Edited by fede.97, 04 August 2011 - 01:26 PM.


#6 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:33 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 01:12 PM, said:

I'm  upoloading the images ( 26 Mb!)  :wink:

Download (zipped)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=U8ISEZPQ

Maybe it's better if you resize it with MS Paint (or even better, download Paint.NET, it's free). This will take forever.

Resize it to 800 x 600 or something and try it again.

#7 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:47 PM

I prefer Gimp

[img=http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/9513/p1000508u.th.jpg]
[img=http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/1483/p1000509e.th.jpg]
[img=http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/1467/p1000510ud.th.jpg]
[img=http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/8/p1000511j.th.jpg]
[img=http://img849.imageshack.us/img849/5328/p1000512i.th.jpg]

#8 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:49 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 01:47 PM, said:


Gimp is cool too Posted Image

I will take a look!

#9 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:51 PM

ok, thanks

#10 DLuders

DLuders

  • Technic Technician


    Posts: 5817
    Joined: 17-October 09
    Member: 7868
    Country: USA (WA State)

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:02 PM

Here are the pictures that fede.97 wants us to look at:

Posted Image  Posted Image  Posted Image  Posted Image  Posted Image

#11 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:04 PM

thank you, I cannot place jpg here :hmpf_bad:

those are some screenshots from 3D model
[code
]http://imageshack.us...creenshot1.png/
http://imageshack.us...reenshot4y.png/
http://imageshack.us...creenshot3.png/
http://imageshack.us...reenshot2u.png/
[/code]

Edited by fede.97, 04 August 2011 - 02:14 PM.


#12 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:09 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 02:04 PM, said:

thank you, I cannot place jpg here :hmpf_bad:

Is this yours or are you inspired by it? The setup looks the same.


#13 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:14 PM

I'm not inspired, I'm MrFed30!  :laugh:

#14 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:19 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 02:14 PM, said:

I'm not inspired, I'm MrFed30!  :laugh:

I figured you were Posted Image

#15 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:22 PM

Perfect, then so you can see it in action!  :classic:

#16 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:29 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 02:22 PM, said:

Perfect, then so you can see it in action!  :classic:

So, to make long story even longer.....what exactly is the problem?! Posted Image

It does seem to work fine!!

#17 DLuders

DLuders

  • Technic Technician


    Posts: 5817
    Joined: 17-October 09
    Member: 7868
    Country: USA (WA State)

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:37 PM

Although I don't own the standard 8053 set, I agree with Gekke Ted that it SEEMS fine.

[@ fede.97:  You can insert your PHOTOS and VIDEOS directly -- hover your computer mouse over the icons to the right of the "smiley face" when you make a post.  You will see an icon for "Insert Image" and another one for "Insert media" (video).]



#18 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:43 PM

1. It ony SEEMS fine the fron back movement sucks! The gears used can not stand taking the effort and made ​​every 5 cm dfal half. There is a huge loss of power due to the distance between the motor and the axis of the wheels and the weight of the same moc

2. If I try to add images (I know Ip.Board!) I get:
   "You are not allowed to use that image extension on this board."

#19 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:48 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 02:43 PM, said:

1. It ony SEEMS fine the fron back movement sucks! The gears used can not stand taking the effort and made ​​every 5 cm dfal half. There is a huge loss of power due to the distance between the motor and the axis of the wheels and the weight of the same moc

Like DLuders I don't own the actual model (it's on my list when I run out of other models), but a suggestion would be to start all over again with the chassis. When rebuilding the chassis bare in mind that you will want to include a motor for the drive train. With that in mind, you can take the necessary steps to include the motor early on. Maybe use an XL instead of M motor (not sure which you are using), use the right gear ratio (gear it down to gain power) and possibly use knob wheels instead of normal gears.


Maybe there's some room underneath the cabin, near the front wheels.

I know this is not really a solution, just some pointers.

Edited by Gekke Ted, 04 August 2011 - 02:49 PM.


#20 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 02:52 PM

Already did yesterday, I've banged my head for about 14 hours! :cry_sad:  There are many estimating that the rest of the model I made ​​in about 3 days!

PS I use the XL motor and this piece to avoid slippage of the gears (which is inevitable too)

Edited by fede.97, 04 August 2011 - 02:52 PM.


#21 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 03:01 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 02:52 PM, said:

Already did yesterday, I've banged my head for about 14 hours! :cry_sad:  There are many estimating that the rest of the model I made ​​in about 3 days!

PS I use the XL motor and this piece to avoid slippage of the gears (which is inevitable too)

Where's the XL motor located now?

Might be an idea to use two of them, one underneath the cabin, powering the front wheels and one in the back, powering the rear wheels. To do this right however, you will need to use a differential. And you still need to be able to steer the vehicle. I can see why it's not easy.

Another idea is to make it rear wheel drive and front wheel steered, but that's just a workaround.

Which gears are you using to power the wheels? Are you using knob wheels?
You also might want to take a look at this page:
http://sariel.pl/200...gears-tutorial/

they are much stronger than gear wheels and they can handle significantly higher torque

Edited by Gekke Ted, 04 August 2011 - 03:04 PM.


#22 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 03:13 PM

The motor is located into the cabin.
All the weels are steerable except the second from the front (you don't see in in the photo).
I have the differential. I can try...

#23 Jim

Jim

  • Staring at favicons


    Posts: 3983
    Joined: 27-July 11
    Member: 19306
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 August 2011 - 03:17 PM

View Postfede.97, on 04 August 2011 - 03:13 PM, said:

The motor is located into the cabin.
All the weels are steerable except the second from the front (you don't see in in the photo).
I have the differential. I can try...

It seems I will need to buy it sooner than expected and try it myself too Posted Image
(I probably do have the parts, except for the 8 wheels)

Peeron tells me I am missing 4 different parts (19 in total).

BTW, I was planning on buying this set for the B-model. You can build that one too and try to motorize it. It does look cool.

Edited by Gekke Ted, 04 August 2011 - 03:19 PM.


#24 fede.97

fede.97

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19476
    Country: Italy

Posted 04 August 2011 - 03:34 PM

If you buy it could you help me a lot!

Yea, the B-model is very cool!

#25 LegoTechnic

LegoTechnic

    Posts: 5
    Joined: 04-August 11
    Member: 19468

Posted 05 August 2011 - 12:42 AM

I am new to technic. But already want the 8421 crane. With the price of a new rig it's $475. Which is ridiculous but isn't made anymore. Is it worth it to get the 8421 Model vs the 8053. As of right now I have the 8043, 8110, & 8052. My wish list is the 8421 and the 8258. Currently I have only had time to build the 8052 since it was my first set. Thanks

Edited by LegoTechnic, 05 August 2011 - 12:43 AM.




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users