Jump to content


Anio's UCS Slave 1 instructions


26 replies to this topic

#1 jamie75

jamie75

  • Packs a large walker


    Posts: 420
    Joined: 03-August 05
    Member: 454
    Country: Hoth

Posted 01 April 2011 - 01:34 PM

Posted Image
Anio and I trade alot of PMs and emails over the last week or 2. I have been working on instructions for his UCS Slave 1 model. And I think I have it 99% finished. It would be 100%, but, there a few pieces not made in MLCad yet. They are added to the model as notes. Plus the struts for the wings have some "funky" angles on them, I couldn't figure out. So they are added to the model on the side of it.

In MLCad, the model looks good. And comparing it to pics of his model, it looks spot-on!!

I have uploaded the MLCad file to Brickshelf, along with some pics of it. The pics are deeplinked. The file should be modded in a day or so.

I will also be adding the parts list to Brickshelf soon, plus am working on an XML file for it in Brickstore. Both will be added as soon as finish them.

Thanks for looking, Jamie

Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image

#2 Speedy

Speedy

  • White Reggaeist


    Posts: 6064
    Joined: 02-November 08
    Member: 4268
    Country: 日本

Posted 01 April 2011 - 01:46 PM

It might be hard to say, but do you have an idea of what sets would be needed to build this?  Like, I have the last two Slaves, 2006 & 2010.  Between them, do you think it would be 90% of the pieces, or are there a lot of specialty ones?  This is one of my favorite ships, so it'd be fun to give it a try.

Oh yes, and thanks  :thumbup:

Spencer Delgado


I am a Satanist and not ashamed.


My Facebook! My Tumblr


#3 Blackknight112

Blackknight112

  • Pantsless no more


    Posts: 629
    Joined: 07-June 10
    Member: 11279
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 01 April 2011 - 03:42 PM

Wow, I really going to try and built it. Is there a possebility we can get a scan of the ucs card sticker?
Don't forget to check out:

My Youtube(Nederlands)

Posted Image

Posted Image

#4 Anio

Anio

  • I buy LEGO, then I just do something awesome with it.


    Posts: 1389
    Joined: 18-February 09
    Member: 5344
    Country: France

Posted 01 April 2011 - 04:05 PM

EDIT :
Professional building instruction available here : http://www.eurobrick...dpost&p=1188491
/EDIT



Hello,

Nice to see that you have finally posted the model, Jamie.

A few words :
- with that file, the model can easily be reproduced, that's certain
- greebs were probably not easy to do, but they are ok (as far I can see)
- cannons are different on mine (smaller)
- I see the tail is 2 plates to high. Look here :
http://www.brickshel...y.cgi?i=4860199
http://www.brickshel...y.cgi?i=4860200
- some parts are not in the file (the green arches, obviously) but Jamie put them in the inventory.

And for the sticker, better than a scan, here is the genuine file :
Posted Image


BTW, how many parts, Jamie ?


Anio

Edited by Anio, 31 January 2012 - 06:59 PM.


#5 jamie75

jamie75

  • Packs a large walker


    Posts: 420
    Joined: 03-August 05
    Member: 454
    Country: Hoth

Posted 01 April 2011 - 07:37 PM

I was trying to get everything ready before posting, but, the XML file is giving me grief!? So, if anyone wants to build this, they will have to order off the parts list!

-The detail underneath, should exactly the same as your!
-The cannons, I used Star Wars lasers, but, I do have a file for your on comptuer as well. I can post that too!!
-Now that you mention the tail, I see, I did screw up alittle. I'll go back and see if I can fix it without screwing anything up.

Thanks for posting the sticker!!

Total pieces are 1232 with stand.

Jamie

View Postdef, on 01 April 2011 - 01:46 PM, said:

It might be hard to say, but do you have an idea of what sets would be needed to build this?  Like, I have the last two Slaves, 2006 & 2010.  Between them, do you think it would be 90% of the pieces, or are there a lot of specialty ones?  This is one of my favorite ships, so it'd be fun to give it a try.

Oh yes, and thanks  :thumbup:

Looking at the inventories for the 2 Slave 1's, I would say you could use about 40% to 50% for the pieces in them and have to order the rest! But, that is just a guess. I was actually thinking of picking up an extra Slave 1 just for the Windscreen and Dark Green pieces.

And your welcome!!

Jamie

Edited by jamie75, 01 April 2011 - 09:10 PM.


#6 Anio

Anio

  • I buy LEGO, then I just do something awesome with it.


    Posts: 1389
    Joined: 18-February 09
    Member: 5344
    Country: France

Posted 01 April 2011 - 08:33 PM

1,232 parts. Hum, that's more than I expected.  :look:

Otherwise, to do my Slave, I first bought a 6209. What a huge mistake and waste of money.

#7 Blackknight112

Blackknight112

  • Pantsless no more


    Posts: 629
    Joined: 07-June 10
    Member: 11279
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 01 April 2011 - 10:43 PM

So will there be a XML file,
Don't forget to check out:

My Youtube(Nederlands)

Posted Image

Posted Image

#8 Darth Draks

Darth Draks

    Posts: 93
    Joined: 08-February 11
    Member: 15888
    Country: Australia

Posted 01 April 2011 - 11:45 PM

Thanks for sharing was just about to start one, would you say the slave is minifig scaled?

#9 jamie75

jamie75

  • Packs a large walker


    Posts: 420
    Joined: 03-August 05
    Member: 454
    Country: Hoth

Posted 02 April 2011 - 02:09 AM

View PostBlackknight112, on 01 April 2011 - 10:43 PM, said:

So will there be a XML file,

I'm having trouble with the XML file, so probably not. As stated above there are 1232 pieces in the file for the model and when I import it to Brickstore, it says 990.

So, atleast not till I figure out what the problem is and correct it?!

Jamie

#10 Blackknight112

Blackknight112

  • Pantsless no more


    Posts: 629
    Joined: 07-June 10
    Member: 11279
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 02 April 2011 - 09:48 AM

View Postjamie75, on 02 April 2011 - 02:09 AM, said:

I'm having trouble with the XML file, so probably not. As stated above there are 1232 pieces in the file for the model and when I import it to Brickstore, it says 990.

So, atleast not till I figure out what the problem is and correct it?!

Jamie
:cry_sad: I really wanted that list to buy from BL, I geuss I have to do it manually.
Don't forget to check out:

My Youtube(Nederlands)

Posted Image

Posted Image

#11 jamie75

jamie75

  • Packs a large walker


    Posts: 420
    Joined: 03-August 05
    Member: 454
    Country: Hoth

Posted 02 April 2011 - 03:47 PM

View PostBlackknight112, on 02 April 2011 - 09:48 AM, said:

:cry_sad: I really wanted that list to buy from BL, I geuss I have to do it manually.

I figured out the problem with Brickstore and the XML is now in my Brickshelf gallery!! Just copy and paste when it is modded!!

Enjoy, Jamie

Edited by jamie75, 02 April 2011 - 06:12 PM.


#12 demonash

demonash

    Posts: 11
    Joined: 22-March 11
    Member: 16785

Posted 03 April 2011 - 07:01 AM

this is just great! Thanks for sharing

#13 Anio

Anio

  • I buy LEGO, then I just do something awesome with it.


    Posts: 1389
    Joined: 18-February 09
    Member: 5344
    Country: France

Posted 03 April 2011 - 04:25 PM

And the vid :p



#14 StoutFiles

StoutFiles

    Posts: 1040
    Joined: 13-October 10
    Member: 13725
    Country: U.S.A.

Posted 04 April 2011 - 03:03 AM

Now if I could just get Anio to post the instructions for his Executor... :tongue:

#15 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 04 April 2011 - 05:15 AM

View PostStoutFiles, on 04 April 2011 - 03:03 AM, said:

Now if I could just get Anio to post the instructions for his Executor... :tongue:

I thought there weren't any instructions. If I remember correctly, Anio said he only had instructions made for his UCS TIE/ln and pod racer, on the premise that his Slave I was relatively easy to replicate from pictures (as can be inferred from this thread). Sadly, according to him there is no easy way to replicate his Executor or his groundbreaking UCS AT-TE ( :wub: )...

#16 cavegod

cavegod

  • UCS TIE Fleet Lieutenant


    Posts: 1046
    Joined: 17-February 09
    Member: 5322
    Country: Ingleton UK

Posted 04 April 2011 - 10:14 AM

View Postfallenangel309, on 04 April 2011 - 05:15 AM, said:

I thought there weren't any instructions. If I remember correctly, Anio said he only had instructions made for his UCS TIE/ln and pod racer, on the premise that his Slave I was relatively easy to replicate from pictures (as can be inferred from this thread). Sadly, according to him there is no easy way to replicate his Executor or his groundbreaking UCS AT-TE ( :wub: )...


UCS AT-TE just change the colours and a few other bits and bobs.

http://www.brickshel...T-TE/at-te1.pdf

#17 Anio

Anio

  • I buy LEGO, then I just do something awesome with it.


    Posts: 1389
    Joined: 18-February 09
    Member: 5344
    Country: France

Posted 04 April 2011 - 06:00 PM

View Postcavegod, on 04 April 2011 - 10:14 AM, said:

UCS AT-TE just change the colours and a few other bits and bobs.
Not really. But well... Posted Image

Edited by Anio, 04 April 2011 - 06:02 PM.


#18 cavegod

cavegod

  • UCS TIE Fleet Lieutenant


    Posts: 1046
    Joined: 17-February 09
    Member: 5322
    Country: Ingleton UK

Posted 04 April 2011 - 07:29 PM

yeah thers a lot of structural differences but it's a good start as you well know.

#19 drdavewatford

drdavewatford

  • Give him LEGO


    Posts: 550
    Joined: 29-January 09
    Member: 5149
    Country: England

Posted 04 April 2011 - 07:37 PM

View Postcavegod, on 04 April 2011 - 07:29 PM, said:

yeah thers a lot of structural differences but it's a good start as you well know.

Is there a parts inventory online somewhere ?

D.
Some reviews on Gimme LEGO:

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Love LEGO ? Visit my blog at http://www.gimmelego.blogspot.com

#20 cavegod

cavegod

  • UCS TIE Fleet Lieutenant


    Posts: 1046
    Joined: 17-February 09
    Member: 5322
    Country: Ingleton UK

Posted 04 April 2011 - 08:06 PM

View Postdrdavewatford, on 04 April 2011 - 07:37 PM, said:

Is there a parts inventory online somewhere ?

D.

of course

http://www.brickshel...TE/parts_v2.txt

i'm surprised you havent found them!

#21 Darth Draks

Darth Draks

    Posts: 93
    Joined: 08-February 11
    Member: 15888
    Country: Australia

Posted 09 April 2011 - 05:24 AM

I just built my Slave 1 8097 and the dimensions of that match up this UCS slave 1.  In terms of scale of a UCS model I would say it would need to be around 70 - 80 studs long.

#22 Anio

Anio

  • I buy LEGO, then I just do something awesome with it.


    Posts: 1389
    Joined: 18-February 09
    Member: 5344
    Country: France

Posted 09 April 2011 - 08:35 AM

View PostDarth Draks, on 09 April 2011 - 05:24 AM, said:

I just built my Slave 1 8097 and the dimensions of that match up this UCS slave 1.  In terms of scale of a UCS model I would say it would need to be around 70 - 80 studs long.
A UCS model does not need to be big to be detailed and well executed.
I would even say that I am not very keen of the MOCs which are pointlessly big.

#23 Darth Draks

Darth Draks

    Posts: 93
    Joined: 08-February 11
    Member: 15888
    Country: Australia

Posted 09 April 2011 - 09:14 AM

View PostAnio, on 09 April 2011 - 08:35 AM, said:

A UCS model does not need to be big to be detailed and well executed.
I would even say that I am not very keen of the MOCs which are pointlessly big.
Good point, I was looking at it from a mini fig scale pov which is what I'm interested in at the min.  Also thanks for sharing the model great work.

#24 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 10 April 2011 - 06:28 AM

View PostDarth Draks, on 09 April 2011 - 05:24 AM, said:

I just built my Slave 1 8097 and the dimensions of that match up this UCS slave 1.  In terms of scale of a UCS model I would say it would need to be around 70 - 80 studs long.

In UCS (1:28) scale I'm fairly certain the model would have to be much larger; a 70cm UCS model would mean that the real craft is only 19.6m. The 1/72 Fine Molds kit is 30.5cm in length (putting the actual length of the Slave I at about 22m) and I know that the kit is actually too small.

On a side note, I was under the impression that Anio's model was much bigger than 8097 - which makes the former even more impressive. :thumbup:

View PostDarth Draks, on 09 April 2011 - 09:14 AM, said:

Good point, I was looking at it from a mini fig scale pov which is what I'm interested in at the min.  Also thanks for sharing the model great work.

Ah... in that case, the 70~80-stud approximation would be about right.

#25 charles

charles

    Posts: 6
    Joined: 13-December 10
    Member: 14654

Posted 05 May 2011 - 08:20 PM

View Postjamie75, on 02 April 2011 - 02:09 AM, said:

I'm having trouble with the XML file, so probably not. As stated above there are 1232 pieces in the file for the model and when I import it to Brickstore, it says 990.

So, atleast not till I figure out what the problem is and correct it?!

Jamie


Jamie when I upload the file .mpd in LDRaw it comes up saying theres 9 parts missing
can you help out on this, is there a .ldr file by any chance?
Thanks
GREAT MODEL



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users