Jump to content


Little Deaths: EB server issues


149 replies to this topic

#1 Oky

Oky

  • I am O-ky, English-German relations


    Posts: 8985
    Joined: 02-October 07
    Member: 2028
    Country: USA

Posted 02 December 2008 - 04:56 AM

Hello there. For the past few weeks, I have had trouble from time to time with opening Eurobricks and navigating around in it. This happens regularly (about twice a day), but only sometimes. And when it happens, I try to log into EB from a different computer, but I get the same problem. I was wondering if anyone else was experiencing such problems.
This hasn't happened before, and I'm pretty sure that it's not the fault of my computer, so could it be that there is something wrong with the EB server or something? :pir-look:

#2 The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor

    Posts: 6
    Joined: 26-November 08
    Member: 4511
    Country: United States

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:09 AM

You're not alone, Oky Wan.  For the last few hours today, I couldn't access the website at all.  No big problem, however; but it does happen every few days at my comp. :pir-sweet:

#3 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19344
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:15 AM

We're too popular. The server is OK, but sometimes during peak demand it all becomes a bit too much. We're working on it... :wink:

(That's all you're getting out of me for the moment.)





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#4 hollisbrick

hollisbrick

    Posts: 2775
    Joined: 14-August 14
    Member: 126882

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:47 AM

View PostSinner, on Dec 2 2008, 04:15 PM, said:

We're too popular. The server is OK, but sometimes during peak demand it all becomes a bit too much. We're working on it... :wink:

(That's all you're getting out of me for the moment.)
yea but we're members :pir-tongue: shouldnt we be able to access it and the "guests not at those peak hour momements? :wink:

#5 voxel

voxel

    Posts: 77
    Joined: 22-January 08
    Member: 2573

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:45 AM

Hi!

In the last few days, I surfed Eurobricks at around 2-3am (GMT+1), and it was slow indeed.

#6 Lego12

Lego12

  • Kill'n George


    Posts: 1572
    Joined: 28-June 08
    Member: 3422
    Country: USA

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:02 AM

Yeah it has been pretty slow.......its slow right now!
"One without strength is one without purpose."

"You never know, until you know."

-Lego12

#7 Natman8000

Natman8000

  • Dorky Obnoxious Tusken Accountant


    Posts: 2289
    Joined: 27-February 08
    Member: 2813
    Country: USA

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:08 AM

It is slow for me also. :pir-sceptic:
Posted Image   Posted Image

#8 Johnny 5

Johnny 5

    Posts: 418
    Joined: 26-September 07
    Member: 1999
    Country: United States

Posted 03 December 2008 - 06:30 AM

Hollisbrick makes a good point about members having priority but some forum software does not have the option for differentiating between guests and members and who gets what.
Of course that could be what Sinner is referring to when he says they are working on something.

#9 KimT

KimT

  • Retired Backdoor Sneaky Sith


    Posts: 14078
    Joined: 11-November 04
    Member: 101
    Country: Denmark

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:19 PM

I always have ultra-low load time and fast response, so your problems are new to me. :pir-tongue:
When in doubt on how to do things - Check the Tutorial Index
Star Wars Forum Pool on flickr

"Onwards Men! Victory IS at hand" - Famous last words
"How can this possibly go wrong?" -Also Famous last words


Posted Image


#10 pr0visorak

pr0visorak

  • Silvery Provo


    Posts: 912
    Joined: 24-July 08
    Member: 3570
    Country: Singapore

Posted 03 December 2008 - 05:12 PM

I get  thay problem during weekends so you would rarely see me during those times...
2nd Singaporean in Eurobricks and first few to enter the Singapore F1 Night Race on the 1st day!

Today is the Star wars Clone wars Ryloth the trilogy!
Posted Image

#11 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Christmas Moose


    Posts: 14454
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 03 December 2008 - 10:03 PM

As Sinner said: we are working on it and trying different options every day. Recently we doubled our server power but still we have some problems. It will take us too far to go into the details of what we are trying, but having the board run smooth at all times is our top priority.

We can't give priority to members over guests when the server is under high load. That's not supported in the forum software.

Feel free to make a post in this thread the moment you are experiencing serious problems with accessing us (or maybe best just after the problems are over :-)).

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.



Posted Image



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here



Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide






#12 RichardAM

RichardAM

    Posts: 89
    Joined: 20-September 08
    Member: 3971

Posted 03 December 2008 - 10:51 PM

Not sure if this has been mentioned elsewhere, or if anyone else is experiencing this, but i'm unable to access the "View New Posts" option, all I get is this:


The error returned was:

Sorry, but you do not have permission to use this feature. If you are not logged in, you may do so using the form below if available.


Is this related/part of the problem at all?

#13 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Christmas Moose


    Posts: 14454
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 03 December 2008 - 11:11 PM

View PostRichardAM, on Dec 3 2008, 11:51 PM, said:

Is this related/part of the problem at all?
Yes, it is related. We are doing tests by temporary shutting down "non essential" functions to see what's the impact on our server problem. I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.



Posted Image



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here



Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide






#14 Norrington

Norrington

  • Azufre Village Idiot


    Posts: 2032
    Joined: 07-October 06
    Member: 1009
    Country: America

Posted 04 December 2008 - 02:25 AM

Yes, I've experienced this too. When I search EB on google, if I type it in all the way "www.eurobricks.com"  it refuses to let me on the site, unless I got to EB through my favorites> As well, it can become very laggy (not mu ISP because all my other windows are going as fast as usually.
Just returned from a 3 or so year dark age, so just getting back into the swing of things. :)

0o~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~o0o~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~o0
~Proprieter of Norrington's Fine Minifig Clothiers. Please visit my thread .~
~My MOCpages~My Maj Gallery~My Fan-Fiction.net Gallery~My Photobucket~My Brickshelf~My Youtube~


#15 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19344
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 04 December 2008 - 02:35 AM

View PostNorrington, on Dec 4 2008, 12:25 PM, said:

When I search EB on google, if I type it in all the way "www.eurobricks.com"  it refuses to let me on the site, unless I got to EB through my favorites>
That is probably an issue of yours....  As a guess, you're going to the old site. :wink:





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#16 Corvus

Corvus

  • ¡ʎpuɐɯ ɹǝʌǝɹoɟ


    Posts: 3134
    Joined: 29-March 07
    Member: 1483
    Country: USA

Posted 04 December 2008 - 03:10 AM

It's annoying when that happens, but we have plenty else to do, like playing with LEGO. :pir-tongue:

(Look at it like this- it's not nearly as bad as BZP)
True happiness: looking inside the box to see a perfectly flat instruction manual.

Posted Image

#17 Johnny 5

Johnny 5

    Posts: 418
    Joined: 26-September 07
    Member: 1999
    Country: United States

Posted 04 December 2008 - 07:19 AM

View PostNorrington, on Dec 3 2008, 08:25 PM, said:

Yes, I've experienced this too. When I search EB on google, if I type it in all the way "www.eurobricks.com"  it refuses to let me on the site, unless I got to EB through my favorites> As well, it can become very laggy (not mu ISP because all my other windows are going as fast as usually.

Sinner is probably right on this because there is two main links that come a with a Google search, if you click the second one it will take you to the nonfunctioning site.

#18 JimBee

JimBee

  • Bubbler


    Posts: 9726
    Joined: 07-January 08
    Member: 2436
    Country: USA

Posted 06 December 2008 - 04:27 AM

I've experienced server timeouts quite a lot lately... hopefully this problem with be solved soon. Thanks to the staff for their hard work on this. :pir-sweet:

Posted ImagePosted Image
Currently playing Hybros, 53-year-old male imp Chi Monk in the Heroica RPG

Currently playing Jerry Bergeron in Red Menace Mafia
Stats | Bio


#19 fugglewyg

fugglewyg

    Posts: 94
    Joined: 17-January 08
    Member: 2524

Posted 06 December 2008 - 11:06 AM

Guessing this is also related to the same problem but i cannot use the search option for the forums. It just comes back as i do not have permission to use this feature.

#20 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Christmas Moose


    Posts: 14454
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:39 PM

View Postfugglewyg, on Dec 6 2008, 12:06 PM, said:

Guessing this is also related to the same problem but i cannot use the search option for the forums. It just comes back as i do not have permission to use this feature.
Yes, that's related. We're doing some tests which involve temporary shutting down certain features (like the search option). Sorry for the inconvenience.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.



Posted Image



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here



Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide






#21 NewRight

NewRight

  • Captain Blue Hair is the best!


    Posts: 1048
    Joined: 12-June 08
    Member: 3286
    Country: United States

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:52 PM

View PostBonaparte, on Dec 6 2008, 02:39 PM, said:

Yes, that's related. We're doing some tests which involve temporary shutting down certain features (like the search option). Sorry for the inconvenience.
I'm sure we can all understand when it is for the better of the site.

#22 CP5670

CP5670

  • In search of litmus paper


    Posts: 2481
    Joined: 02-February 08
    Member: 2646
    Country: United States

Posted 08 December 2008 - 05:17 AM

The site was down for quite a while earlier today, and it seems like some people's topics got triple-posted during that time.

#23 hollisbrick

hollisbrick

    Posts: 2775
    Joined: 14-August 14
    Member: 126882

Posted 08 December 2008 - 07:21 AM

View PostCP5670, on Dec 8 2008, 03:17 PM, said:

The site was down for quite a while earlier today, and it seems like some people's topics got triple-posted during that time.
Ah yes...that explains my mega post :pir-tongue:  :pir-blush:

#24 Darth_Legois

Darth_Legois

  • Bagel Heretic


    Posts: 2241
    Joined: 03-April 07
    Member: 1496
    Country: Australia

Posted 08 December 2008 - 08:33 AM

View Posthollisbrick, on Dec 8 2008, 05:21 PM, said:

Ah yes...that explains my mega post :pir-tongue:  :pir-blush:

And acouple other things like the 4 Pm's I got from you saying the same thing.... :pir-tongue:


And I couldnt post some stuff 'cos it just majorly stuffed up. :pir-hmpf_bad: So I had to write a long post allover again...

#25 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19344
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 08 December 2008 - 08:37 AM

View PostDarth_Legois, on Dec 8 2008, 06:33 PM, said:

And I couldnt post some stuff 'cos it just majorly stuffed up. :pir-hmpf_bad: So I had to write a long post allover again...
Sinner's Tech Tip of the Day: If that happens (on EB or any site) press "back", copy your post, save to a text file, and try again later. If you can't do that use another browser, such as Opera, that lets you do this.





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users