Jump to content


Website is all... weird.


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 iamded

iamded

  • Cannot neigh to save his life.


    Posts: 5033
    Joined: 09-January 07
    Member: 1225
    Country: New Zealand!

Posted 29 December 2010 - 07:56 AM

So the other day (like, 2 days ago) when I went to Eurobricks' front page, I was greeted with something along the lines of this:

Posted Image

The occasional thread will appear like that as well, without formatting and the like. The forums index appears normally as well, except for one oddity. The profile thing in the top right corner always appears with the drop down list, well, permanently dropped down, like so:

Posted Image

I'm using the latest Firefox browser if that has anything to do with it. I haven't seen any other complaints so I guess I'm the only one. It's weird... Anywhom, if anyone has an advice on what's happened, I'll be glad to hear it! :sweet:

EDIT: Coincidentally, this thread's done it too, as well as the edit mode I'm using to add this to the post. :look:

Posted Image


Check out Eurobricks' RPG, Mafia and Wargames forum for the fun times!


#2 KielDaMan

KielDaMan

    Posts: 9545
    Joined: 04-February 09
    Member: 5203
    Country: PILIPINAS

Posted 29 December 2010 - 08:25 AM

Actually, I do experience this 'unformatted' page sometimes, especially when I have crappy internet connection. I'm no IT expert so I don't know the specific cause of this issue, but what I usually do is just refresh the page and it reverts back to the standard formatted view.

#3 Rick

Rick

  • Where's My Ostrich?


    Posts: 8524
    Joined: 11-February 09
    Member: 5261
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 29 December 2010 - 08:33 AM

Looks like a style sheet that doesn't load properly. A refresh should do the trick.

#4 I Scream Clone

I Scream Clone

  • Returning Nocturnian Master


    Posts: 6256
    Joined: 30-March 08
    Member: 2955
    Country: Australia

Posted 29 December 2010 - 09:47 AM

Happens to me occasionally as well and probably due to slow internet speed. A refresh works for me as well.

Got Questions? Need help? New member?,Read the site guidelines,Index of helpful tutorials

Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image  Posted Image   Posted Image  


#5 iamded

iamded

  • Cannot neigh to save his life.


    Posts: 5033
    Joined: 09-January 07
    Member: 1225
    Country: New Zealand!

Posted 29 December 2010 - 10:09 AM

Tried refreshing, is does not do the trick unfortunately. Other websites are loading fine. It's strange.

EDIT: Right, it seems when it auto changed to the Harry Potter skin, the problems started. So I changed to another skin and it's fine. As for the drop-down list being stuck dropped down, Shadows says that's a Java thing, so a ctrl+F5 fixed that. Problem solved! :sweet:


Check out Eurobricks' RPG, Mafia and Wargames forum for the fun times!


#6 prateek

prateek

  • Study hard!


    Posts: 10419
    Joined: 09-July 05
    Member: 426
    Country: Canada

Posted 29 December 2010 - 06:26 PM

I have the exact same problem on Firefox. It happens probably every couple of weeks. The quick fix is refreshing, but if that doesn't work, just go do something else for a couple minutes and reload the page. It should be back to normal.

#7 brickmack

brickmack

    Posts: 850
    Joined: 22-July 10
    Member: 12146
    Country: America

Posted 29 December 2010 - 07:02 PM

Sometimes if the refresh doesn't work, do a hard refresh, that usually fixes any problems like that unless the site itself is having issues. In firefox its the shift key plus the reload button.

#8 -zenn

-zenn

  • Hoverbikes+Cycles+Hot Rods Expert


    Posts: 1095
    Joined: 04-April 10
    Member: 10143
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 29 December 2010 - 08:21 PM

Or maybe update your browser....? :classic:
Posted Image

#9 Ratshot

Ratshot

  • Thank you for your contributions!


    Posts: 3165
    Joined: 24-December 08
    Member: 4799
    Country: Canada

Posted 29 December 2010 - 11:05 PM

I find that turning off all of my security services helps, It always works.

Edited by Ratshot, 29 December 2010 - 11:05 PM.

My flickr

Posted Image
1969 Dodge Charger RT


#10 Brickdoctor

Brickdoctor

  • Look at my Post Count!


    Posts: 21746
    Joined: 06-June 10
    Member: 11254
    Country: California, USA

Posted 29 December 2010 - 11:26 PM

View PostKielDaMan, on 29 December 2010 - 08:25 AM, said:

Actually, I do experience this 'unformatted' page sometimes, especially when I have crappy internet connection. I'm no IT expert so I don't know the specific cause of this issue, but what I usually do is just refresh the page and it reverts back to the standard formatted view.
Same here. I usually get it when I'm browsing with my iPod with only 1 bar of Wi-Fi signal strength, so out of the suggestions in this thread I'd suspect it's the style sheet that didn't load. A lot of times if I view an image-heavy topic on said iPod with bad connection, then some or all of the images won't load and I'll just get question marks all over the place.

#11 BrickArtist

BrickArtist

    Posts: 975
    Joined: 20-October 10
    Member: 13835

Posted 30 December 2010 - 05:19 AM

View PostBrickdoctor, on 29 December 2010 - 11:26 PM, said:

Same here. I usually get it when I'm browsing with my iPod with only 1 bar of Wi-Fi signal strength, so out of the suggestions in this thread I'd suspect it's the style sheet that didn't load. A lot of times if I view an image-heavy topic on said iPod with bad connection, then some or all of the images won't load and I'll just get question marks all over the place.
Same with me, if I go on through Wii internet, or ipod it shows the site like this.
Former Star Wars fan? Looking for Knights? Go here to trade with me!
"So take a shower a shower and shine your shoes, you got no time to lose, your a young man you must be living. " Best song ever, The General By dispatch--Check it out now!
Most recent MOC: BARC Speeder: http://www.eurobrick...showtopic=77126
Be sure to check out my most recent MOCs,Naboo Starfighter, UCS Swamp Speeder, and the UCS BARC speeder.

I have obsessive compulsive BARC disorder...

KOTBR: http://the-lsw-empir...otion.com/forum

#12 The Crazy One

The Crazy One

    Posts: 1915
    Joined: 24-August 08
    Member: 3823
    Country: England

Posted 30 December 2010 - 07:18 PM

I actuallly get this problem only when using my iPhone and I'm not on 3G. Simple refresh usually does it though.

#13 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 14003
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 31 December 2010 - 10:58 PM

I always use the default theme and I never get this, even on my android phone, only occasionally when my internet has a horrible connection.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users