Jump to content


Troubleshooting guide - LDD startup and advanced graphics problems


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#101 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5592
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 02 June 2012 - 08:06 AM

I've merged the discussion about LDD not starting properly May 31st 2012.

Please discuss about this specific problem here http://www.eurobrick...showtopic=70324
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#102 TechnicTobi

TechnicTobi

    Posts: 2
    Joined: 28-July 11
    Member: 19332
    Country: Germany

Posted 03 June 2012 - 04:19 PM

Hi!

You are the best! That exactly helped me. Thanks a lot!

Regards

Tobi

#103 Masta' Blasta'

Masta' Blasta'

    Posts: 266
    Joined: 03-September 11
    Member: 20204

Posted 27 March 2013 - 01:09 AM

Edit: Issue resolved.

Edited by Masta' Blasta', 27 March 2013 - 03:38 AM.

Warning: Fluent in Randomness


#104 keeganp1234

keeganp1234

    Posts: 65
    Joined: 18-June 13
    Member: 62930
    Country: United States

Posted 19 June 2013 - 12:16 AM

I dont know where this is supposed to go since im new...but I have a few questions about LDD.

I have LDD 4.3 and I pretty sure thats the newest one, right? And also, when ever I try to download a LDD file, it says: Cannot Load LDD Assets. What is wrong??

#105 eurotrash

eurotrash

  • Put the FUN in funicular


    Posts: 1921
    Joined: 30-January 12
    Member: 25286
    Country: Missouri

Posted 19 June 2013 - 12:33 AM

I don't know the answer, but this forum should be able to help you:

http://www.eurobrick...p?showforum=128

#106 keeganp1234

keeganp1234

    Posts: 65
    Joined: 18-June 13
    Member: 62930
    Country: United States

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:10 AM

Should I just ask a mod or something?

#107 Classicsmiley

Classicsmiley

    Posts: 142
    Joined: 27-March 08
    Member: 2943
    Country: USA

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:39 AM

No need to ask a mod; just ask your questions, and one of the several helpful people around here will try to help you out.

So, here are the initial trouble-shooting questions that come to my mind...

What operating system are you using?  (Windows XP, Windows 8, Max OSX, etc.)
Do you have LDD already installed?  (It sounds like you do, and yes, 4.3.6 is the most current version right now.)
Can you start a new model successfully?
What are the exact steps that you are taking that lead to the error message?

#108 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2210
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 20 June 2013 - 09:50 AM

Hi keeganp1234, welcome to the digital section.

The digital section has a Section Index where you can find many useful informations.
Here is the "Troubleshooting" part of the index, where you can find the main topics about problems as your one.
The "LDD startup and advanced graphics problems" topic is the one for you. Read it and try the solutions proposed there.

I'll move this request in that topic, later.

PS: the last version of LDD is 4.3.6, the previous one is 4.3.5.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#109 pbat

pbat

    Posts: 205
    Joined: 02-January 13
    Member: 35368
    Country: DE

Posted 20 June 2013 - 02:33 PM

View Postkeeganp1234, on 19 June 2013 - 12:16 AM, said:

I have LDD 4.3 and I pretty sure thats the newest one, right? And also, when ever I try to download a LDD file, it says: Cannot Load LDD Assets. What is wrong??

Was LDD already open when downloading the LXF or LXFML file? When I try to open multiple instances of LDD, I get a similar (but localized) message: I guess some important files get locked by the first instance so that a second instance won't load properly. Do you get this message even if no other instance of LDD is running?

When I'm no longer addicted to Lego I maybe get some time to get a real signature. But when I'm no longer addicted to Lego I do not need a signature here as well.


#110 keeganp1234

keeganp1234

    Posts: 65
    Joined: 18-June 13
    Member: 62930
    Country: United States

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:28 PM

View PostClassicsmiley, on 20 June 2013 - 02:39 AM, said:

No need to ask a mod; just ask your questions, and one of the several helpful people around here will try to help you out.

So, here are the initial trouble-shooting questions that come to my mind...

What operating system are you using?  (Windows XP, Windows 8, Max OSX, etc.)
Do you have LDD already installed?  (It sounds like you do, and yes, 4.3.6 is the most current version right now.)
Can you start a new model successfully?
What are the exact steps that you are taking that lead to the error message?

I am using Windows 8, and, where is the link for LDD 4.3.6?

#111 Classicsmiley

Classicsmiley

    Posts: 142
    Joined: 27-March 08
    Member: 2943
    Country: USA

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:32 PM

In LDD, you can either go to Help > About, or hit the F3 key.  The about screen shows 4.3 up at the top, and it shows the complete version number down just below the blue brick, in much smaller text.

#112 monsinjor

monsinjor

    Posts: 674
    Joined: 10-August 12
    Member: 30140
    Country: Croatia

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:33 PM

Hi. Here is:
http://ldd.lego.com/en-us/

#113 pbat

pbat

    Posts: 205
    Joined: 02-January 13
    Member: 35368
    Country: DE

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:38 PM

View Postkeeganp1234, on 20 June 2013 - 10:28 PM, said:

I am using Windows 8, and, where is the link for LDD 4.3.6?

http://ldd.lego.com/en-us/download/ --> If you've downloaded LDD there after 2013-03-08 you already have version 4.3.6

When I'm no longer addicted to Lego I maybe get some time to get a real signature. But when I'm no longer addicted to Lego I do not need a signature here as well.


#114 keeganp1234

keeganp1234

    Posts: 65
    Joined: 18-June 13
    Member: 62930
    Country: United States

Posted 21 June 2013 - 06:55 PM

Thanks, I have everything figured out!

#115 Tudoreleuu

Tudoreleuu

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 24-June 13
    Member: 64758

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:56 AM

Whenever I click on the "LDD Extended" tab or the "Mindstorms" tab, LDD just plain out closes. No errors, no nothing. Help?

#116 Ham17

Ham17

    Posts: 120
    Joined: 16-December 12
    Member: 34398
    Country: Australia

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:04 AM

Check the LDD manual here

Standing in a LEGO Store....
Friend> $120!!! This is expensive!!
Me> No.... THIS IS LEGO!!!

#117 Tudoreleuu

Tudoreleuu

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 24-June 13
    Member: 64758

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:10 AM

View PostHam17, on 24 June 2013 - 08:04 AM, said:

Check the LDD manual here

I've already read that, it says nothing to fix my problem. Compatibility mode didn't help, and neither did messing with the shaders.

#118 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2210
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:45 AM

Topic merged with the general discussion.

Edited by Calabar, 24 June 2013 - 10:51 AM.

"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#119 Tudoreleuu

Tudoreleuu

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 24-June 13
    Member: 64758

Posted 24 June 2013 - 09:45 AM

Activating the shaders works fine, so does deactivating. I even deactivated them in the preferences.ini, to no avail.

#120 Aanchir

Aanchir

  • Color Encyclopedia


    Posts: 7537
    Joined: 31-December 09
    Member: 8841
    Country: United States

Posted 25 June 2013 - 04:08 PM

View PostTudoreleuu, on 24 June 2013 - 07:56 AM, said:

Whenever I click on the "LDD Extended" tab or the "Mindstorms" tab, LDD just plain out closes. No errors, no nothing. Help?
Sometimes it does that for me if I click ANYTHING in the LDD window before the thumbnails of my recent models have all loaded. Does it make any difference if you wait for all the thumbnails to load before clicking anything?

Posted Image recommends the following sites:
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#121 Tudoreleuu

Tudoreleuu

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 24-June 13
    Member: 64758

Posted 26 June 2013 - 02:09 PM

View PostAanchir, on 25 June 2013 - 04:08 PM, said:

Sometimes it does that for me if I click ANYTHING in the LDD window before the thumbnails of my recent models have all loaded. Does it make any difference if you wait for all the thumbnails to load before clicking anything?
No, it doesn't.

#122 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2210
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 18 April 2014 - 09:36 AM

Recently I've tried LDD on some machines with an Intel Graphic processor (not the last ones, anyway, but the previous Intel HD) on Window systems.
It seems that enabling advanced graphics and bricks outlines almost all bricks become transparent. Few bricks that are not transparent assumes an amorphous bunch of pixels shape.
It seems a driver related problem.

Has anyone found a way to work around the problem?
Has someone an Intel HD Graphics and no problems?

Edited by Calabar, 18 April 2014 - 11:10 AM.

"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users