Jump to content


Personnal Messenger issues


54 replies to this topic

#1 RileyC

RileyC

  • >-- Stupid Cupid --> <3


    Posts: 2999
    Joined: 10-February 09
    Member: 5251
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 12 June 2010 - 11:45 PM

Ive been searching the options and trying to find a way that automatically saved my PMs when I send them instead of having to click the box when I am writing the message.

If anyone can help me out it would be much appreciated :classic:

Formerly gone by the name of "Roncanator"

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Playing as Yasuko a Model in Yakusa Family Mafia
Played as Rickety Cannon a Town Nerd in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum II: Fraulein Bloodbrick Mafia
Played as Ruxana a Town Pilot in Baritones 3 Mafia
Played as Roweena Karnata a Town Guard General turned Dark One in The Coming Darkness Mafystery
Played as Cookie Custer an Insane from Spider Ward in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum Mafia
Played as Ron Canter a Town Folk turned Noodles Family in Eurodina Mafia
Played as Todd "Bulltoad" Bulstrode an Innocent from Slytherin in Hogwarts Mafia
Played as Ron Callister a Sane Pilot in Dystopia Mafia
Played as Ron Toreil an Honoured soldier in Imperial Soldier's Mafia


#2 The Legonater

The Legonater

  • Can NOT Ctrl + Alt + Delete the Past


    Posts: 4262
    Joined: 09-December 09
    Member: 8515
    Country: Canada.

Posted 13 June 2010 - 12:39 AM

View PostRoncanator, on Jun 12 2010, 06:45 PM, said:

Ive been searching the options and trying to find a way that automatically saved my PMs when I send them instead of having to click the box when I am writing the message.

If anyone can help me out it would be much appreciated :classic:


I've been wondering that too.

Memory is the Key

A Christian and not ashamed.

Posted Image
Dyric Rone, Assassin of the Light

Level 26 1/3 Assassin

Theodor Legion, 73 year old ex-Bonaparte in Cruel Angel's Thesis


#3 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19300
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 13 June 2010 - 01:33 AM

Sorry, but not for the moment.... :wink:

(Yeah, I find that annoying too.)





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#4 RileyC

RileyC

  • >-- Stupid Cupid --> <3


    Posts: 2999
    Joined: 10-February 09
    Member: 5251
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 13 June 2010 - 01:54 AM

View PostSiegfried, on Jun 13 2010, 12:33 PM, said:

Sorry, but not for the moment.... :wink:

(Yeah, I find that annoying too.)
I dont find it annoying but rather just a hassle.
Still its great to hear that it will be incorporated soon! :thumbup:
Thanks Sieggy and the team :grin:

Formerly gone by the name of "Roncanator"

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Playing as Yasuko a Model in Yakusa Family Mafia
Played as Rickety Cannon a Town Nerd in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum II: Fraulein Bloodbrick Mafia
Played as Ruxana a Town Pilot in Baritones 3 Mafia
Played as Roweena Karnata a Town Guard General turned Dark One in The Coming Darkness Mafystery
Played as Cookie Custer an Insane from Spider Ward in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum Mafia
Played as Ron Canter a Town Folk turned Noodles Family in Eurodina Mafia
Played as Todd "Bulltoad" Bulstrode an Innocent from Slytherin in Hogwarts Mafia
Played as Ron Callister a Sane Pilot in Dystopia Mafia
Played as Ron Toreil an Honoured soldier in Imperial Soldier's Mafia


#5 Jipay

Jipay

  • Steve Wet


    Posts: 8388607
    Joined: 27-January 04
    Member: 1
    Country: France

Posted 13 June 2010 - 10:26 AM

We MIGHT not WILL, because saving all the PMs would double the storage space used, and slow our database. This is why we're offering the opportunity to save them, but it's not automatic.

#6 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 20 July 2011 - 06:17 AM

Having used our excellent PM system for a significant portion of my two years here, I am used to a white window appearing on my screen upon logging in to display a PM which has been newly sent to me, accompanied by a number next to my profile picture in the top right corner. Once I read the PM, the number usually disappears.

The other day, I noticed that the number next to my profile picture wouldn't disappear until some time after I had read the topic. At the time of writing this, the number "3" is displayed next to my profile picture, even though my inbox shows that I have only received one new PM in the last four hours (and I have already read it) and even though the white window has only come up once in the last four hours with the aforementioned PM. Has anyone else been experiencing something like this?

I have tried logging in and out several times, but that doesn't seem to be doing anything...

EDIT: About fifteen minutes later, the number has climbed to "6"...

EDIT2: Just now white window popped up - yes, just one - and all the numbers disappeared. :wacko: It has been seven minutes since the last edit.

EDIT3: And it's back - "21" sets a new all-time high...

Edited by fallenangel309, 08 September 2011 - 01:38 AM.


#7 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Member of the stwnfbjs Club


    Posts: 14297
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 20 July 2011 - 08:01 AM

For me this is working fine.

Suggest you start by cleaning your browser cache and next restart your browser.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.

Posted Image

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here


Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide




#8 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19300
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 20 July 2011 - 01:18 PM

....a general piece of advice.

When reporting a site related issue like this, always mention your browser. Your OS would be nice to know too, especially if you're running something odd like Linux or MacOS. Also, there are a few things you should always try first.

1. Restart your browser.
2. Restart your OS. (Yes this is good advice for MacOS too. I've seen this myself.)
3. Clear cookies and cache.
4. Log off, browse a few pages of the site as a guest and log back on.
5. Try a different browser. (Opera, Firefox, Chrome, Safari... IE.)
6. Try a different computer preferably in a different house.

If you don't do these first please expect us to ask you to do so!  :laugh: But if you've done that and the pain still persists then it's time to bother us... :cry_sad:





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#9 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 21 July 2011 - 04:51 AM

View PostSiegfried, on 20 July 2011 - 01:18 PM, said:

....a general piece of advice.

When reporting a site related issue like this, always mention your browser. Your OS would be nice to know too, especially if you're running something odd like Linux or MacOS. Also, there are a few things you should always try first.

1. Restart your browser.
2. Restart your OS. (Yes this is good advice for MacOS too. I've seen this myself.)
3. Clear cookies and cache.
4. Log off, browse a few pages of the site as a guest and log back on.
5. Try a different browser. (Opera, Firefox, Chrome, Safari... IE.)
6. Try a different computer preferably in a different house.

If you don't do these first please expect us to ask you to do so!  :laugh: But if you've done that and the pain still persists then it's time to bother us... :cry_sad:

Thank you, Siegfried. At the moment I am using the latest version of Firefox with Windows 7.

1. Even after multiple tries, the problem persists.
2. The same.
3. I store 0MB on my cache, and browser options are set such that all cookies are cleared when I close the browser window.
4. Browsing as a guest and then logging in again doesn't seem to affect this/
5. Explorer and Chrome give me the same results.
6. I only use this one computer... but a recent attempt elsewhere gave me similar results (the number next to my profile was "9". :wacko: ).

It's occurred to me that this only happens just before I receive a PM.

And yes, this is still happening to me.

Edited by fallenangel309, 30 July 2011 - 05:24 AM.


#10 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 30 July 2011 - 08:44 AM

I apologize if it seems like I'm being impatient and/or seeking too much attention, but it's been ten days and my PM system is still having this issue. I've tried Bonaparte's and Siegfried's suggestions multiple times but it still seems to be acting up. Granted, there seems to have been some improvement - the number to the right of my profile picture doesn't climb to something crazy like 9 before the white window pops up - but the number "1" has been there for about ten hours now, even though I haven't received a PM in five days and no new comments have been made on my profile.

#11 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 30 July 2011 - 02:23 PM

View Postfallenangel309, on 30 July 2011 - 08:44 AM, said:

I apologize if it seems like I'm being impatient and/or seeking too much attention, but it's been ten days and my PM system is still having this issue. I've tried Bonaparte's and Siegfried's suggestions multiple times but it still seems to be acting up. Granted, there seems to have been some improvement - the number to the right of my profile picture doesn't climb to something crazy like 9 before the white window pops up - but the number "1" has been there for about ten hours now, even though I haven't received a PM in five days and no new comments have been made on my profile.
I understand your frustration but if you look at it from the staff's point of view, you are the only one in about 15,000 people that are having this problem. That makes me think it's not an issue with the Eurobricks board.  Are you a member of any other forums? I would check to see if PM's work on those sites as well. It may be worth your time to completely uninstall your internet browser and re install it, it's likely a setting somewhere deep in the options that is screwing this up for you.

#12 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 03 August 2011 - 07:56 AM

I think I've figured out what the problem was, and it turns out it didn't have anything to do with my browser or my OS. I've had no issues since.

#13 Rufus

Rufus

  • Schnell! Schnell! Kartoffelkopf!


    Posts: 5022
    Joined: 15-July 09
    Member: 6705
    Country: England

Posted 03 August 2011 - 07:03 PM

View Postfallenangel309, on 03 August 2011 - 07:56 AM, said:

I think I've figured out what the problem was, and it turns out it didn't have anything to do with my browser or my OS. I've had no issues since.
What was the problem?  Please share, in case anyone else has the same issue.

#14 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 03 August 2011 - 07:12 PM

View PostRufus, on 03 August 2011 - 07:03 PM, said:

What was the problem?  Please share, in case anyone else has the same issue.

It doesn't seem like anyone else has been having this problem, but it appears that when you save a reply to a PM conversation in your Drafts folder the notification system thinks it's already been sent and tells the intended recipient accordingly(even though your inbox shows otherwise). If that particular situation was ever explained in the forums somewhere, I'm afraid I missed it when I was searching for explanations. :blush:

#15 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:35 PM

I currently and have always had the check box checked for email notifications when receiving PM's. I just double checked and that box is still checked.

I got a PM about 4 hours ago and I never got an email for it.  I sent a test email to my gmail account and it showed up immediately. I also just got a PM notification from another forum to my same gmail account, so it makes me think the problem might be with Eurobrick's.

Any record of this, or was Shadows tinkering?

#16 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 15 September 2011 - 05:15 PM

And I'll chalk this up to another instance of me overreacting.

I never did get that one, but I've gotten them ever since.

#17 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 04 November 2011 - 12:09 AM

I apologize for the double post, but I've noticed that after I report a member the aforementioned numbers disappear even though the saved PMs haven't been sent yet. :wacko: Would anyone care to explain?

#18 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 04 November 2011 - 12:24 AM

View Postfallenangel309, on 03 August 2011 - 07:12 PM, said:

It doesn't seem like anyone else has been having this problem, but it appears that when you save a reply to a PM conversation in your Drafts folder the notification system thinks it's already been sent and tells the intended recipient accordingly(even though your inbox shows otherwise). If that particular situation was ever explained in the forums somewhere, I'm afraid I missed it when I was searching for explanations. :blush:


View Postfallenangel309, on 04 November 2011 - 12:09 AM, said:

I apologize for the double post, but I've noticed that after I report a member the aforementioned numbers disappear even though the saved PMs haven't been sent yet. :wacko: Would anyone care to explain?
I'm not sure I understand you, when you report a member like through the report button >Posted Image

I'm just not sure what you're getting at?

#19 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 04 November 2011 - 01:57 AM

View PostBig Cam, on 04 November 2011 - 12:24 AM, said:

I'm not sure I understand you, when you report a member like through the report button >Posted Image

I'm just not sure what you're getting at?

You understood correctly. Some days I'll have a "1" or a "2" next to my profile picture since someone has a PM saved, then I'll report some random spammer and when I click out of the text box back to the forum the "1" or "2" won’t be there anymore.

#20 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 04 November 2011 - 09:12 PM

View Postfallenangel309, on 04 November 2011 - 01:57 AM, said:

You understood correctly. Some days I'll have a "1" or a "2" next to my profile picture since someone has a PM saved, then I'll report some random spammer and when I click out of the text box back to the forum the "1" or "2" won’t be there anymore.
Oh.  :wacko:  I really thought I was missing something. That's extremely weird. The only thing I can think of is maybe when you report a post or member, the forum considers it going into your profile and that clears the PM notice.

#21 Flipz

Flipz

  • Treason didn't work for him


    Posts: 7160
    Joined: 01-December 11
    Member: 22657
    Country: California, USA

Posted 18 March 2012 - 02:32 AM

Hey, guys, I've looked back a couple pages but haven't seen anything about this...

You know the little green number in a box that appears in the upper-right corner of the screen (next to the user control panel shortcut)?  Well, mine shows that I have two unread messages, but I've read everything I've been sent; there are no new messages.  It's just a minor bug, but one I thought I'd mention.

Also, speaking of the upper-right conrner controls, the drop-down box doesn't work properly for me; it'll pop out for a moment, and before I can click an option I'm dropped straight to my profile page.  It's probably an IE9 and/or Windows 7 issue, but if there's a solution I'm all ears.

May be slightly depressed due to learning that Shortpacked! is ending in a year. :,-(
Posted Image
Arthur Justus Regulus VII, Level 31 Skirmisher, 22-year-old male Human??? in Sandy's Heroica RPG!
[STATS]


#22 Brickdoctor

Brickdoctor

  • Look at my Post Count!


    Posts: 21090
    Joined: 06-June 10
    Member: 11254
    Country: California, USA

Posted 18 March 2012 - 03:12 AM

I think this is the same problem as the one reported here. Do you have any PMs saved as drafts?

#23 Flipz

Flipz

  • Treason didn't work for him


    Posts: 7160
    Joined: 01-December 11
    Member: 22657
    Country: California, USA

Posted 18 March 2012 - 04:39 AM

View PostBrickdoctor, on 18 March 2012 - 03:12 AM, said:

I think this is the same problem as the one reported here. Do you have any PMs saved as drafts?

No, but perhaps someone had drafted a message to me or something.  Anyway, the problem corrected itself after I recieved and viewed a new PM.

May be slightly depressed due to learning that Shortpacked! is ending in a year. :,-(
Posted Image
Arthur Justus Regulus VII, Level 31 Skirmisher, 22-year-old male Human??? in Sandy's Heroica RPG!
[STATS]


#24 Rick

Rick

  • Wants to be important too! (but already is)


    Posts: 7644
    Joined: 11-February 09
    Member: 5261
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 18 March 2012 - 08:41 AM

View PostFlipz, on 18 March 2012 - 02:32 AM, said:

It's probably an IE9 and/or Windows 7 issue, but if there's a solution I'm all ears.
Uhm... :look: use a decent browser?

View PostFlipz, on 18 March 2012 - 04:39 AM, said:

No, but perhaps someone had drafted a message to me or something.
Indeed, I have experienced that to be the problem...

Quote

Anyway, the problem corrected itself after I recieved and viewed a new PM.
... and yes, that tends to solve it.

#25 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 19 March 2012 - 02:02 PM

Sounds like a cache problem, using a browser like chrome would probably rid you of these silly errors.
IE is just falling apart.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users