Jump to content


Power Function Lights question


7 replies to this topic

#1 Yoshi648

Yoshi648

    Posts: 136
    Joined: 13-December 08
    Member: 4669

Posted 10 June 2010 - 12:48 AM

Posted Image

I'm in the process of planning out a single-car subway train and I want to install a Power Function light on it for the exterior. The car itself is about 62-studs long and I need just one light on the front and one on the back. The power source is in the center of the car so each of the two lights will have to go around 30 studs from the battery to the light on the train.  For those who need a visualization:

() <---> [] <---> ()

() light
<---> 30 stud wire length
[]power function battery box

Now my question is, would one set of lights be able to make it that far to each end, or would I have to order two sets with extension wires? Thanks.

#2 Mark Bellis

Mark Bellis

  • PaB price investigator


    Posts: 458
    Joined: 17-August 06
    Member: 910
    Country: England

Posted 10 June 2010 - 05:21 PM

View PostYoshi648, on Jun 10 2010, 01:48 AM, said:

Posted Image
...
Now my question is, would one set of lights be able to make it that far to each end, or would I have to order two sets with extension wires? Thanks.
Probably not.  My Hymek loco is 48 studs long and the lights just reach to each end.

Mark
Mark J E Bellis - 8mm Scale LEGO Railways, Scenery and Technic. Visit My Brickshelf
Posted ImagePosted Image  Posted Image

#3 Fistach

Fistach

    Posts: 209
    Joined: 22-December 07
    Member: 2315

Posted 10 June 2010 - 08:26 PM

View PostYoshi648, on Jun 10 2010, 01:48 AM, said:

Posted Image

I'm in the process of planning out a single-car subway train and I want to install a Power Function light on it for the exterior. The car itself is about 62-studs long and I need just one light on the front and one on the back. The power source is in the center of the car so each of the two lights will have to go around 30 studs from the battery to the light on the train.  For those who need a visualization:

() <---> [] <---> ()

() light
<---> 30 stud wire length
[]power function battery box

Now my question is, would one set of lights be able to make it that far to each end, or would I have to order two sets with extension wires? Thanks.


View PostMark Bellis, on Jun 10 2010, 06:21 PM, said:

Probably not.  My Hymek loco is 48 studs long and the lights just reach to each end.

Mark

Extension wire is 8" = around 20 cm long = 25 studs not 30! But lights themselves have wire witch is around 25 studs long and that adds up to 50 st. Therefore in my opinion Two extension wires will be enough.
Posted Image

#4 hoeij

hoeij

    Posts: 502
    Joined: 12-May 10
    Member: 10641

Posted 11 June 2010 - 11:12 AM

View PostYoshi648, on Jun 9 2010, 08:48 PM, said:

Posted Image

I'm in the process of planning out a single-car subway train and I want to install a Power Function light on it for the exterior. The car itself is about 62-studs long and I need just one light on the front and one on the back. The power source is in the center of the car so each of the two lights will have to go around 30 studs from the battery to the light on the train.  For those who need a visualization:

() <---> [] <---> ()

() light
<---> 30 stud wire length
[]power function battery box

Now my question is, would one set of lights be able to make it that far to each end, or would I have to order two sets with extension wires? Thanks.

I would use only one set, and simply make the wires longer.  Cut the wire to one of the lights, strip the wire, insert some additional
wire in between, and connect again.  Make sure to connect in the right way because with LED light it matters which side is plus
and which side is minus.

Saves money and electricity.

#5 Mark Bellis

Mark Bellis

  • PaB price investigator


    Posts: 458
    Joined: 17-August 06
    Member: 910
    Country: England

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:56 PM

View Posthoeij, on Jun 11 2010, 12:12 PM, said:

I would use only one set, and simply make the wires longer.  Cut the wire to one of the lights, strip the wire, insert some additional
wire in between, and connect again.  Make sure to connect in the right way because with LED light it matters which side is plus
and which side is minus.

Saves money and electricity.

One PF light brick will stretch to 48 studs long between the two lights, but not 62.

An easy and pure LEGO way to do it is to cut one LED wire and use single or double 12V plugs on the wire ends.
You can push 1/0.6 bell wire into the centre of the 4-lobe pins to add extra length.
Alternatively, the lowest current "chocolate block" barrier strip connector would do.

Yes, the polarity matters for the LED twin cable.  It matters too for the 4-way PF cable the other side of the 2x2 block.
The block contains a bridge rectifier, so the C1/C2 polarity would not matter, but there is a connection to the 0V line and no connection to the +9V line so that would matter.  Circuit diagram.

I wish making a red/green signal whose aspect depended on polarity (like the 12V one in 7860) were as simple as reversing one LED, but unfortunately this won't work!

Mark
Mark J E Bellis - 8mm Scale LEGO Railways, Scenery and Technic. Visit My Brickshelf
Posted ImagePosted Image  Posted Image

#6 giorgio

giorgio

    Posts: 26
    Joined: 04-March 08
    Member: 2842

Posted 11 July 2010 - 04:16 PM

I have one question concerning PF Lights.

I just bougt it but when I conncet the wire of PF ligts to the RC reciever it doesn't work.

It works only when I conncet the PF Lights directly to the battery box. Is it normal ? Has soomeone had the same problem ? I have 2 PF lights and 2 RC recievers and it doesn't work in any case

#7 scruffulous

scruffulous

    Posts: 34
    Joined: 02-August 09
    Member: 6878
    Country: Australia

Posted 11 July 2010 - 10:33 PM

View PostYoshi648, on 10 June 2010 - 12:48 AM, said:

Now my question is, would one set of lights be able to make it that far to each end, or would I have to order two sets with extension wires? Thanks.
You could always use the fibre optic cable from Exo-Force sets to carry the light over the extra length rather than pay for extension cables and an extra set of lights.

Edited by scruffulous, 12 July 2010 - 12:09 AM.


#8 AndyC

AndyC

    Posts: 1235
    Joined: 23-June 09
    Member: 6485

Posted 11 July 2010 - 11:11 PM

View Postgiorgio, on 11 July 2010 - 04:16 PM, said:

I have one question concerning PF Lights.

I just bougt it but when I conncet the wire of PF ligts to the RC reciever it doesn't work.

It works only when I conncet the PF Lights directly to the battery box. Is it normal ? Has soomeone had the same problem ? I have 2 PF lights and 2 RC recievers and it doesn't work in any case

PF lights should work when attached to the IR reciever and come on/off when you turn that channel on/off. If you use the train remote then the brightness of the lights will depend on the speed setting for that channel.
Posted Image



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users