Jump to content


Remote Switch Tracks


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 zul alpha 3

zul alpha 3

    Posts: 6
    Joined: 04-January 10
    Member: 8908

Posted 22 May 2010 - 10:28 PM

Posted Image

Dear Eurobrick forum

I am fairly new to the lego train world. I have a rail track with several swith tracks (incl double crossover).

I am now looking for possible solution to manage / control them remotly through 9v motors. I've seen some solutions on the net however they were all very 'large' (six to eight studs long/wide). -> http://www.freelug.o...?id_article=186


are there any lighter versions / ideas / suggestion around?

thanks for any comments

#2 FelixTheCat

FelixTheCat

    Posts: 86
    Joined: 22-April 08
    Member: 3063

Posted 26 May 2010 - 10:38 AM

9V micromotor would probably be the best one if you're looking for a discreet solution.

#3 hoeij

hoeij

    Posts: 502
    Joined: 12-May 10
    Member: 10641

Posted 26 May 2010 - 01:37 PM

View PostFelixTheCat, on May 26 2010, 06:38 AM, said:

9V micromotor would probably be the best one if you're looking for a discreet solution.

This would require some track modification, otherwise it takes too much force
to move the lever.  I do think track modification is the best way to go though.  You can
find it on the web how to do it.   If you have two remote controlled switches near one
another, you could save on wiring by powering them with batteries and using
the IR remote controlled power functions.

#4 Chromeknight

Chromeknight

  • Heyo!


    Posts: 2362
    Joined: 14-May 09
    Member: 6074
    Country: Australia

Posted 26 May 2010 - 11:04 PM

View Postzul alpha 3, on May 23 2010, 08:28 AM, said:

Dear Eurobrick forum
I am fairly new to the lego train world. I have a rail track with several switch tracks (incl double crossover).
I am now looking for possible solution to manage / control them remotely through 9v motors. I've seen some solutions on the net however they were all very 'large' (six to eight studs long/wide). -> http://www.freelug.o...?id_article=186
are there any lighter versions / ideas / suggestion around?
thanks for any comments

This is still a 'large' solution, as it requires a 4x6 stud space off the end of the switch arm but
http://www.flickr.co...57621512518259/
does have the advantage that it uses current parts, esp the new pf M motor.

This is probably as elegant a lego solution as you'll find, smaller solutions will require modification of the points or use of non lego elements.

Hope this helps.

Nerwen Calmcacil, Elven Minstrel,is shining a light in the in the darkness in the Heroica RPG.
Posted Image


#5 zul alpha 3

zul alpha 3

    Posts: 6
    Joined: 04-January 10
    Member: 8908

Posted 01 June 2010 - 08:03 PM

View PostChromeknight, on May 27 2010, 12:04 AM, said:

This is still a 'large' solution, as it requires a 4x6 stud space off the end of the switch arm but
http://www.flickr.co...57621512518259/
does have the advantage that it uses current parts, esp the new pf M motor.

This is probably as elegant a lego solution as you'll find, smaller solutions will require modification of the points or use of non lego elements.

Hope this helps.
thank you very much for this hint - works perfectly. also tried with modification which goes better for the older V9 motors ...

thanks again ... any other hints / suggestions around ...

#6 Chromeknight

Chromeknight

  • Heyo!


    Posts: 2362
    Joined: 14-May 09
    Member: 6074
    Country: Australia

Posted 01 June 2010 - 11:34 PM

View Postzul alpha 3, on Jun 2 2010, 06:03 AM, said:

thank you very much for this hint - works perfectly. also tried with modification which goes better for the older V9 motors ...

Don't just say it worked, take pictures and show them! :classic:
especially of any modifications that improve things,
That way everyone can share the work you've done.
What size set up are you working on, what's your rolling stock like?

It's great we were able to help, but say it with pictures, they say a 1000 words!

Nerwen Calmcacil, Elven Minstrel,is shining a light in the in the darkness in the Heroica RPG.
Posted Image


#7 WilliamH

WilliamH

    Posts: 3
    Joined: 02-June 10
    Member: 11085

Posted 02 June 2010 - 01:33 PM

View PostChromeknight, on Jun 1 2010, 11:34 PM, said:

Don't just say it worked, take pictures and show them! :classic:

Thanks for the reference.

Pictures of the motors in-situ on my 1/6th of the GWLTC layout at STEAM last year

Posted Image

Posted Image

William

#8 Mark Bellis

Mark Bellis

  • PaB price investigator


    Posts: 519
    Joined: 17-August 06
    Member: 910
    Country: England

Posted 02 June 2010 - 11:36 PM

View Postzul alpha 3, on May 22 2010, 11:28 PM, said:

Dear Eurobrick forum

I am fairly new to the lego train world. I have a rail track with several swith tracks (incl double crossover).

I am now looking for possible solution to manage / control them remotly through 9v motors. I've seen some solutions on the net however they were all very 'large' (six to eight studs long/wide). -> http://www.freelug.o...?id_article=186


are there any lighter versions / ideas / suggestion around?

thanks for any comments

Have you considered pneumatics?
Mechanisms
Scenic Modules and connections

Mark
Mark J E Bellis - 8mm Scale LEGO Railways, Scenery and Technic. Visit My Brickshelf
Posted ImagePosted Image  Posted Image

#9 skaako

skaako
    Posts: 98
    Joined: 13-March 10
    Member: 9897
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 07 June 2010 - 11:17 AM

Hi there,

If you don't mind a non lego solution you could try something like i have made and use to motorize my points.

Posted Image

Theres a few more pictures in that folder of the motor etc.

Advantages:  One of the smallest footprints you will find for a points motor. Motors can be acquired free from most old CDROM drives.  Can be disguised easily as a track-side cabinet.

Disadvantages:  Not 100% Lego components. You do have to modify the point to reduce friction as these motors have little torque.


I cannot take credit for using this type of motor as i had got the idea from someone else. I managed to find the original article at http://www.freelug.o...?id_article=507 by Xavier Viallefont.

I pulse the motor for about a tenth of a second at 12 volts and it works just fine, and can run on as low as 5 volts if required.

Mike

Edited by skaako, 08 June 2010 - 12:54 PM.


#10 spy1101001

spy1101001

    Posts: 1
    Joined: 04-September 14
    Member: 127527

Posted 08 September 2014 - 03:30 PM

skaako,
I really like your design of motorised switch point!
Can you give more details as to how you fit the motor inside that lego box?
It looks like the motor is inside a 4x2 brick? Did you cavitate it to get it in there?
Is motor just glued straight to lever with a 1mm hole??
Thanks!

sPy

spy1101001@hotmail.com

#11 Lazarus

Lazarus

    Posts: 571
    Joined: 22-May 12
    Member: 28748
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 08 September 2014 - 11:20 PM

spy1101001 I have sent you the plans on how to make one, If anyone else would like them please send me your email.


These are plans to make the switch motor with a small RC motor.

#12 vladich

vladich

    Posts: 2
    Joined: 29-December 14
    Member: 132303

Posted 29 December 2014 - 08:36 PM

If you don't mind to use NXT or EV3, you might want to take a look at this very simple design (doesn't require any modifications to the tracks)
http://www.eurobrick...75#entry2089082.
I guess something like that could be used with PF or 9v motors as well, if they have enough torque.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users