Jump to content


[Software] LDD Manager


  • Please log in to reply
388 replies to this topic

#201 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2198
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 09 August 2011 - 08:45 AM

@PerryMakes
Your gallery on BrickShelf is not public still.
You should deeplink the images to allow us to see that.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#202 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 09 August 2011 - 10:14 AM

The brickshelf folder is not public yet, so the pics won't show  :look:
(EDIT: Noticed Calabars post now)

About 64bit office you're right - it won't open 32 bit Access-files (which LDD Manager is). Microsoft has gotten quite a few complaints about this. Your best bet is to install 32 bit office (or install the 32 bit runtime). If LDD Manager still won't start, try to use the File>Open within the runtime (just to avoid any risk of faulty file type associations).

And about runtime, you're right. It's just that Access is such an incredibly fast developent environment for these kind of database driven apps, so it just became what it became. I whish there was some way to quickly port and Access app to VB.net or so.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#203 PerryMakes

PerryMakes

    Posts: 88
    Joined: 13-June 11
    Member: 18419

Posted 10 August 2011 - 04:18 AM

Done.

By the way - I wasn't really saying that Access/Office was a poor development platform.  I agree completely that it's very good at what it's good at (ummmmmmm... yeah).  I will often times create a RAD prototype using the Office suite before expanding it in a more robust, full-featured environment (C#/VB.NET, C/C++, Python, Ruby, etc...) after procuring funding commitments from the customer.  Having something tangible for the customer to see and interact with does wonders for that process!  I'm just wondering why you've stuck with version 2003, which at this point is two versions old.

#204 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 10 August 2011 - 06:39 PM

View PostPerryMakes, on 10 August 2011 - 04:18 AM, said:

Done.

By the way - I wasn't really saying that Access/Office was a poor development platform.  I agree completely that it's very good at what it's good at (ummmmmmm... yeah).  I will often times create a RAD prototype using the Office suite before expanding it in a more robust, full-featured environment (C#/VB.NET, C/C++, Python, Ruby, etc...) after procuring funding commitments from the customer.  Having something tangible for the customer to see and interact with does wonders for that process!  I'm just wondering why you've stuck with version 2003, which at this point is two versions old.
Good points.

About your last question; 2007 and 2010 reads 2003 databases fine, and since some people haven't still updated from 2003 I decided to stay with 2003 (and besides, I didn't any of the fancy new features in 2007 or 2010  :tongue: ). Also, the 2003 runtime is the last runtime that is readily available and easy to install as a separate SW (at least from what I recall).

And to be very, very honest - Access 2003 is what I know best, and I simply haven't had the time to look into the upgrade process :blush:
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#205 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 10 August 2011 - 07:02 PM

BTW, I'm working on an update to LDD Manager to support the new bricks in 4.1.8. Should be out in a few days.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#206 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 13 August 2011 - 05:58 PM

Version 0.98 of LDD Manager released today. The main update is off course support for the new bricks in 4.1.8 and also updated database info for BrickLink data. Some other small fixes too, but nothing big.

As usuall you find it here

Enjoy.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#207 DLuders

DLuders

  • Technic Technician


    Posts: 5817
    Joined: 17-October 09
    Member: 7868
    Country: USA (WA State)

Posted 13 August 2011 - 06:29 PM

@ Superkalle:  I just downloaded LDD Manager 0.98, and everything works fine.  Thanks for this useful update.

P.S.  Do you foresee a time when your LDD Manager will be incorporated into some future version of LDD?  Has TLG expressed interest in making it part of their software?  I am wondering whether your version numbering system is leading up to an "official release" of LDD Manager 1.0 someday....   :look:

#208 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 13 August 2011 - 09:31 PM

View PostDLuders, on 13 August 2011 - 06:29 PM, said:

@ Superkalle:  I just downloaded LDD Manager 0.98, and everything works fine.  Thanks for this useful update.

P.S.  Do you foresee a time when your LDD Manager will be incorporated into some future version of LDD?  Has TLG expressed interest in making it part of their software?  I am wondering whether your version numbering system is leading up to an "official release" of LDD Manager 1.0 someday....   :look:
Thanks for the kinds words David. I really appreciate it.

And about the version numbering. Funny you should ask because I'm myself wondering why I'm having this system. I mean, when will I ever reach 1.0.  :laugh:

And no, unfortunately TLG have not shown any interest, so my hopes of earning the big bucks (like when YouTube was sold) seems distant. But they do know about it, which I guess is kind of cool.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#209 Aanchir

Aanchir

  • Color Encyclopedia


    Posts: 7441
    Joined: 31-December 09
    Member: 8841
    Country: United States

Posted 15 August 2011 - 08:12 PM

The latest version is good, but some parts' categories need to be revised. First place I noticed this is part 2587, which is still marked as being in the Question Mark category despite that no longer existing.

The color reference also needs to be updated, specifically to add the Bricklink colors Dark Azure and Light Aqua (which correspond to 321 Dark Azur and 323 Aqua, respectively).

Posted Image recommends the following sites:
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#210 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 15 August 2011 - 10:10 PM

View PostAanchir, on 15 August 2011 - 08:12 PM, said:

The latest version is good, but some parts' categories need to be revised. First place I noticed this is part 2587, which is still marked as being in the Question Mark category despite that no longer existing.

The color reference also needs to be updated, specifically to add the Bricklink colors Dark Azure and Light Aqua (which correspond to 321 Dark Azur and 323 Aqua, respectively).
I'll look into the categories.

But I'm not sure I understand what you mean about the colors. Where are they missing?
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#211 Aanchir

Aanchir

  • Color Encyclopedia


    Posts: 7441
    Joined: 31-December 09
    Member: 8841
    Country: United States

Posted 15 August 2011 - 11:01 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 15 August 2011 - 10:10 PM, said:

I'll look into the categories.

But I'm not sure I understand what you mean about the colors. Where are they missing?
Never mind; I was looking in the wrong columns! :blush: What the color reference is missing, though, is the "color type" field for these two colors. They should both be listed as "solid".

Posted Image recommends the following sites:
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#212 PerryMakes

PerryMakes

    Posts: 88
    Joined: 13-June 11
    Member: 18419

Posted 16 August 2011 - 04:18 AM

I'm actually having trouble with the latest release.  The feature that launches LDD from within LDD Manager works great for me in the previous version, but this latest just spits out MessageBox after MessageBox with errors.  Is this feature working for others?  Maybe it's related to my environment ... if nobody else is having trouble with this, I'll post some more specifics, including screenshots.

Perry

#213 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 16 August 2011 - 10:53 AM

View PostPerryMakes, on 16 August 2011 - 04:18 AM, said:

I'm actually having trouble with the latest release.  The feature that launches LDD from within LDD Manager works great for me in the previous version, but this latest just spits out MessageBox after MessageBox with errors.  Is this feature working for others?  Maybe it's related to my environment ... if nobody else is having trouble with this, I'll post some more specifics, including screenshots.

Perry
Please post whatever you got. I need all the help I can get to find bugs  :classic:
To be honest though, I haven't made any changes to this feature, but stuff happens  :blush:
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#214 Toa_Of_Justice

Toa_Of_Justice

    Posts: 569
    Joined: 01-February 08
    Member: 2644
    Country: United States

Posted 17 August 2011 - 04:55 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 16 August 2011 - 10:53 AM, said:

Please post whatever you got. I need all the help I can get to find bugs  :classic:
To be honest though, I haven't made any changes to this feature, but stuff happens  :blush:
I tried to launch LDD from within LDD Manager's Import interface by clicking the "Open selected model in LDD" button. Nothing came up at all. :shrug_confused: However, I can open a model by double-clicking its name in the import list. :shrug_oh_well: Here's my specs:

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit (Service Pack 1)
CPU: 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Quad CPU
RAM: 4 GB
GPU processor: GeForce GTS 250
Access 2007
LDD Version: 4.1.8 (Brick version 434)

-Toa Of Justice

Edited by Toa_Of_Justice, 17 August 2011 - 04:57 PM.


#215 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 17 August 2011 - 10:09 PM

View PostToa_Of_Justice, on 17 August 2011 - 04:55 PM, said:

I tried to launch LDD from within LDD Manager's Import interface by clicking the "Open selected model in LDD" button. Nothing came up at all. :shrug_confused: However, I can open a model by double-clicking its name in the import list. :shrug_oh_well: Here's my specs:

Thanks for pointing it out. Found the error!
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#216 PerryMakes

PerryMakes

    Posts: 88
    Joined: 13-June 11
    Member: 18419

Posted 18 August 2011 - 03:00 AM

View PostSuperkalle, on 17 August 2011 - 10:09 PM, said:

Thanks for pointing it out. Found the error!

Might be a moot point to post these if you've already identified the error ... but I guess it couldn't hurt.

http://www.brickshel...ems/lddm001.png

http://www.brickshel...ems/lddm002.png

http://www.brickshel...ems/lddm003.png



#217 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 18 August 2011 - 10:18 AM

View PostPerryMakes, on 18 August 2011 - 03:00 AM, said:

Might be a moot point to post these if you've already identified the error ... but I guess it couldn't hurt.

http://www.brickshel...ems/lddm001.png

http://www.brickshel...ems/lddm002.png

http://www.brickshel...ems/lddm003.png


Thanks for the screenshots becuase this seems to be another problem. I initially thought it was when it tries to launch LDD from the main windows (where you have all the models and model content).

I'll look into it, but since I haven't heard anyone else having the problem, I'm wondering if its not a system environment problem related to LDD Manager.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#218 PerryMakes

PerryMakes

    Posts: 88
    Joined: 13-June 11
    Member: 18419

Posted 18 August 2011 - 04:57 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 18 August 2011 - 10:18 AM, said:

Thanks for the screenshots becuase this seems to be another problem. I initially thought it was when it tries to launch LDD from the main windows (where you have all the models and model content).

I'll look into it, but since I haven't heard anyone else having the problem, I'm wondering if its not a system environment problem related to LDD Manager.

I've got to run out for a couple hours - but when I get back, I'll post a comprehensive system spec.

#219 webtoad

webtoad

    Posts: 6
    Joined: 18-December 11
    Member: 23276

Posted 18 December 2011 - 05:59 AM

This looks like an awesome program! When I try to 'export entire plan to excel' though I get the error "Error:1004 - Paste method of Worksheet class failed". Any suggestions?

#220 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 18 December 2011 - 11:36 AM

View Postwebtoad, on 18 December 2011 - 05:59 AM, said:

This looks like an awesome program! When I try to 'export entire plan to excel' though I get the error "Error:1004 - Paste method of Worksheet class failed". Any suggestions?
I'll look into that. Thanks for pointing it out. Question though: Do you have MS Excel installed on your computer.
In any ase there is a super simple workaround. Just select the entire sheet (in LDD Manager). Simplest is to clikc the small grey square that is formed in the top left corner. That should select the entire sheet. Then copy (Ctrl-C) and paste into Excel.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#221 webtoad

webtoad

    Posts: 6
    Joined: 18-December 11
    Member: 23276

Posted 18 December 2011 - 02:02 PM

Yes, Excel is installed.

Thanks for the workaround.

#222 arator

arator

    Posts: 44
    Joined: 04-April 11
    Member: 17040
    Country: Belgium

Posted 24 January 2012 - 02:33 PM

hmm,

got following error. "Database is created in 32-bit Access. Open this database with 32-bit access"
I know the problem : I have windows 64bit and also office in 64bit.
Can you upload a 64bit version?I will try it with an 32-bit version of Open Office and let you know
Arator, nisi incurvus, preavaricatur
Gaius Plinius Secundus

#223 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 24 January 2012 - 03:40 PM

View Postarator, on 24 January 2012 - 02:33 PM, said:

hmm,

got following error. "Database is created in 32-bit Access. Open this database with 32-bit access"
I know the problem : I have windows 64bit and also office in 64bit.
Can you upload a 64bit version?I will try it with an 32-bit version of Open Office and let you know
Hi

Yes, I'll have a look at compiling in 64-bit office. Give me a couple of days to try it and I'll give you an answer.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#224 arator

arator

    Posts: 44
    Joined: 04-April 11
    Member: 17040
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 January 2012 - 12:36 AM

View PostSuperkalle, on 24 January 2012 - 03:40 PM, said:

Hi

Yes, I'll have a look at compiling in 64-bit office. Give me a couple of days to try it and I'll give you an answer.

thx for the fast answer.
I tested it in Open Office, and I can open every tabel, I can find the cross-references, but I can't find the start form. So for me is Open Office a dead end, and I'm glad to see you wanna give it a try in 64bit
Arator, nisi incurvus, preavaricatur
Gaius Plinius Secundus

#225 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5560
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:57 AM

View Postarator, on 25 January 2012 - 12:36 AM, said:

thx for the fast answer.
I tested it in Open Office, and I can open every tabel, I can find the cross-references, but I can't find the start form. So for me is Open Office a dead end, and I'm glad to see you wanna give it a try in 64bit
To be honest though, it seems the 64 version of office is not something that MS recommends.

By default, Microsoft Office 2010 installs the 32-bit version of Office 2010 even if your computer is running 64-bit editions of Windows. The 32-bit version of Office 2010 is the recommended option for most people, because it prevents potential compatibility issues with other 32-bit applications, specifically third-party add-ins that are available only for 32-bit operating systems.

You can also read more here about the shortcoming of 64-bit office and here from MS. Seems the only reason to use 64 bit is if you have >2Gb Excel files or Access Databases, and who has that?

So a solution would be use Office 32-bit instead.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users