Jump to content


10001 Metroliner with PowerFunctions


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Gabrielthorn

Gabrielthorn

    Posts: 5
    Joined: 17-May 10
    Member: 10712

Posted 17 May 2010 - 12:33 AM

Posted Image

Hi there,

I've just ordered my first Lego train set(I've been dreaming about it for 16 years), the legendary Metroliner. I'm planning to build a city with RC trains, so I'd like to modify the train to work with PowerFunctions. Can you give me some advice how can I achieve this? I don't have any idea how to place the IR receiver and the rechargeable battery box into the loco, I think there's not enough space for them.

Thank you!

P.S.: Sorry for my poor English.

Edited by TheBrickster, 01 June 2010 - 02:01 PM.


#2 Cpl Yu

Cpl Yu

    Posts: 19
    Joined: 26-December 09
    Member: 8752

Posted 17 May 2010 - 04:02 AM

I've done it before.  It isn't hard at all.  All you have to do is gut out the inside of the engine.   I was able to fit, the rechargeable battery, I.R. receiver, and all of the wiring.  I don't have any photos, but it isn't hard to do.  However, converting the Metroliner into a PF train kinda defeat its purpose.  I converted mine back into running on the 9v tracks.  Good luck!

#3 Gabrielthorn

Gabrielthorn

    Posts: 5
    Joined: 17-May 10
    Member: 10712

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:53 AM

Thank you for your reply :classic: Is it enough space for the IR receiver without removing the passengers in the back of the loco?

Edited by Gabrielthorn, 17 May 2010 - 07:54 AM.


#4 shackleton

shackleton

    Posts: 36
    Joined: 05-June 09
    Member: 6288
    Country: USA

Posted 31 May 2010 - 10:28 PM

View PostGabrielthorn, on May 17 2010, 01:53 AM, said:

Thank you for your reply :classic: Is it enough space for the IR receiver without removing the passengers in the back of the loco?
I successfully did make it work, I will be uploading pics on my mocpages site this week. I have gone with strictly rc track for my layout to utilize the cross over tracks. I also modified the rc train bases into "passenger cars" and placed them in the middle of the train. If you are going to Brickworld you will be able to see them in action.
www.mocpages.com/home.php/15409   www.thewritebrick.com

#5 Merkal

Merkal

    Posts: 23
    Joined: 30-October 09
    Member: 8030

Posted 01 June 2010 - 02:51 PM

Remember to modify the roof to make room for the top of the IR receiver. I made a gap of 3 studs long by 2 studs wide. I also included the PF lights in my Metroliner but you have to remove the controlpanel and chair plus round 1x1 trans bricks fall of them so you have to do with white lights.

#6 Melfice

Melfice

    Posts: 51
    Joined: 23-February 10
    Member: 9689

Posted 01 June 2010 - 05:06 PM

View PostMerkal, on Jun 1 2010, 03:51 PM, said:

I also included the PF lights in my Metroliner but you have to remove the controlpanel and chair plus round 1x1 trans bricks fall of them so you have to do with white lights.

That depends. I have no experience with that nose, but does it hold a 1x1 or 1x2 plate in any way?
Flat, on it's side, whatever? If it does, it would be "simple" to rig something up, assuming you have enough room behind it.
Hold the trans (clear? Would work nicest I think.) 1x2 with a brick or a plate into the headlight hole, then set up a headlight brick with the PF lights in them and a trans-yellow or trans-red 1x1 on it. Then pray that the light transfers through the trans 1x2. It should though.

That's all assuming you have the room behind the nose AND that it will hold a 1x2 plate.
Which it probably wouldn't.

Anyway, using the extension cable 8886, you should still be able to use the original lights in the Metroliner. Which is a far easier method of adding light. ;)

#7 Merkal

Merkal

    Posts: 23
    Joined: 30-October 09
    Member: 8030

Posted 02 June 2010 - 08:39 AM

View PostMelfice, on Jun 1 2010, 07:06 PM, said:

That depends. I have no experience with that nose, but does it hold a 1x1 or 1x2 plate in any way?
Flat, on it's side, whatever? If it does, it would be "simple" to rig something up, assuming you have enough room behind it.
Hold the trans (clear? Would work nicest I think.) 1x2 with a brick or a plate into the headlight hole, then set up a headlight brick with the PF lights in them and a trans-yellow or trans-red 1x1 on it. Then pray that the light transfers through the trans 1x2. It should though.

That's all assuming you have the room behind the nose AND that it will hold a 1x2 plate.
Which it probably wouldn't.

Anyway, using the extension cable 8886, you should still be able to use the original lights in the Metroliner. Which is a far easier method of adding light. ;)

The nose wasn't desiged to hold a plate, I had to remove the Train Light Prism 1 x 4 then put the PF lights in it.

The rest of the wagon is occupied by both the IR sensor and the batterybox so there wasn't enough room to hide the wireing. But yes  putting a classic 9v light with an extension cable is a good idea and has less wiring to hide.

#8 Zzz

Zzz

  • Flick-fires the hell out of aliens!


    Posts: 1036
    Joined: 21-January 07
    Member: 1281
    Country: Germany

Posted 02 June 2010 - 12:39 PM

I know this is a bit off-topic, but.. WHY do you want to change it to PF if it is your first train? I assume you want to get some PF trains in the future, but wouldn't it be easier to change them into 9V?
I have to admit, I am old-school when it is about trains, but 9V is superior in a lot of ways me thinks...
"I am Iron Man."  -  "I am Groot!"

#9 ZueriHB

ZueriHB

    Posts: 231
    Joined: 13-January 10
    Member: 9062
    Country: Switzerland

Posted 08 June 2010 - 09:46 PM

Prepare for my blurry low resolution pictures of a modified Metroliner:

Some information, why I didn't just connect the extension cable to the light brick at the front: the old 9V electric cable broke, so I used my PF lights and some ideas laying around to make it go again (and light up of course).

As seen here, the dummy engineer can still sit comfortable at his console and do his work. Also the battery pak is easily removable.
Posted Image Posted Image

Once again, some Emerald Night leftovers were used to support stuff, like the IR receiver this time.
Old Light Prism still in use and lighted with your handy PF lights, not that hard to pull of, old light brick used for stability.
Posted Image Posted Image

The IR receivers cable is routed on the left side of the battery, to keep the LED free.
Posted Image

And use a simple method to switch it on and off without removing or opening anything:
Posted Image

Final product and light testing. There was enough cable to light the bar at the back.
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Alternatively the IR receiver could be installed in the back and nothing much would happen at the front (with PF lights).
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image

#10 Merkal

Merkal

    Posts: 23
    Joined: 30-October 09
    Member: 8030

Posted 09 June 2010 - 02:57 PM

Here's how I've done it:

Posted Image
I left a 3 x 2 gap in the roof for the sensor.

Posted Image
As you can see with PF lights the inside is a hopeless mess.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
I took the prisim out, while the light is now white instead of yellow/red it's equally strong on both sides. With prism the emmited light is stronger on one light then the other.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users