Jump to content


[KEY TOPIC] LDD 3 bugs and brick errors


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
272 replies to this topic

#26 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5553
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 02 June 2010 - 02:31 PM

@ Jan and Zblj
Both issue have been reported to Lego. Well spotted!!
(but I'm a bit unsure about the grid on the large plate. Has anyone seen that technique used in a set?)
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#27 Aanchir

Aanchir

  • Color Encyclopedia


    Posts: 7429
    Joined: 31-December 09
    Member: 8841
    Country: United States

Posted 02 June 2010 - 03:19 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on Jun 2 2010, 10:31 AM, said:

@ Jan and Zblj
Both issue have been reported to Lego. Well spotted!!
(but I'm a bit unsure about the grid on the large plate. Has anyone seen that technique used in a set?)
Yes. Several sets use that technique, and in fact, the set 8964 Titanium Command Rig uses an even more obscure technique-- attaching parts to that plate upside-down with studs affixed to the upper side of the grid. I've had trouble with building various Power Miners sets because of these hindrances.

Posted Image recommends the following sites:
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#28 Randal

Randal

    Posts: 373
    Joined: 15-May 10
    Member: 10690
    Country: United States

Posted 02 June 2010 - 03:22 PM

I seem to recall similar parts having that type of  connection being parts of sets, though don't pressure me for which. also if you look, that grid appears to be able to connect by design. they purposely made a grid that would allow studs to fit through those holes.. they could have easily not done so.

Edited by Randal, 02 June 2010 - 03:22 PM.

A "Usually Safe For Work" webcomic created using Lego Digital Designer.
Posted Image Posted Image <--[ Brick can now be added to your facebook 'likes'...

#29 Jan

Jan

    Posts: 134
    Joined: 18-May 10
    Member: 10754

Posted 02 June 2010 - 03:27 PM

The grid problem popped up while building the eiffeltower set, also a relatively new set.
And as mentioned, I cannot see that this is brick-stress related.

Edited by Jan, 02 June 2010 - 03:28 PM.


#30 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2198
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 02 June 2010 - 11:18 PM

View PostJan, on Jun 2 2010, 03:22 PM, said:

this part doesn't allow snapping of bricks from the underside, besides the edges and the four studs in the center
Kind of difficult to explain, but I hope you understand.
Can you explain using LDD images?
Often, even if LDD don't support some type of connection, it is possible to assembly pieces using some tricks!
So... I'd like to try to solve the problem.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#31 Zblj

Zblj

    Posts: 3818
    Joined: 16-August 09
    Member: 7054
    Country: Slovenia

Posted 03 June 2010 - 03:31 PM

Another problem i came across. The turntable doesnt allow you to add flat pieces under it, or to rotate them to parallel. This makes it impossible for me to attach a beam under it...

Posted Image

ZBLJ STANDS FOR ZERO BRICKS LEFT JERRY

ANIMATOR, TECHNIC BUILDER, ADVANCED LEGO DIGITAL DESIGNER USER

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

PLEASE CLICK ON TEXT/IMAGE TO VISIT MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL

"AIN'T NO THING LIKE ME, EXCEPT ME!" - ROCKET RACCOON

NEED A REAL MODEL DIGITIZED IN LDD? CONTACT ME!


#32 legoboy3998

legoboy3998

    Posts: 187
    Joined: 30-August 09
    Member: 7237
    Country: USA

Posted 04 June 2010 - 01:35 AM

Regarding the 8x8 grid plate, I just bought the TS3 garbage compactor escape, (not a TS fan but it has a lot of nice parts), and it attaches several 8x8 grid plates atop the 2x2 truss like columns.  Granted 3 of the 4 studs on the column are connected to the under side of studs on the grid plate but one is connected to a whole in the grid.  Just thought Id point it out.

Sal
WFB, WI

#33 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5553
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 04 June 2010 - 08:06 AM

Thanks for info on the big plate with lattice.
Has anyone seen if this part (3633) has been used in any recent set with studs attached to the lattice?
Posted Image
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#34 Sunefar

Sunefar

    Posts: 13
    Joined: 15-May 10
    Member: 10678
    Country: Denmark

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:56 PM

View PostSunefar, on May 29 2010, 09:11 PM, said:

In real life you can place bricks like (4073) on top of (6254) Posted Image

and rotate them - this is not poseble in LDD or in LU mode...

See :
Posted Image
Posted Image

Real life :
Posted Image

:pir_bawling:

#35 Aanchir

Aanchir

  • Color Encyclopedia


    Posts: 7429
    Joined: 31-December 09
    Member: 8841
    Country: United States

Posted 08 June 2010 - 11:40 PM

View PostSunefar, on Jun 8 2010, 04:56 PM, said:

See :
Posted Image
Posted Image

Real life :
Posted Image

:pir_bawling:
Might not be a legal connection, and even if it is it's almost certainly not an intended one. It's brilliant for MOCs, but I've never seen it used in an official set, so obviously the LDD programmers didn't think of it when deciding its legal connection points.

Posted Image recommends the following sites:
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#36 ILikePi

ILikePi

    Posts: 2105
    Joined: 29-January 09
    Member: 5159
    Country: USA

Posted 11 June 2010 - 05:53 AM

I'm about three-fourths done with a LDD version of 8214 Lamborghini Polizia, but a section of the front won't attach on! I've tried moving the hinges ever so slightly, but they won't fit without removing some other parts. Can anyone help?

The instruction page:
Posted Image

The LDD model (click to download the model):
Posted Image
The blue outlined part is where I need the unattached piece to go onto.

If someone can fix it, please post a file of it on here so I can finish the model.
Thanks!

Find out more about me on my WIP About Me page!
Latest LDD model: 7263 Temple Escape - Flickr - Brickshelf - My Collection (Brickset)


#37 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5553
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:19 AM

View PostILikePi, on Jun 11 2010, 07:53 AM, said:

If someone can fix it, please post a file of it on here so I can finish the model.
A very intresting problem. At first I thought it was a LDD brick boundary bug, that the 1x4 bracket wouldn't go into the cavity on the underside of the 2x2 tile. But then I pulled out my trusty old yellow Gallardo and re-built the front to match the new blue one, and yes the angled 2x2 tiles seemingly fit (but very, very tight). But still it's not possible to do in LDD. I'm not going to jump to any conclusions here, but can we possibly have an illegal building technique by TLG themselves at our hands (i.e. they have squeezed in the 2x2 tile in a spot that crams the other bricks)? Or is it a plain old LDD brick problem? What do you guys think?

PS: Designers at Lego uses the paper test to see if a techniqe is legal or not. If you cannot slip a piece of paper in the gap between two adjecent bricks, then the fit is too tight. And I for one can't fit a paper between the angled 2x2 tile and the 2x3 wedge plate!
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#38 Zblj

Zblj

    Posts: 3818
    Joined: 16-August 09
    Member: 7054
    Country: Slovenia

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:14 AM

Can you upload the lxf file, and i will see what i can do.

ZBLJ STANDS FOR ZERO BRICKS LEFT JERRY

ANIMATOR, TECHNIC BUILDER, ADVANCED LEGO DIGITAL DESIGNER USER

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

PLEASE CLICK ON TEXT/IMAGE TO VISIT MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL

"AIN'T NO THING LIKE ME, EXCEPT ME!" - ROCKET RACCOON

NEED A REAL MODEL DIGITIZED IN LDD? CONTACT ME!


#39 AndyC

AndyC

    Posts: 1235
    Joined: 23-June 09
    Member: 6485

Posted 11 June 2010 - 11:29 AM

No amount of fiddling seems to let that work. It's exceptionally close, could be a LDD issue or could be the use of rather naughty building be TLG. I wouldn't like to say, though I'm also erring slightly on the side of an illegal building technique.
Posted Image

#40 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2198
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 11 June 2010 - 11:46 AM

Fixed!  :wink:

We expect to see the set, when complete, on the "Official set made in LDD" thread!  :classic:

View PostZblj, on Jun 11 2010, 11:14 AM, said:

Can you upload the lxf file, and i will see what i can do.
You have to click on the image (the LDD screenshot).


PS: there is a strange thing I was noticed.
I mounted the piece with legal connections (no tricks, this time :tongue:), but at the end... it results illegally connected (tested with connected selection tool).
Any idea about this?

Edited by Calabar, 11 June 2010 - 11:56 AM.

"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#41 AndyC

AndyC

    Posts: 1235
    Joined: 23-June 09
    Member: 6485

Posted 11 June 2010 - 12:07 PM

View PostCalabar, on Jun 11 2010, 12:46 PM, said:

PS: there is a strange thing I was noticed.
I mounted the piece with legal connections (no tricks, this time :tongue:), but at the end... it results illegally connected (tested with connected selection tool).
Any idea about this?

If you look at it closely, it's not actually clipped onto the black 2x2 plate, it's sitting just on top of the studs. Probably as close as you'll ever get LDD to allow you to put it though.
Posted Image

#42 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2198
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 11 June 2010 - 12:12 PM

View PostAndyC, on Jun 11 2010, 02:07 PM, said:

If you look at it closely, it's not actually clipped onto the black 2x2 plate, it's sitting just on top of the studs. Probably as close as you'll ever get LDD to allow you to put it though.
And that's the strange thing, because i placed bricks one by one "legally".
But at a certain moment, LDD should have raised these bricks moving thet from their base.

Here is the best approximation I canned do.
I had to replace pates 2x3 in order to create the space to place the front.

Edited by Calabar, 11 June 2010 - 12:36 PM.

"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#43 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5553
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 11 June 2010 - 03:08 PM

View PostCalabar, on Jun 11 2010, 02:12 PM, said:

And that's the strange thing, because i placed bricks one by one "legally".
But at a certain moment, LDD should have raised these bricks moving thet from their base.
Calabar, in your LDD file the black 1x4 bracket is not placed in it's correct place. That is what AndyC is trying to say (right, AndyC?). It should be placed 1 stud more in towards the car, that's why it's not connected. Or is that what you mean by "best approximation"?

So as far as I understand, this is still unsolved, right?
If it is indeed an illegal building by LEGO, then this is quite some news gentlemen!
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#44 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2198
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:00 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on Jun 11 2010, 05:08 PM, said:

Calabar, in your LDD file the black 1x4 bracket is not placed in it's correct place. That is what AndyC is trying to say (right, AndyC?). It should be placed 1 stud more in towards the car, that's why it's not connected. Or is that what you mean by "best approximation"?

So as far as I understand, this is still unsolved, right?
If it is indeed an illegal building by LEGO, then this is quite some news gentlemen!
"best approximations" was referred to the second file, where I placed the front in the correct place, but scarifying the two 3x2 plates.
I think it is not possible to solve the issue: perhaps some piece is too thick, perhaps inclination of the tile is wrong due to an error in the clip.
The only way to hook the piece is to make a little modify to the project.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#45 AndyC

AndyC

    Posts: 1235
    Joined: 23-June 09
    Member: 6485

Posted 12 June 2010 - 10:15 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on Jun 2 2010, 03:31 PM, said:

(but I'm a bit unsure about the grid on the large plate. Has anyone seen that technique used in a set?)

The Imperial Flagship does that, having just built my second! So I think that one is definitely a bug.

A few more connection bugs I've spotted:

1) You can't place a 2x2 round plate on top of a barrel 2x2x2 (this one), which is normally how lids are done.

2) The palm tree leaves won't connect to the top of a palm tree top (this part) which makes buildable palm trees tricky.

3) You can't seem to clip one of these round 4x4 plates to one of these turntable bases. Am I doing something wrong, or is that another glitch?
Posted Image

#46 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5553
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 12 June 2010 - 10:40 PM

View PostAndyC, on Jun 13 2010, 12:15 AM, said:

The Imperial Flagship does that, having just built my second! So I think that one is definitely a bug.

A few more connection bugs I've spotted:

1) You can't place a 2x2 round plate on top of a barrel 2x2x2 (this one), which is normally how lids are done.

2) The palm tree leaves won't connect to the top of a palm tree top (this part) which makes buildable palm trees tricky.

3) You can't seem to clip one of these round 4x4 plates to one of these turntable bases. Am I doing something wrong, or is that another glitch?
Great finds Andy. Concider them all reported to Lego (but I'm not sure what  you mean by 2) Which palm tree leaves do you mean?

And while we're at it, here's a message from PA in the LDD team who is sitting with Maya everyday preparing all the brick geometries that go into LDD:  "Thank you all for helping us find problems with the bricks. We really appreciate it!"
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#47 Randal

Randal

    Posts: 373
    Joined: 15-May 10
    Member: 10690
    Country: United States

Posted 13 June 2010 - 12:22 AM

View PostILikePi, on Jun 11 2010, 05:53 AM, said:

I'm about three-fourths done with a LDD version of 8214 Lamborghini Polizia, but a section of the front won't attach on! I've tried moving the hinges ever so slightly, but they won't fit without removing some other parts. Can anyone help?

The instruction page:


The LDD model (click to download the model):

The blue outlined part is where I need the unattached piece to go onto.

If someone can fix it, please post a file of it on here so I can finish the model.
Thanks!

I was able to get this to work. The parts I replaced and the parts I replaced them with are red. I don't think the changes I made affect the look of the model. Basically I removed one plate stud from underneath the 2x3 wing plate on either side. I also cheated a little by making the wing plates off target a little and on through to the side studs which needed to be done to allow for the attachment of the front side panels. (This shouldn't be possible, but it is. It's a collision detection bug.)

LXF File

Posted Image

Edited by Randal, 13 June 2010 - 01:17 PM.

A "Usually Safe For Work" webcomic created using Lego Digital Designer.
Posted Image Posted Image <--[ Brick can now be added to your facebook 'likes'...

#48 AndyC

AndyC

    Posts: 1235
    Joined: 23-June 09
    Member: 6485

Posted 13 June 2010 - 01:14 AM

Cheers Superkalle, I certainly don't envy those poor developers trying to model all these bricks!

The problem, having looked closer, is that the large palm tree leaves don't have holes all the way through the studs the way they should (the smaller ones do). A picture paints a thousand words and all that, so....

Posted Image

And another one I'd forgotten till uploading some models I did earlier. You can put something inside a jumper plate stud, or around it but not both at the same time. Again this is probably easier to explain with a picture.

Posted Image

No amount of fiddling will allow you to put both the hammer and cape in that picture on one jumper plate. I'm pretty sure that shouldn't be an illegal combination. I noticed it doing 6665 River Runners, if you want an official example.
Posted Image

#49 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5553
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 13 June 2010 - 09:05 AM

View PostAndyC, on Jun 13 2010, 03:14 AM, said:

Cheers Superkalle, I certainly don't envy those poor developers trying to model all these bricks!
And another one I'd forgotten till uploading some models I did earlier. You can put something inside a jumper plate stud, or around it but not both at the same time.
Thanks for clearifying the leafs.
And about putting two elements at the same, there is an archictural problem in LDD that has to do with instantiation of bricks with dual connectivity. I have posted a more thorough explanation about it here at the forum some time ago, but I can't find the post right now, sorry  :classic:
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#50 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2198
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 13 June 2010 - 10:38 AM

I found an issue similar to the leaf one found by AndyC

I was assembling set 6886, Galactic Peace Keeeper, with LDD, and I found many problems (So that I will not post it on the "Official Set Made in LDD" topic).

On of these issues was related to the Bar 4873: studs are not opened so that i couldn't insert the antennas (3957) inside in order to assembly the red laser jail.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users