Jump to content


Train Track question


7 replies to this topic

#1 sebby

sebby

    Posts: 58
    Joined: 22-January 10
    Member: 9226
    Country: England

Posted 04 February 2010 - 12:42 AM

Posted Image

I'm trying to rebuild my train station into something like my local train station.  

On one side the is the station and platform, then a foot bridge over two parallel tracks and the a small platform on the other side.

This is a pic of basically what I'm trying to do, please remember this is a W.I.P.
Posted Image
There will be a parallel track running next to the track shown.

A few more pics can be found HERE


At the moment I need the tracks to be 2 studs apart but to join up a a set of points not to far away from the station.

Is this possible with standard straights and curves or would I need some flexy track or something else ???

Thanks in advance.

[EDIT] I don't think it will matter to much but I will be using the RC track.

Edited by TheBrickster, 05 February 2010 - 03:29 PM.


#2 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 04 February 2010 - 07:44 AM

First of all, why not just build it a little wider and have your tracks 8 studs apart? Alternatively, you could indeed use some flexitrack, and as you are using RC trains, you can use them without having to worry about electrifying the lines. Another alternative is having the track 0 studs apart as that is quite easy to do with standard curves, but 2 apart is a little tricky. :hmpf_bad:

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#3 FreeBee

FreeBee

    Posts: 154
    Joined: 07-June 07
    Member: 1663
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 04 February 2010 - 11:03 PM

Maybe  like this ? close.gif
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#4 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 05 February 2010 - 06:29 AM

View PostFreeBee, on Feb 5 2010, 09:03 AM, said:

Maybe  like this ?
There ya go! I thought that put the tracks right next to each other, but it seems I was wrong. This is indeed your solution.Thanks FreeBee :wink:

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#5 pe668

pe668

    Posts: 137
    Joined: 16-May 08
    Member: 3153
    Country: Australia

Posted 06 February 2010 - 12:50 AM

Points do not have to sit parallel to the straights. Here is another option which spaces the lines are little wider.
Posted Image

Or this
Posted Image

#6 sebby

sebby

    Posts: 58
    Joined: 22-January 10
    Member: 9226
    Country: England

Posted 06 February 2010 - 03:06 AM

Many thanks to Captain Zuloo, FreeBee  and pe668.

I'll try all 3 ways over the next few days and when I find 1 that works for me I'll post some new pics up.

Once again thanks.  :thumbup:

#7 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 06 February 2010 - 05:19 AM

View Postpe668, on Feb 6 2010, 10:50 AM, said:

Or this
Posted Image
How does it go for joining up at the other end?

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#8 pe668

pe668

    Posts: 137
    Joined: 16-May 08
    Member: 3153
    Country: Australia

Posted 06 February 2010 - 05:51 AM

View PostCaptain Zuloo, on Feb 6 2010, 04:19 PM, said:

How does it go for joining up at the other end?
Does it have to? There was no mention of being part of a loop. Stations can be end of the line.
Besides over 10+ straights one stud out won't be an issue so just join it back up at the other end.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users