Jump to content


Defect 9V switch


6 replies to this topic

#1 legotrainfan

legotrainfan

    Posts: 1367
    Joined: 21-January 08
    Member: 2562
    Country: Austria

Posted 31 December 2009 - 11:06 PM

Posted Image

I had a track route like this as part of my layout, and it was not working properly:

switch --------------------------- track ------------------------ switch
2nd switch exit ---------------parallel track ------------------ 2nd switch exit

I didn't have a problem with all such track routes like that, only one. Though the switches were set correctly, two trains started moving. I also observed this with two trains which were both on two different dead end shunting rails moved. A second switch may be affected. Here again the switch was set correctly. I was very irritated, but just today I read a topic about that problem over at 1000steine.de. There was a user describing the same problem. First, other users suggested a short circuit, which he ruled out, and I can also rule it out. Unfortunately, no user of 1000steine.de could come up with a good solution to the problem. Now I'm asking you guys: Have you made any experiences with defect 9V switches? If yes, what causes this problem and can you repair it? I'd be very happy and grateful to hear some good advice!

Edited by TheBrickster, 08 January 2010 - 03:54 AM.

[...]
I have spread my dreams under your feet.
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
From: "He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven" by W.B. Yeats


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#2 legotrainfan

legotrainfan

    Posts: 1367
    Joined: 21-January 08
    Member: 2562
    Country: Austria

Posted 03 January 2010 - 12:46 PM

No ideas? No advice?  :cry_sad: That's a pity. I was hoping for the ultimate solution to this problem.  :sceptic: I hope that sooner or later someone will post here. Come on, guys, don't let me down!

Edited by legotrainfan, 03 January 2010 - 12:54 PM.

[...]
I have spread my dreams under your feet.
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
From: "He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven" by W.B. Yeats


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#3 Matt Dawson

Matt Dawson

    Posts: 309
    Joined: 12-August 09
    Member: 7007
    Country: United Kingdom

Posted 03 January 2010 - 02:43 PM

From the sounds of it, your saying you have two ovals, connected with two crossovers.

_____________________
_____/_________\______

And from what your saying, both are independantly controlled (i.e. one controller per track), and that when you change one set of points to enable a train to cross, it causes a fault of some sort and the controller cuts out?

From what I can gather, the problem is either caused by setting both the controllers simultaniously (i.e. creating an uneven feedback causing the controller to short) or that the actual switch itself is defective, causing both the rails to momentarily join causing a short.
Posted Image
Want to see more photos? See my Flikr!
Posted Image

#4 legotrainfan

legotrainfan

    Posts: 1367
    Joined: 21-January 08
    Member: 2562
    Country: Austria

Posted 03 January 2010 - 04:52 PM

View PostMatt Dawson, on Jan 3 2010, 03:43 PM, said:

From the sounds of it, your saying you have two ovals, connected with two crossovers.

_____________________
_____/_________\______

And from what your saying, both are independantly controlled (i.e. one controller per track), and that when you change one set of points to enable a train to cross, it causes a fault of some sort and the controller cuts out?

From what I can gather, the problem is either caused by setting both the controllers simultaniously (i.e. creating an uneven feedback causing the controller to short) or that the actual switch itself is defective, causing both the rails to momentarily join causing a short.

No, I don't have two ovals connected with switches. What I have as part of my layouts are track constructions like these (Click here). Though both switches are set correctly, both trains on the parallel tracks between the switches move forward.

But thanks for trying to help!
[...]
I have spread my dreams under your feet.
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
From: "He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven" by W.B. Yeats


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#5 Matt Dawson

Matt Dawson

    Posts: 309
    Joined: 12-August 09
    Member: 7007
    Country: United Kingdom

Posted 03 January 2010 - 05:29 PM

Hmm. The only solution I can see is that they are behaving like Flieschmann Points. In this case, both exits are electrically linked to each other (thus power is always fed to the other track one by the live track.

Therefore, the only solution, as far as I can acertain, is to dissassemble them and modify. As I don't have Lego 9V points, I cannot tell you any more.
Posted Image
Want to see more photos? See my Flikr!
Posted Image

#6 legotrainfan

legotrainfan

    Posts: 1367
    Joined: 21-January 08
    Member: 2562
    Country: Austria

Posted 03 January 2010 - 10:07 PM

View PostMatt Dawson, on Jan 3 2010, 06:29 PM, said:

Hmm. The only solution I can see is that they are behaving like Flieschmann Points. In this case, both exits are electrically linked to each other (thus power is always fed to the other track one by the live track.

Therefore, the only solution, as far as I can acertain, is to dissassemble them and modify. As I don't have Lego 9V points, I cannot tell you any more.

I have no idea how to disassemble them. However, I think I'll check my layout once again, so I can really sure it's not a problem that was produced through the layout itself. But I strongly feel that I have got one or two malfunctioning switches. Thanks, Matt, for trying to help me.
[...]
I have spread my dreams under your feet.
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
From: "He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven" by W.B. Yeats


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#7 hoeij

hoeij

    Posts: 502
    Joined: 12-May 10
    Member: 10641

Posted 04 June 2010 - 02:03 PM

I have a few switches that either don't conduct electricity at all, or conduct not so well.  I fixed them
by adding wiring underneath.  Also, some switches that haven't been used in a long time don't
conduct electricity until I move the lever back and forth a number of times.

But I've never seen a switch that sends the power to the wrong siding.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users