Jump to content


EB Tech Help


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Duq

Duq

    Posts: 808
    Joined: 04-September 09
    Member: 7300
    Country: Ireland

Posted 22 October 2009 - 04:58 PM

Apologies if there is an existing topic about this, I couldn't find one.
Every now and then a number of topics get the red 'Unread post' icon. When I click the icon there appear to be no new posts in the topic.
Is this a known issue?
I'm reading the forum in Firefox on Windows XP.

Edited by Duq, 22 October 2009 - 04:59 PM.

If at first you don’t succeed, call it version 1.0

Posted Image

Posted Image Brick.ie - The Irish Association for Adult Fans of Lego

#2 Stauder

Stauder

  • Beware, he's back!


    Posts: 1987
    Joined: 21-December 06
    Member: 1134

Posted 22 October 2009 - 05:19 PM

Try refreshing the page.



Stauder.
Posted Image
The above is a paid advertisement by EuroBricks News FLC (Fake LEGO Company). Eurobricks News FLC is 45% Stauder™ (The Annoying Parts), 25% ImperialShadows™ (The Funny Parts), 10% Whitefang™ (The Reviewsy Parts), 7% Zepher™ (The Female Parts... er...) and 7% Stash2Sixx™ (The Photographic Parts).

The previously stated ingredients of EuroBricks News FLC are a trade secret and if you tell anyone I will stab you. In the eye. With a titanium spork.
EuroBricks News FLC is a Trademark of the EB News Team. © EB News 2006 -THE FUTURE!™

#3 Ricecracker

Ricecracker

  • Stormed Out


    Posts: 4681
    Joined: 25-November 07
    Member: 2221
    Country: Canada

Posted 22 October 2009 - 08:33 PM

I find this happens when you logoff then back on, or restart your computer or internet browser.

#4 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 14003
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 22 October 2009 - 08:35 PM

View PostStauder, on Oct 22 2009, 11:19 AM, said:

Try refreshing the page.



Stauder.
Yup, that should do it.

:thumbup:

#5 RileyC

RileyC

  • >-- Stupid Cupid --> <3


    Posts: 2999
    Joined: 10-February 09
    Member: 5251
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 25 October 2009 - 06:16 AM

I find that the new poll icons don't really go away that often especially if I haven't been on since the day before. It doesnt really bother me that much though

Formerly gone by the name of "Roncanator"

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Playing as Yasuko a Model in Yakusa Family Mafia
Played as Rickety Cannon a Town Nerd in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum II: Fraulein Bloodbrick Mafia
Played as Ruxana a Town Pilot in Baritones 3 Mafia
Played as Roweena Karnata a Town Guard General turned Dark One in The Coming Darkness Mafystery
Played as Cookie Custer an Insane from Spider Ward in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum Mafia
Played as Ron Canter a Town Folk turned Noodles Family in Eurodina Mafia
Played as Todd "Bulltoad" Bulstrode an Innocent from Slytherin in Hogwarts Mafia
Played as Ron Callister a Sane Pilot in Dystopia Mafia
Played as Ron Toreil an Honoured soldier in Imperial Soldier's Mafia


#6 Inconspicuous

Inconspicuous

  • RA Anniversary HP reviewer


    Posts: 1612
    Joined: 25-May 09
    Member: 6188
    Country: USA

Posted 25 October 2009 - 06:19 AM

If you've read a topic and go to "Active Topics", everything is marked unread. If you go to "New Posts" everything is marked unread. Unless you stick to one and keep refreshing, these will always reset every session.

Hope this helped.  :wink:

EDIT: Yay! 300th post!

Flickr~Brickshelf~Bricklink Store~Sale/Trade Topic
Check out my ABOUT ME page for more links!


#7 Duq

Duq

    Posts: 808
    Joined: 04-September 09
    Member: 7300
    Country: Ireland

Posted 29 October 2009 - 02:36 PM

View PostBig Cam, on Oct 22 2009, 08:35 PM, said:

Yup, that should do it.

:thumbup:
Nope. It just happened again:
3 threads were marked unread. I opened one, read the latest post and went back to the list by clicking 'Train Tech' in the breadcrumbs at the top of the page.
Now 2 more threads were marked unread, though there were no new posts since I last opened them.
I've refreshed the list by hitting F5 and then by clicking 'Train Tech' again but those two threads remained 'unread'.
If at first you don’t succeed, call it version 1.0

Posted Image

Posted Image Brick.ie - The Irish Association for Adult Fans of Lego

#8 Stauder

Stauder

  • Beware, he's back!


    Posts: 1987
    Joined: 21-December 06
    Member: 1134

Posted 02 November 2009 - 08:35 PM

Could be that the cookies (or whatever cruncy treat stores the data of this sort nowadays), are getting deleted in-between, so the computer marks them as unread again.

PC Geekoids, keep yer heads on, I'm just too lazy to go into detail.



Stauder.
Posted Image
The above is a paid advertisement by EuroBricks News FLC (Fake LEGO Company). Eurobricks News FLC is 45% Stauder™ (The Annoying Parts), 25% ImperialShadows™ (The Funny Parts), 10% Whitefang™ (The Reviewsy Parts), 7% Zepher™ (The Female Parts... er...) and 7% Stash2Sixx™ (The Photographic Parts).

The previously stated ingredients of EuroBricks News FLC are a trade secret and if you tell anyone I will stab you. In the eye. With a titanium spork.
EuroBricks News FLC is a Trademark of the EB News Team. © EB News 2006 -THE FUTURE!™

#9 JimBee

JimBee

  • Shroom Eating Cultist


    Posts: 11221
    Joined: 07-January 08
    Member: 2436
    Country: USA

Posted 24 November 2009 - 11:38 PM

As the title says, I've been having problems with EB pages shrinking. This just happened to me yesterday, and isn't the first time.

While posting, I accidentally hit a key (or combination of keys), and the page suddenly shifted and shrunk. I noticed that the top line in my text box was cut in half horizontally (the top part of the letters were missing), and now I can't get any pages to return to normal size. The text is smaller, and the emoticons are small and blurry (and some partially cut off). I can't tell if any pictures are smaller than usual, but the banner seems larger. The whole layout seems like it change to a format for larger monitors.

I tried refreshing the page, closing the browser, restarting the computer, switching to liner, standard, and outline modes, but nothing has worked. And yes, I'm sure it's not my eyes.  :tongue:

If someone could help explain or change the pages back, I would be really thankful.  :thumbup:

Posted ImagePosted Image
Currently playing Hybros, 55-year-old male imp Marauder, and

Jinnipher Buchaire, 77-year-old female Moon Elven Knight

in the Heroica RPG

Wiki


#10 Captain M

Captain M

    Posts: 167
    Joined: 17-November 09
    Member: 8229
    Country: United States

Posted 25 November 2009 - 12:48 AM

View PostJimButcher, on Nov 24 2009, 06:38 PM, said:

As the title says, I've been having problems with EB pages shrinking. This just happened to me yesterday, and isn't the first time.

While posting, I accidentally hit a key (or combination of keys), and the page suddenly shifted and shrunk. I noticed that the top line in my text box was cut in half horizontally (the top part of the letters were missing), and now I can't get any pages to return to normal size. The text is smaller, and the emoticons are small and blurry (and some partially cut off). I can't tell if any pictures are smaller than usual, but the banner seems larger. The whole layout seems like it change to a format for larger monitors.

I tried refreshing the page, closing the browser, restarting the computer, switching to liner, standard, and outline modes, but nothing has worked. And yes, I'm sure it's not my eyes.  :tongue:

If someone could help explain or change the pages back, I would be really thankful.  :thumbup:
Scroll down Up while pressing the ctrl key.

Edited by Captain M, 25 November 2009 - 12:49 AM.


#11 Commodore Hornbricker

Commodore Hornbricker

  • Cyborg Chef Splatter


    Posts: 2181
    Joined: 30-January 09
    Member: 5169
    Country: USA

Posted 25 November 2009 - 12:56 AM

Are you sure the problem isn't you keep temporarily becoming a giant?
Posted Image Sail on over to the Port of Brick Royal
"I am not having him flogged for fighting, Mr. Gerard." - Horatio Hornblower

#12 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19446
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 25 November 2009 - 01:08 AM

Are you sure it isn't a browser issue? I do this all the time with mine. (Opera) Does it affect other non-EB pages?





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#13 JimBee

JimBee

  • Shroom Eating Cultist


    Posts: 11221
    Joined: 07-January 08
    Member: 2436
    Country: USA

Posted 25 November 2009 - 02:04 AM

View PostCaptain M, on Nov 24 2009, 06:48 PM, said:

Scroll down Up while pressing the ctrl key.
That did it! Thanks very much!

View PostCommodore Hornbricker, on Nov 24 2009, 06:56 PM, said:

Are you sure the problem isn't you keep temporarily becoming a giant?
Pretty sure. I was getting worried I'd need new prescriptions.  :tongue:

View PostSiegfried, on Nov 24 2009, 07:08 PM, said:

Are you sure it isn't a browser issue? I do this all the time with mine. (Opera) Does it affect other non-EB pages?
No, I don't think it affected other pages. I use Firefox.

EDIT: Now I see what you mean about the banners (in topics about banners). when I zoom out, more of the banner gets added in, and vice versa.

Posted ImagePosted Image
Currently playing Hybros, 55-year-old male imp Marauder, and

Jinnipher Buchaire, 77-year-old female Moon Elven Knight

in the Heroica RPG

Wiki


#14 Captain M

Captain M

    Posts: 167
    Joined: 17-November 09
    Member: 8229
    Country: United States

Posted 25 November 2009 - 02:47 AM

View PostJimButcher, on Nov 24 2009, 09:04 PM, said:

That did it! Thanks very much!
No problem. I remember when I had a similar problem with this as well. Having shortcuts around is a blessing.

=]

#15 Rick

Rick

  • Where's My Ostrich?


    Posts: 8524
    Joined: 11-February 09
    Member: 5261
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 25 November 2009 - 07:46 AM

Ctrl-0 (zero) usually sets it to normal, while Ctrl-+ (plus) and Ctrl-- (minus) zoom in/out. But Ctrl-scroll button does the same. Just harder to get to the normal (Ctrl-0) setting.

#16 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 14003
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 25 November 2009 - 02:38 PM

Ya the Ctrl and scroll thing is a Microsoft feature for quickly zooming in or out on a webpage.

#17 Ricecracker

Ricecracker

  • Stormed Out


    Posts: 4681
    Joined: 25-November 07
    Member: 2221
    Country: Canada

Posted 25 November 2009 - 09:36 PM

View PostBig Cam, on Nov 25 2009, 09:38 AM, said:

Ya the Ctrl and scroll thing is a Microsoft feature for quickly zooming in or out on a webpage.
Not really, seeing as it works on all Macs as well.

#18 Rick

Rick

  • Where's My Ostrich?


    Posts: 8524
    Joined: 11-February 09
    Member: 5261
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 26 November 2009 - 07:40 AM

... and in Firefox

#19 The Who

The Who

  • No more boogers


    Posts: 1420
    Joined: 24-February 08
    Member: 2808
    Country: United States

Posted 23 December 2009 - 02:40 AM

Well, I don't really have a specific name for it, but my computer seems to be having some minor problems when I post. Making the post is fine, that's not the problem.

1--I click the button to submit the post, and it seems fine.
2--I go back to the Forums homepage.
3--It still says the person before me was the last to post, when I just did.

Example: I just replyed to Forresto in the 2010 SW Pictures and Rumors Thread, and on the 'Eurobricks Forums' page, it still says Forresto was the last one to post.

This is getting pretty annoying for me, so does anybody know if there is something I can do about it? Refreshing the page doesn't work.
"When informed of the waiting period on guns at walmart; it is not infact witty to reply asking where the chainsaws are. Police will be notified."

Like free third person shooters? Online? You should join me on Battlefield Heroes, make sure you use this link.
Battlefield Heroes Link

#20 JCC1004

JCC1004

    Posts: 2044
    Joined: 29-December 08
    Member: 4845
    Country: United States

Posted 23 December 2009 - 07:35 AM

I just made a post in "Star Wars sets anyone?" and it shows my user name. It's has to be a problem with your computer. Have you closed your web browser and re-open it. If that doesn't work I'd reboot your computer. If that doesn't do anything I'd suggest getting a hold of an Admin. :wink:

#21 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19446
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 23 December 2009 - 07:43 AM

View PostJCC1004, on Dec 23 2009, 05:35 PM, said:

If that doesn't do anything I'd suggest getting a hold of an Admin. :wink:[/b][/color]
Admin here!  :tongue:

Well it doesn't seem to be a website issue... but it's easy to test. Make a post and PM me, and I'll tell you what I see.





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#22 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 14003
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 23 December 2009 - 02:13 PM

View PostThe Who, on Dec 22 2009, 07:40 PM, said:

Well, I don't really have a specific name for it, but my computer seems to be having some minor problems when I post. Making the post is fine, that's not the problem.

1--I click the button to submit the post, and it seems fine.
2--I go back to the Forums homepage.
3--It still says the person before me was the last to post, when I just did.

Example: I just replyed to Forresto in the 2010 SW Pictures and Rumors Thread, and on the 'Eurobricks Forums' page, it still says Forresto was the last one to post.

This is getting pretty annoying for me, so does anybody know if there is something I can do about it? Refreshing the page doesn't work.
Looks like the Website forum can't help your personal computer.

It sounds like you need to clear your cache.  Give that a try and report back.  Basically it seem like your computer isn't refreshing the page after you post, it's bringing the page up from memory so it says you haven't posted yet.  If clearing your cahce doesn't work, and this problem just started, you may have a different problem, becasue by default your browser should do this.

#23 The Who

The Who

  • No more boogers


    Posts: 1420
    Joined: 24-February 08
    Member: 2808
    Country: United States

Posted 23 December 2009 - 11:05 PM

View PostJCC1004, on Dec 23 2009, 07:35 AM, said:

Have you closed your web browser and re-open it. If that doesn't work I'd reboot your computer.
I tried those earlier, and neither worked.

View PostSiegfried, on Dec 23 2009, 07:43 AM, said:

Make a post and PM me, and I'll tell you what I see.
I guess I need to do that when you are logged on?

View PostBig Cam, on Dec 23 2009, 02:13 PM, said:

It sounds like you need to clear your cache.
Um...In simpler terms, please? :blush: That does sound right, though, that it is not updating the page and is instead loading from memory.
"When informed of the waiting period on guns at walmart; it is not infact witty to reply asking where the chainsaws are. Police will be notified."

Like free third person shooters? Online? You should join me on Battlefield Heroes, make sure you use this link.
Battlefield Heroes Link

#24 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19446
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 24 December 2009 - 12:08 AM

View PostThe Who, on Dec 24 2009, 09:05 AM, said:

I guess I need to do that when you are logged on?
...or at least awake!  :tongue:

Attached File  qed.png   3.92K   138 downloads
It seems it's a local issue.

View PostThe Who, on Dec 24 2009, 09:05 AM, said:

Um...In simpler terms, please? :blush: That does sound right, though, that it is not updating the page and is instead loading from memory.
What's your browser?





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#25 The Who

The Who

  • No more boogers


    Posts: 1420
    Joined: 24-February 08
    Member: 2808
    Country: United States

Posted 24 December 2009 - 12:29 AM

View PostSiegfried, on Dec 24 2009, 01:08 AM, said:

...or at least awake!  :tongue:

What's your browser?
Sorry. I was wondering if you would be awake or not...

I guess it's Windows, if that's a browser. I'm not exactly an expert, and I don't really know what a lot of these things are.

This problem seems kind of random. It will show my name as the last poster for some, but not all of the threads I post in.
"When informed of the waiting period on guns at walmart; it is not infact witty to reply asking where the chainsaws are. Police will be notified."

Like free third person shooters? Online? You should join me on Battlefield Heroes, make sure you use this link.
Battlefield Heroes Link




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users