Jump to content


A cumbersome thing about 7749 Echo Base I am hearing about?


11 replies to this topic

#1 Imperial Governer

Imperial Governer

    Posts: 41
    Joined: 05-June 09
    Member: 6301
    Country: USA

Posted 17 August 2009 - 07:18 PM

Posted Image
I am planning to buy my FIRST SW set next week, which is Echo Base. I am hoping that it is in stock at my local LEGO store, because I know they are selling like hotcakes!

But, there is something I'm hearing about it that I REALLY don't like too much!

Would its playability be better with a grey baseplate, or just the set? I don't want to spend the extra $15 for a grey baseplate I don't have! Even when I went over to my friend's house, he had it on a grey baseplate! I just wanna know from the LEGO experts if the set would work better with or without a baseplate! Thank you very much!  :pirate:
"The only thing we have to fear is fear itself."- Franklin D. Roosevelt, 32rd President of the United States of America

"Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country."- John F. Kennedy, 35th President of the United States of American

"In war, there is no second prize for the runner-up."- General Omar Bradley, United States of America

          
           EDIT CGH: Please reduce the size of images in your signature, as it distracts too much from the posts.
                                                                   Eldorado's minis!

#2 Jammiedodger

Jammiedodger

  • Halfway through Englishman


    Posts: 2302
    Joined: 02-September 08
    Member: 3865
    Country: England

Posted 17 August 2009 - 07:23 PM

Not at all. :wink: It works just fine. Sometimes bits fall off, so just to be sure strengthen it with some plates/bricks underneath. :classic: It is guaranteed to work if you do that.

Hope I helped. :thumbup:

EDIT: You really ought to aquire a grey baseplate for general use. It comes in handy when making MOCs and dioramas. :sweet:

Edited by Jammiedodger714, 17 August 2009 - 07:24 PM.


#3 Holy Diver

Holy Diver

    Posts: 205
    Joined: 12-June 08
    Member: 3285

Posted 17 August 2009 - 07:31 PM

View PostJammiedodger714, on Aug 17 2009, 03:23 PM, said:

EDIT: You really ought to aquire a grey baseplate for general use. It comes in handy when making MOCs and dioramas. :sweet:

Agreed, I have 3 grey baseplates and they are very useful for MOCing or displaying my Star Wars armies in battle formations.

#4 lookout21

lookout21

    Posts: 1
    Joined: 17-August 09
    Member: 7069

Posted 17 August 2009 - 07:42 PM

I agree. My turret always falls off like an escape pod. I don't have a gray baseplate but I onlu have greens and a yellow. I suggest a baseplate but a mini one for bargain hunters.

#5 Skipper 24

Skipper 24

  • I live in Engalnd


    Posts: 2134
    Joined: 03-August 07
    Member: 1851
    Country: England

Posted 17 August 2009 - 08:44 PM

Great news to hear you are getting your first Star Wars set :thumbup:. If I were you I would buy the base plate. Even if you don't put your set on it, it will come in handy. Another reason you may want it is that so you can expand by making scenery and possibly adding more sets to make a little diorama.
Posted Image <-- Thanks Hound Knight
Flickr Brickshelf

#6 GoN2Broadway

GoN2Broadway

    Posts: 63
    Joined: 23-August 08
    Member: 3809

Posted 17 August 2009 - 09:55 PM

I think you should be completely happy with the playability of the Echo Base and all the pieces without the use of a Grey Baseplate.  As mentioned above, some pieces will occasionally fall off, most specifically for me; the "wall" and the "cannon" get seperated a bit easily if you pick them up, but that shouldn't be a huge problem.  If you don't have the money to purchase a baseplate, you shouldn't feel like you have to with the Hoth playset.  As mentioned above, baseplates are always welcome additions to collections, but if money is an issue (thanks to the tough economic times) you should be able to bypass the baseplate with full confidence that you will enjoy the playset to your fullest ability.   :sweet:

#7 Derek

Derek

  • Sith no more


    Posts: 2065
    Joined: 10-October 07
    Member: 2075
    Country: USA

Posted 18 August 2009 - 03:51 AM

As others have said, you may not need the baseplate to enjoy the set, I recommend getting one for other uses if you so desire.

As for the set, I never really considered displaying it on a bp, but I suggest the style of the set could lend itself to that type of display. I got it a few weeks ago, and I love it. While it may be a little pricier than other sets of its size ($25 USD as opposed to $20 :hmpf:) its still a great set. The figures are great, as well as the Tauntaun. You shouldn't be disappointed with the set...

-darthperson

View PostIgnited_Impulse, on 20 September 2010 - 01:51 AM, said:

Dude, you've got a Final Fantasy sig and you're on a lego forum....arguing about elves. Try not to think you're some cool guy because you don't play D&D
My Flickr Account

#8 RileyC

RileyC

  • >-- Stupid Cupid --> <3


    Posts: 2999
    Joined: 10-February 09
    Member: 5251
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 18 August 2009 - 05:57 AM

I dont see the need for a baseplate for it. The set is good though overpriced and would be even more expensive with a small white baseplate. Where the turret connects with the bunker is quite flimsy but if you hold it properly or mod it this should be a problem. If you wanted to keep the set altogether it may be hard with a baseplate because the snowtrooper's e-web blaster cannot connect to it and the base and taun taun are big enough that you wouldnt lose them easily.

If I was you id get this set because it will be worth a lot when you cant get it anymore

Formerly gone by the name of "Roncanator"

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Playing as Yasuko a Model in Yakusa Family Mafia
Played as Rickety Cannon a Town Nerd in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum II: Fraulein Bloodbrick Mafia
Played as Ruxana a Town Pilot in Baritones 3 Mafia
Played as Roweena Karnata a Town Guard General turned Dark One in The Coming Darkness Mafystery
Played as Cookie Custer an Insane from Spider Ward in Dr. Bloodbrick's Asylum Mafia
Played as Ron Canter a Town Folk turned Noodles Family in Eurodina Mafia
Played as Todd "Bulltoad" Bulstrode an Innocent from Slytherin in Hogwarts Mafia
Played as Ron Callister a Sane Pilot in Dystopia Mafia
Played as Ron Toreil an Honoured soldier in Imperial Soldier's Mafia


#9 RepublicForces

RepublicForces

    Posts: 461
    Joined: 15-January 09
    Member: 5016
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 18 August 2009 - 01:52 PM

If I was you I would buy more than just 1 starwars set.

And the "Echo Base" set is a good set to start with.
uuuuhm, hi

Add me on Xfire my Xfire name = th3death9 :D
Add me on Xbox Live!! My Xbox Live name = Th3DeaTH9!! :D

#10 Imperial Governer

Imperial Governer

    Posts: 41
    Joined: 05-June 09
    Member: 6301
    Country: USA

Posted 26 August 2009 - 06:00 PM

Everyone, thank you all for helping!  :pirate:

But, I have some bad news. My local LEGO Store didn't get their delivery of Echo Base's this week, and won't have any in stock for this Friday, when I'm going up there.  :sceptic:

But instead, I might get the Castle Drawbridge Defense set or the Indy Venice Chase set.

Thanks everyone who helped me with my problem. When I get Echo Base in the future, I will put everything everyone suggested in my head!  :classic:
"The only thing we have to fear is fear itself."- Franklin D. Roosevelt, 32rd President of the United States of America

"Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country."- John F. Kennedy, 35th President of the United States of American

"In war, there is no second prize for the runner-up."- General Omar Bradley, United States of America

          
           EDIT CGH: Please reduce the size of images in your signature, as it distracts too much from the posts.
                                                                   Eldorado's minis!

#11 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 27 August 2009 - 02:27 PM

Depends on how sturdt you want/need it.

I think for display reasons, NO you don't need it.

For playability maybe.

#12 Legoking

Legoking

  • Classic-Pirates' cabin boy


    Posts: 1026
    Joined: 28-May 08
    Member: 3200
    Country: United States

Posted 27 August 2009 - 05:08 PM

You don't really need any baseplates to put under the Echo Base, but it would not hurt if you were going to play with it or something like that.

LegoKing
My MOC page
My Brickshelf
My Brickset   
My Current Trades

Credit of my wonderful drawn avatar goes to Hound Knight. Posted Image
I am the Lego King of the World!

Support the Pirates forum, buy your LEGO here!




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users