Jump to content


Train Tech Building Contest


90 replies to this topic

#26 JimBee

JimBee

  • Bubbler


    Posts: 9713
    Joined: 07-January 08
    Member: 2436
    Country: USA

Posted 03 August 2009 - 10:00 PM

Looks interesting, and I'm grateful for the structure section, since I have zero train parts.  :thumbup: I'll look forward to this one.

Posted ImagePosted Image
Currently playing Hybros, 53-year-old male imp Chi Monk in the Heroica RPG

Currently playing Jerry Bergeron in Red Menace Mafia
Stats | Bio


#27 prateek

prateek

  • Study hard!


    Posts: 10406
    Joined: 09-July 05
    Member: 426
    Country: Canada

Posted 03 August 2009 - 11:00 PM

So no LDD? :cry_sad:

#28 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 03 August 2009 - 11:01 PM

View Postprateek, on Aug 3 2009, 03:00 PM, said:

So no LDD?
no

#29 Moose

Moose

    Posts: 114
    Joined: 11-July 08
    Member: 3507
    Country: USA

Posted 04 August 2009 - 04:01 AM

this may have been asked/answered already, but does it have to be physically built? or can it be on LDD or something similar?
Moose

#30 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 04 August 2009 - 04:07 AM

View PostMoose, on Aug 3 2009, 08:01 PM, said:

this may have been asked/answered already, but does it have to be physically built? or can it be on LDD or something similar?
It does have to be physically built, meaning NO digital designs.  See question above.

#31 keetong

keetong

    Posts: 299
    Joined: 03-June 08
    Member: 3231
    Country: Australia

Posted 04 August 2009 - 06:43 AM

Thanks to everyone that helped in the extension of the competition,I now have to much time on my hands. :laugh:

#32 AwesomeStar

AwesomeStar

  • Mystery Distraction


    Posts: 1273
    Joined: 05-June 08
    Member: 3245
    Country: England

Posted 04 August 2009 - 09:27 AM

So no monorails, but trams are allowed? :cry_happy:

Thank goodness.  :thumbup:

~A.S.

brickshelf   flickr


I played Kian Otherus in EBRP and finished as Lorraine Bailey in MOTEE.
I died as scum Chief Astrobiology Officer Richard Francis in Bob's Excalibur Mafia 2.0,
as scum Augustus "Gus" Staines in Noir Mafia and as snooty old Alfonso in Ditalini - Mystery Mafia...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#33 Svelte

Svelte

  • We miss you Schmelt!


    Posts: 5208
    Joined: 11-July 07
    Member: 1768
    Country: Australia

Posted 04 August 2009 - 11:25 AM

I've been meaning to say this since it was announced, but thanks to everyone involved for a brilliant contest! It is a spectacular way to launch the new subforum and it is so pleasing to see the involvement of a well-respected Lego group like Railbricks involved in this new initiative. And who wouldn't want a brand new Emerald Express as a prize? :wub: :tongue:

I'm not a train builder but I look forward to putting something in for Category 3.

#34 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 04 August 2009 - 03:14 PM

Yay Schmelt! :classic:  Thanks for that very nice feedback.  
I'm looking forward to seeing your entry.

View PostAwesomeStar, on Aug 4 2009, 02:27 AM, said:

So no monorails, but trams are allowed? :cry_happy:
If the tram runs on standard Lego track, like a train.

#35 MightySlickPancake

MightySlickPancake

    Posts: 604
    Joined: 06-August 08
    Member: 3672
    Country: England

Posted 04 August 2009 - 03:32 PM

Hi i am working on a new 8 wide train but the bars on the sides and steps to the doors may be 1 or half a stud out of the train, is that ok?

and thank u all for this great contest.

:pir-laugh: cb :pir-wink:
was crabboy329 now MIGHTYSLICKPANCAKE! returning from a eurobricks darkage.

Check out my Team Fortress 2 Moc

#36 LegoJoe

LegoJoe

    Posts: 30
    Joined: 11-April 08
    Member: 3014

Posted 04 August 2009 - 04:35 PM

Are you allowed to have something hanging off of an 8-W train that is less than 1 stud, for example a Brick, Modified 1 x 1 with Handle (BL# 2921) with the handle extending over 8-W?

#37 jayhurst

jayhurst

    Posts: 12
    Joined: 05-August 09
    Member: 6914
    Country: USA

Posted 05 August 2009 - 08:54 AM

Great contest!


Before I start building though, I need some rock solid clarifications concerning the maxiumum allowed width, which is currently stated as "8 studs".

Does the 8 studs refer to all of the engines components? Or, is it just refering to the engine's "main body", or as in the case of steam engines, it's "cab" width?

For steam engines, can the parts that are used in creating the pistons and driverods extend past 8 stud max width? Before answering, I would like to point out that even Lego's Emerald Night has driverods and pistons that stick out to a width of 9 studs+a little extra.

Last question: If running boards are used on a steam engine's boiler, do these also have to be inside the 8 stud max width?





This is going to be lots of fun. I can't wait to see what everyone builds :-)

#38 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 05 August 2009 - 10:25 PM

8 wide? Grrrr! I just finished building an entry in 6 wide! :hmpf_bad:

Would I be allowed to enter 2 models of the same loco, in 2 different widths?

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#39 Matn

Matn

  • supermegaawesome


    Posts: 1615
    Joined: 13-October 07
    Member: 2084
    Country: Belgium

Posted 05 August 2009 - 10:27 PM

View PostCaptain Zuloo, on Aug 5 2009, 11:25 PM, said:

8 wide? Grrrr! I just finished building an entry in 6 wide! :hmpf_bad:

Would I be allowed to enter 2 models of the same loco, in 2 different widths?
Don't worry, Captain Zuloo!  :tongue: The entries may not be wider than 8 studs, so you can make one with a width of six studs. That's what I also am going to do.

#40 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 05 August 2009 - 10:29 PM

View PostMatn, on Aug 6 2009, 08:27 AM, said:

Don't worry, Captain Zuloo!  :tongue: The entries may not be wider than 8 studs, so you can make one with a width of six studs. That's what I also am going to do.
For sure, but could I also make onein 8 wide with overhang of about 1/2 a stud?

I growled because I was wishing all through the construction phase that I could make it in 8 wide, and now that I'm done, the rules have been changed so that I can! :laugh:

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#41 BrunoSilva13

BrunoSilva13

    Posts: 25
    Joined: 12-November 08
    Member: 4359
    Country: Portugal

Posted 06 August 2009 - 01:52 PM

Hi there, first I want to give my congratulations for this contest, it's realy good have contest like this for the train people.
I will participate if nothing goes wrong, and I want to build a load station, but I had been thinking, and possible I have to do a order for my construction, but however, the time to present is long, I will give my best. :thumbup:  Good luck for everyone. :classic:

#42 AgentRick57

AgentRick57

    Posts: 841
    Joined: 12-December 07
    Member: 2280

Posted 07 August 2009 - 02:46 AM

For section 1, is it allowed to have a small station platform or loading dock similar to most official Lego sets like in set 7735?

#43 Ricecracker

Ricecracker

  • Stormed Out


    Posts: 4663
    Joined: 25-November 07
    Member: 2221
    Country: Canada

Posted 07 August 2009 - 03:05 AM

Woah! This is absolutely wonderful! I just have a few questions.

1) Can we submit an entry, and change it per C&C as given until the end date?
2) Could I use the same entry in category two as part of my category one entry?

Thanks very much for this contest, and the prizes are great too :sweet:.

#44 ConductorPete

ConductorPete

    Posts: 48
    Joined: 22-July 09
    Member: 6771
    Country: United Kingdom

Posted 07 August 2009 - 09:58 AM

Regarding to the thing we need t do for this contest, does it have to have a fulll circuit or does it need a normal 4 straights
Posted Image
ATTENTION: VOICEOVERS FOR CHARACTERS NEEDED IN LEGO CITY RAILS AND THE MURDER MYSTERY!

MY LIST
7895 - Switching Track
7896 - Straight & Curved Rails
7897 - Passenger Train
10182 - Cafe Corner
10185 - Green Grocer
626 - Large Green Baseplate
7280 - Straight & Crossroad Plates
7281 - T-Junction & Curved Road Plates

#45 Randamatrix

Randamatrix

    Posts: 13
    Joined: 18-January 09
    Member: 5047
    Country: USA

Posted 07 August 2009 - 11:13 AM

In regards to the "only Lego pieces may be used", can we use minifigure arms/hands or remove the wheels from the wheel hubs?

Edit: For Category One, does it have to be a passenger or cargo train? Or can it be a work train like a MOW or snow-clearing train?

Edited by Randamatrix, 07 August 2009 - 05:42 PM.


#46 keetong

keetong

    Posts: 299
    Joined: 03-June 08
    Member: 3231
    Country: Australia

Posted 07 August 2009 - 11:51 AM

Are we allowed to cut piping?(for railings(lego piping))

Are pippings allowed to be on the outside of the 8 stud minimun?

#47 Holodoc

Holodoc

  • Has finally seen the box


    Posts: 3830
    Joined: 24-November 06
    Member: 1094
    Country: Germany

Posted 07 August 2009 - 08:29 PM

Not being the host of the competition I nevertheless think I can answer the following questions:

View PostConductorPete, on Aug 7 2009, 09:58 AM, said:

Regarding to the thing we need t do for this contest, does it have to have a fulll circuit or does it need a normal 4 straights
It´s just about the buildings or the engines/trains. So 4 straights should be enough. If you don´t have any track - just post the pics without them.
It´s afterall just about the bui... well, you read that. :wink:

View PostRandamatrix, on Aug 7 2009, 11:13 AM, said:

In regards to the "only Lego pieces may be used", can we use minifigure arms/hands or remove the wheels from the wheel hubs?
Yep! You may use everything in your kitchen to build the MOC (scissors, can opener, microwave....) But it must not be part of it! The final model has to be made of Lego only.
(Ok, forget about the microwave then...):grin:

Quote

Edit: For Category One, does it have to be a passenger or cargo train? Or can it be a work train like a MOW or snow-clearing train?
It can even be a super-dooper-space-future-rocket-train. Build whatever you like. Your imagination is the limit.

View Postkeetong, on Aug 7 2009, 11:51 AM, said:

Are we allowed to cut piping?(for railings(lego piping))
Yes. See above.

Quote

Are pippings allowed to be on the outside of the 8 stud minimun?
Now come on! How much space do you need? :sceptic:
I´d say No. But I leave the answer open to TheBrickster.
Even more interested in LEGO bricks & parts? Read Tim Johnson's (aka Caperberry) blog: Posted Image

#48 ConductorPete

ConductorPete

    Posts: 48
    Joined: 22-July 09
    Member: 6771
    Country: United Kingdom

Posted 07 August 2009 - 08:54 PM

View PostHolodoc, on Aug 7 2009, 09:29 PM, said:

Not being the host of the competition I nevertheless think I can answer the following questions:

It´s just about the buildings or the engines/trains. So 4 straights should be enough. If you don´t have any track - just post the pics without them.
It´s afterall just about the bui... well, you read that. :wink:


Yep! You may use everything in your kitchen to build the MOC (scissors, can opener, microwave....) But it must not be part of it! The final model has to be made of Lego only.
(Ok, forget about the microwave then...):grin:


It can even be a super-dooper-space-future-rocket-train. Build whatever you like. Your imagination is the limit.


Yes. See above.


Now come on! How much space do you need? :sceptic:
I´d say No. But I leave the answer open to TheBrickster.

Thank you holodoc for the information given, may it just be a train station structure
Posted Image
ATTENTION: VOICEOVERS FOR CHARACTERS NEEDED IN LEGO CITY RAILS AND THE MURDER MYSTERY!

MY LIST
7895 - Switching Track
7896 - Straight & Curved Rails
7897 - Passenger Train
10182 - Cafe Corner
10185 - Green Grocer
626 - Large Green Baseplate
7280 - Straight & Crossroad Plates
7281 - T-Junction & Curved Road Plates

#49 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 07 August 2009 - 10:20 PM

View PostConductorPete, on Aug 8 2009, 06:54 AM, said:

Thank you holodoc for the information given, may it just be a train station structure
Yep. Category 3 is for trackside structures and buildings, so put your train station in category 3. :pir-wink:

Also, with the change to 8-wide, is it possible to have railings etc. slightly outside the 8 stud limit on an 8-wide model? Just that it was when we were allowed to build a 6-wide MOC.

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#50 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 08 August 2009 - 05:08 AM

View PostLegoJoe, on Aug 4 2009, 08:35 AM, said:

Are you allowed to have something hanging off of an 8-W train that is less than 1 stud, for example a Brick, Modified 1 x 1 with Handle (BL# 2921) with the handle extending over 8-W?
Yes, allowed.

View Postjayhurst, on Aug 5 2009, 12:54 AM, said:

Does the 8 studs refer to all of the engines components? Or, is it just refering to the engine's "main body", or as in the case of steam engines, it's "cab" width?
The main body must be no wider than 8-studs.  A piece or part may extend a little wider.

View Postjayhurst, on Aug 5 2009, 12:54 AM, said:

For steam engines, can the parts that are used in creating the pistons and driverods extend past 8 stud max width? Before answering, I would like to point out that even Lego's Emerald Night has driverods and pistons that stick out to a width of 9 studs+a little extra.
Yes, allowed - just like the Emerald Night.

View Postjayhurst, on Aug 5 2009, 12:54 AM, said:

If running boards are used on a steam engine's boiler, do these also have to be inside the 8 stud max width?
Allowed, but again, the main unit must be no wider than 8-studs.  

View PostCaptain Zuloo, on Aug 5 2009, 02:25 PM, said:

Would I be allowed to enter 2 models of the same loco, in 2 different widths?
No, one entry per person, per category, unless one of them is used for Category 1 with rolling stock, and the other for Category 2.

View PostAgentRick57, on Aug 6 2009, 06:46 PM, said:

For section 1, is it allowed to have a small station platform or loading dock similar to most official Lego sets like in set 7735?
Not part of the judging, but if you want to add for your picture, sure.

View PostRicecracker, on Aug 6 2009, 07:05 PM, said:

1) Can we submit an entry, and change it per C&C as given until the end date?
2) Could I use the same entry in category two as part of my category one entry?
1) As I am predicting quite a few entries, only final entries should be submitted.
2) No.  The main contest rules mention this.  Each category entry must be different.  You can't enter the engine for Category 2 in Category 1.

View PostConductorPete, on Aug 7 2009, 01:58 AM, said:

Regarding to the thing we need t do for this contest, does it have to have a fulll circuit or does it need a normal 4 straights
Tracks are not required, but can be added in your picture.

View PostRandamatrix, on Aug 7 2009, 03:13 AM, said:

In regards to the "only Lego pieces may be used", can we use minifigure arms/hands or remove the wheels from the wheel hubs?
Yes, as these are Lego pieces.

View PostRandamatrix, on Aug 7 2009, 03:13 AM, said:

For Category One, does it have to be a passenger or cargo train? Or can it be a work train like a MOW or snow-clearing train?
Passenger, cargo, or other.

View Postkeetong, on Aug 7 2009, 03:51 AM, said:

Are we allowed to cut piping?(for railings(lego piping))
Are pippings allowed to be on the outside of the 8 stud minimun?
Yes and yes.

View PostCaptain Zuloo, on Aug 7 2009, 02:20 PM, said:

Also, with the change to 8-wide, is it possible to have railings etc. slightly outside the 8 stud limit on an 8-wide model? Just that it was when we were allowed to build a 6-wide MOC.
Yes, you can.

I think I've addressed all the questions.  If I've missed one, please ask again.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users