Jump to content


Train Town 2


8 replies to this topic

#1 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 10 July 2009 - 02:23 PM

Posted Image

Over the past few weeks, I've been expanding my Lego train builds and now have over four trains built in addition to some of the My Own Train rolling stock collection.  Unfortunately, there wasn't enough room for Willoughby and Jeb's Farm, so I had to remove a number of the baseplates as well as the barn and silo to make room for more track.

The picture isn't the best, but this gives you an idea of the new Train Town:

Posted Image

#2 brickfreak99

brickfreak99

    Posts: 105
    Joined: 08-February 09
    Member: 5236

Posted 10 July 2009 - 02:58 PM

Very nice town! I really like towns which have a cool railway like yours. Also, what did you do with the locomotive of 7898?

#3 WhiteFang

WhiteFang

  • Beep beep!


    Posts: 15687
    Joined: 31-December 07
    Member: 2351
    Country: Singapore

Posted 10 July 2009 - 09:38 PM

This is a nice touch, to your new expansion. There is alot of tracks going on both sides, and it looks so much fun controlling them, especially if they are able to move by power or batteries, with those switching tracks. The train shed, train crossing, Classic Town, plus various new City sets, make this setup, nicely integrated together. It's truly inspiring to look at this, and admire your latest tabletop project.  :thumbup:

By the way, did I notice the small Camper Van, at the top left of this image.  :wub:

I just bought that, and I can't wait to build mine as well.  :tongue:

My BrickLink Store // Sign up for Reviewers Academy // Trains & Town Reviews // Black Knights Kingdom (EBRP) // Watch out EB News!

Click here to find out more about WhiteFang


New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


My name is Wilhalm Bloodaxe and I am back to be part of the Ragnarök Now Redux.

Lord Kenneth Valise, Level 1 Knight, 28yrs old human
Power: 4 Health: 10/10 Gold: 10
Inventory: One potion, a Greatsword (WP: 3) and a Shield (SP: 2)


#4 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 11 July 2009 - 01:14 AM

Well done TheBrickster! You have put together an impressive layout there. The design must make it fun to use, that's a great track plan. But I have 2 questions:
    • What is the black plate opposite the train station for?
    • And where does the station line go? Does it join on the other end to the rest of the loop?

    But great job, and I'm sure you're having fun with it. :classic:

    Posted Image

    Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
    www.brickexpo.com.au


    #5 TheBrickster

    TheBrickster

    • Loved Ghost Ranger


      Posts: 9642
      Joined: 15-January 05
      Member: 174

    Posted 11 July 2009 - 05:05 PM

    Thanks for the feedback guys!

     brickfreak99, on Jul 10 2009, 07:58 AM, said:

    what did you do with the locomotive of 7898?
    It's on the left side of the image pulling the MOT collection of rolling stock.  You can see the very end of it in front of the blue/black log car.

     WhiteFang, on Jul 10 2009, 02:38 PM, said:

    By the way, did I notice the small Camper Van, at the top left of this image.  :wub:
    Yes, that's it.  I think it's a great set.

     Captain Zuloo, on Jul 10 2009, 06:14 PM, said:

    What is the black plate opposite the train station for?
    Oh, that's just a baseplate that I placed there to build my next train wagon (safe place so I don't misplace it). :blush:

     Captain Zuloo, on Jul 10 2009, 06:14 PM, said:

    And where does the station line go? Does it join on the other end to the rest of the loop?
    No, unfortunately the train has to be backed up to the station.  The rail ends past the station and crossing.  Placing these buildings are difficult when you have limited space.  I must admit that I don't particularly like the configuration, but I'll re-arrange again.

    Here's another picture that shows the right side of the table a little better:

    Posted Image

    This particular layout allows for one train to be stationary on the outer left side of the track (and another to run on the inside - and interchangeable) - important when you have a few different trains that you'd like to place on a layout without a shunting yard (although the shed and station provide shunting areas and have the 9V locos).  I could have ran two different lines so that both trains could run, but I like for all the rails to be connected.

    It is very difficult to combine buildings and roadplates with track when you have a small layout.  More space is always needed.

    -EDIT-

    Here's another image that shows the layout a little better:

    Posted Image

    #6 paintballman413

    paintballman413

      Posts: 73
      Joined: 22-June 09
      Member: 6474
      Country: United States

    Posted 11 July 2009 - 07:30 PM

    very nice. my train layout is on a table. good job.

    #7 Captain Zuloo

    Captain Zuloo

    • god for 10


      Posts: 4330
      Joined: 19-July 07
      Member: 1816
      Country: Australia

    Posted 12 July 2009 - 09:01 AM

     TheBrickster, on Jul 12 2009, 03:05 AM, said:

    No, unfortunately the train has to be backed up to the station.  The rail ends past the station and crossing.  Placing these buildings are difficult when you have limited space.  I must admit that I don't particularly like the configuration, but I'll re-arrange again.
    I would suggest using some buffers. Without them, the track just kind of stops, with them, I think it adds some realism. It's rare that you'll find train tracks without buffers on busy lines.  Below are some photos (although not very good ones) of what I've done for buffers:

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Posted Image

    Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
    www.brickexpo.com.au


    #8 brickfreak99

    brickfreak99

      Posts: 105
      Joined: 08-February 09
      Member: 5236

    Posted 12 July 2009 - 09:26 AM

    I think you should add the silo and stable to your train layout. You could make it so that rolling stock (more specifically the hopper wagon) can pass under the silo and receive it's contents.

    #9 TheBrickster

    TheBrickster

    • Loved Ghost Ranger


      Posts: 9642
      Joined: 15-January 05
      Member: 174

    Posted 12 July 2009 - 05:23 PM

     Captain Zuloo, on Jul 12 2009, 01:01 AM, said:

    I would suggest using some buffers. Without them, the track just kind of stops, with them, I think it adds some realism.
    Good tip - thanks.  I have at least one from the Cargo Train set (4512) that I meant to break out (under a stack of boxes).  Buffers do add a nice quality to the end of the track.

     brickfreak99, on Jul 12 2009, 01:26 AM, said:

    I think you should add the silo and stable to your train layout. You could make it so that rolling stock (more specifically the hopper wagon) can pass under the silo and receive it's contents.
    I actually tried.  Two of my trains are a bit too tall and crashed through both the silo and the barn.  The stables are on the far left front of the table - jusy can't see them in the image.



    Reply to this topic



      


    0 user(s) are reading this topic

    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users