Sign in to follow this  
Walter Kovacs

MOC: Santa Fe FP-45 WIP

traintech1.jpg

My father-in-law is a complete train nut. His favorite line is the Santa Fe. A few weeks ago we took a trip to Chicago to visit a train museum just west of the city. (We also paid a visit to the LEGOLand Discovery Center there XD ). I only saw one Santa Fe engine there, but I managed to take a few pictures of it. Here is one of them. That woild be my father-in-law and my son in the picture. I also have been using photos gleaned from the internet, like this one.

As we were leaving Chicago for home I had a brainstorm. Why not reproduce the engine we saw in the museum in LEGO for Christmas. Had I thought of it earlier, I would have taken many more photos. Here is the result of my design, using MLCad. I apologize for those that dislike MLCad, but in this case it really helps cut down on unnecessary Bricklink Orders.

Side View:

a.jpg

This is my first attempt at a train engine, so I would appreciate plenty of comments from everyone, especially those who are more experienced designing trains.

Front View:

fp-45_front.jpg

I plan on using some custom stickers to add the Santa Fe on the sides and the yellow symbol on the front end.

Back:

fp-45_back.jpg

Here is where I really could have used an extra photo or three. I have no idea what the back end of the engine is supposed to look like. I took my best shot, but this design can certainly be improved upon.

Top:

fp-45_top.jpg

I could use a little guidance onthe top as well. I made a few assumptions that there would be some exhaust fans, and addd a few grills, but if any other details would help, I'd appreciate the comments.

Side from Back:

fp-45_back_side.jpg

Like I said, I intend to build this in time for Christmas, so I have plenty of time to make adjustments to the design. I would like it to be the best it can be.

As always, questions, comments and criticisms are always welcome.

The Brickshelf Gallery, when public.