Jump to content


Does the LEGO Pirate Forum take too long to load?


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic  – Started by Mister Phes , Sep 25 2008 10:37 AM

Poll: How does it perform? (36 member(s) have cast votes)

Does the Pirate Forum take too long to load?

  1. Yes, much too long (10 votes [27.78%])

    Percentage of vote: 27.78%

  2. Yes, but the graphics are worth it (3 votes [8.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 8.33%

  3. The load time is reasonable (8 votes [22.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 22.22%

  4. No, loads quickly for me (15 votes [41.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 41.67%

How fast is your Internet connection?

  1. Less than 128K or dial up (2 votes [7.14%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.14%

  2. 256K (1 votes [3.57%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.57%

  3. 512K to 768K (9 votes [32.14%])

    Percentage of vote: 32.14%

  4. 1500K (2 votes [7.14%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.14%

  5. Greater than 1500K (14 votes [50.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 50.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Mister Phes

Mister Phes
  • WordPress Wizard


    Posts: 20385
    Joined: 19-March 05
    Member: 273

Posted 25 September 2008 - 10:37 AM

Posted Image


Click Here to vote in more Polls!!!


Does the LEGO Pirate Forum take too long to load?


One of the things that concerns me is the amount of take it takes the LEGO Pirates Forum skin to load.  The first time it loads on my system (i.e. after a fresh Windows install) it may take a little long, but after the images are cached it's not too bad,  of course this may not be the case for everyone else.

The main loading hazard is the background with the sky, horizon and sea, remove that image and the forum skin will load noticeably faster but the downside is it won't look as nice.

And yes, the eBay Advetisements may add to the load time but they can be turned off at any time.

So now it's your turn, share your thoughts on the load time of the Pirate Forum skin.

#2 Guss

Guss
  • One armed pirate


    Posts: 2649
    Joined: 05-September 08
    Member: 3895
    Country: Switzerland

Posted 25 September 2008 - 11:28 AM

I delete my cache sometimes, and I don't think that's long to load, I never had to wait, It takes 3-5 seconds when the template is not cached, when it is, it takes not enough times to count :P
Posted Image

#3 Gen. Knowledge

Gen. Knowledge

    Posts: 169
    Joined: 29-July 08
    Member: 3603

Posted 25 September 2008 - 11:36 AM

I've notice that the last couple of weeks there seems to be a lag when refreshing the Pirate Forum.  Also, the threads where you post the eBay finds seem to take much longer to load.  I'm sure most of the lag comes from members that post images that are too large.


Tony

Posted Image     Posted Image          Posted Image


#4 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 12:00 PM

Mine loads as fast as i can click so no problems over here...Off course I must say both my computer (Quadcore 2.66/4Gigs Superfast 1333Mhz Ram, 2X1024Mb graphic cards in SLI mode , 10.000RPM HD's,...) AND my internet connection (20Mbps, the fastest non-professional broadband we can get in Belgium) are quite fast! (HEY MY BRO OWS A PC-STORE :pir-devil: )

Sorry, I just couldnt let the oportunity pass by to bragg about my desktop :pir-blush:

#5 Guss

Guss
  • One armed pirate


    Posts: 2649
    Joined: 05-September 08
    Member: 3895
    Country: Switzerland

Posted 25 September 2008 - 12:05 PM

Quote

Sorry, I just couldnt let the oportunity pass by to bragg about my desktop
Arg I missed mine^^ I also have a good computer, I owned a Pc-store in Marseille, when I closed the store definitively , I took the best parts for myself :P
Posted Image

#6 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 12:46 PM

View PostGuss, on Sep 25 2008, 02:05 PM, said:

Arg I missed mine^^ I also have a good computer, I owned a Pc-store in Marseille, when I closed the store definitively , I took the best parts for myself :P

You Darn PIRATE !

I checked: it took 0.2029 sec  to load this page!

#7 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo
  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 25 September 2008 - 01:08 PM

I find it seems to take a huge amount of time when refreshing, but other than that it is fine for me.

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#8 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 01:16 PM

TO HIS MAYESTY: THE FIRST ROYAL-IMPERIAL-SUPREME-LORD-ADMIRAL-FIST MARSHALL OF THE STATE-MISTER PHESS:

Cant we all post our loading times that show up down here??

Could that be a manner to determine how fast everything loads? Or does this only show some things?

#9 furious

furious

    Posts: 114
    Joined: 08-September 08
    Member: 3903

Posted 25 September 2008 - 01:16 PM

It takes a long time here in Australia.  :pir-oh:

#10 Mister Phes

Mister Phes
  • WordPress Wizard


    Posts: 20385
    Joined: 19-March 05
    Member: 273

Posted 25 September 2008 - 01:42 PM

View PostGen. Knowledge, on Sep 25 2008, 09:36 PM, said:

I've notice that the last couple of weeks there seems to be a lag when refreshing the Pirate Forum.  Also, the threads where you post the eBay finds seem to take much longer to load.  I'm sure most of the lag comes from members that post images that are too large.
Large pictures will slow down the loading in any forum, so base your conclusions on the time it takes the main Pirate Forum to download.


View Postzorro3999, on Sep 25 2008, 11:16 PM, said:

Cant we all post our loading times that show up down here??  Could that be a manner to determine how fast everything loads? Or does this only show some things?
A precise loading time probably isn't necessary, but then again it could help.  What may be helpful is if users included their Internet connection speed.


View Postfurious, on Sep 25 2008, 11:16 PM, said:

It takes a long time here in Australia.  :pir-oh:
Well Australia is about 5 years behind in Internet technology so what do you expect?   :pir_laugh2:

#11 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo
  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 25 September 2008 - 01:48 PM

View PostMister Phes, on Sep 25 2008, 11:42 PM, said:

Well Australia is about 5 years behind in Internet technology so what do you expect? :pir_laugh2:


Hey watch what you. sa... Oh. You're in Australia too. Never mind. :pir_laugh2:

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#12 Bonaparte

Bonaparte
  • Christmas Moose


    Posts: 14586
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 02:00 PM

I've got a DSL line of 4M and everything loads very fast.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.



Posted Image



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here



Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide






#13 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 03:11 PM

View PostBonaparte, on Sep 25 2008, 04:00 PM, said:

I've got a DSL line of 4M and everything loads very fast.

20.000 ! but i cant vote anymore, cause I voted earlier on.

ive got Telenet Turbonet: thats a cable connection of 20Mbps and 1Mbps Upload
we have our own server :-) so every one of my pc has these speeds!

And as said: it loads faster then i can read it  :pir-grin:

Where is the server located BTW?

Edited by zorro3999, 25 September 2008 - 03:16 PM.


#14 RocketSeason

RocketSeason

    Posts: 118
    Joined: 30-August 08
    Member: 3856

Posted 25 September 2008 - 04:29 PM

This is weird:  I click on the forums tab on the classic-pirates.com frontpage and I get this error: Firefox can't find the server at forum.classic-pirates.com.

weird.

#15 Tenorikuma

Tenorikuma

    Posts: 113
    Joined: 13-July 08
    Member: 3517
    Country: Japan

Posted 25 September 2008 - 05:19 PM

It's not just the Pirates forum; all the Eurobricks forums are slow. Let's face it; Eurobricks's server or ISP sucks. Just loading this page took several minutes, and the site fails to load at all about 50% of the time. I'm on a fast fibre connection and can download torrents at over a megabyte per second, so the problem's not on my end.

My daily browsing habit is:
1. Try refreshing the Eurobricks main page.
2. Go have coffee.
3. Open interesting Eurobricks forum threads in tabs.
4. Read all my other websites.
5. Go back to see if the Eurobricks forum pages have finally finished loading.

#16 Guss

Guss
  • One armed pirate


    Posts: 2649
    Joined: 05-September 08
    Member: 3895
    Country: Switzerland

Posted 25 September 2008 - 05:19 PM

In switzerland , ISP are very expensive, so I only have a 4Mbit DL / 512k UP , but the website is fast enough for me^^ and If australian have some difficulty with the site, maybe It's because it's hosted in europe , isn't it ?
Posted Image

#17 Bonaparte

Bonaparte
  • Christmas Moose


    Posts: 14586
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 06:30 PM

View PostTenorikuma, on Sep 25 2008, 06:19 PM, said:

It's not just the Pirates forum; all the Eurobricks forums are slow. Let's face it; Eurobricks's server or ISP sucks. Just loading this page took several minutes, and the site fails to load at all about 50% of the time. I'm on a fast fibre connection and can download torrents at over a megabyte per second, so the problem's not on my end.

My daily browsing habit is:
1. Try refreshing the Eurobricks main page.
2. Go have coffee.
3. Open interesting Eurobricks forum threads in tabs.
4. Read all my other websites.
5. Go back to see if the Eurobricks forum pages have finally finished loading.

Is it correct that you are living in Japan?

It's very strange to hear how slow EBs is for you. Our server is located in Germany and for me (I live in Belgium) Eurobricks is loading incredibly fast. Really speed of light. So the problem is for sure not our server. I doubt if there is anything we can do to improve this for you.

This thread is producing some useful feedback. I'm planning to do a poll like this one for the entire Eurobricks forum in the near future and maybe put it on our headlines to maximize the number of people giving their feedback.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.



Posted Image



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here



Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide






#18 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 06:37 PM

My daily browsing habit is:
1. Try refreshing the Eurobricks main page.
2. Go have coffee.
3. Open interesting Eurobricks forum threads in tabs.
4. Read all my other websites.
5. Go back to see if the Eurobricks forum pages have finally finished loading.


I dont get it, truly i dont... it almost litteraly FLASHES on my PC

Is the server located in Belgium or Holland or something??

#19 Bonaparte

Bonaparte
  • Christmas Moose


    Posts: 14586
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 06:42 PM

View Postzorro3999, on Sep 25 2008, 07:37 PM, said:

I dont get it, truly i dont... it almost litteraly FLASHES on my PC

Is the server located in Belgium or Holland or something??

View PostBonaparte, on Sep 25 2008, 07:30 PM, said:

Our server is located in Germany and for me (I live in Belgium) Eurobricks is loading incredibly fast.

Read my friend  :pir-tongue:

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.



Posted Image



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here



Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide






#20 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 06:59 PM

View PostBonaparte, on Sep 25 2008, 08:42 PM, said:

Read my friend  :pir-tongue:

I was typing myself when you posted it, so i couldnt have seen it....  :pir_bawling:
good for us its located in germany !

Edited by zorro3999, 25 September 2008 - 07:04 PM.


#21 Voodoo Hand

Voodoo Hand

    Posts: 218
    Joined: 06-September 07
    Member: 1948
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 25 September 2008 - 09:27 PM

no problems, but sometimes it seems it laggs a little bit.
"If Germany starts bombing, The Brittish run.
If the Brittish start to bomb, the germans run.
If the Americans start to bomb.... Everyone runs!"
~Winston Churchill~

Posted Image
Belgica Foederata
My Brickshelf
My MOC Pages

#22 Guss

Guss
  • One armed pirate


    Posts: 2649
    Joined: 05-September 08
    Member: 3895
    Country: Switzerland

Posted 25 September 2008 - 09:33 PM

Unfortunately people that are at the other side of the world ( Australia, Japan, China... ) will have trouble connecting to Eurobricks because of the distance :/ that's sad :/
Posted Image

#23 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 25 September 2008 - 09:44 PM

View PostGuss, on Sep 25 2008, 11:33 PM, said:

Unfortunately people that are at the other side of the world ( Australia, Japan, China... ) will have trouble connecting to Eurobricks because of the distance :/ that's sad :/

Why dont you guys over there work together and place ya own server?? :pir-grin:

:pir_kiss:  from Belgium !

#24 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo
  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 25 September 2008 - 11:32 PM

View PostGuss, on Sep 26 2008, 07:33 AM, said:

Unfortunately people that are at the other side of the world ( Australia, Japan, China... ) will have trouble connecting to Eurobricks because of the distance :/ that's sad :/

But the site is worth the wait. Anyway, I'm off on a voyage today, and I won't get to the internet for two weeks unless I can get to the local library. So good luck with you competition entries, and I look foward to my return! :pir-tongue:

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#25 Zorro

Zorro
  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 26 September 2008 - 12:14 AM

Is there ANYTHING that can be done to let the site load faster for our brothers on the other side on the world, except for removing items or wallpapers, or the methods provided?

Is there a possibility for volunteer-based server addition by members of the staff,... ???

View PostCaptain Zuloo, on Sep 26 2008, 01:32 AM, said:

But the site is worth the wait. Anyway, I'm off on a voyage today, and I won't get to the internet for two weeks unless I can get to the local library. So good luck with you competition entries, and I look foward to my return! :pir-tongue:
Whoaaahhaahhh :pir_bawling:  I will miss you! Who is going to answer my questions now nd play with me? :pir_bawling:
And I love it how you somethimes "annoy" me! Please "annoy" me one last time before you leave! :pir_bawling:

Have a great voyage ! Do(nt) get stuck on an island !

Edited by zorro3999, 26 September 2008 - 12:15 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sponsored Links