Jump to content


9v remote controlled switch


22 replies to this topic

#1 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 14 September 2008 - 01:03 PM

Posted Image

Call me lazy, but is there already a topic for a remote controlled 9v switch?

I've designed one by myself. I saw at brickshelf that most designs have the similar problem. When the 9v motor runs, it can damage the structure. I've made a safety in it, where the 9v motor can run forever without damage the structure of the switch. I will explain it later with pic's of my design.

#2 Freddie

Freddie

    Posts: 871
    Joined: 16-February 06
    Member: 670
    Country: Norway

Posted 14 September 2008 - 07:17 PM

If there is a topic on this, it's long gone - I guess that justifies starting a new topic.

I bet there are many people out there, including me, interested in your design, more spesifically the safety aspect of it. It's particularily interesting in use of semi-automatic train-layouts, where switching must be done by motors rather than hand, while wanting the device to function without breaking anything.

So do tell us, we're all ears eyes!  :classic:

#3 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 15 September 2008 - 12:32 PM

Which program is used to make virtual lego models? Then I can show you people what mine desgin is.

#4 Freddie

Freddie

    Posts: 871
    Joined: 16-February 06
    Member: 670
    Country: Norway

Posted 15 September 2008 - 07:28 PM

MLCad, which is available here, is a good one. It's anything but fast, but is relatively easy and gives the user pretty much total control. Plus it has most bricks that have probably existed.

Edit: Oops. My bad!  :blush:

Edited by Freddie, 17 September 2008 - 03:05 PM.


#5 JopieK

JopieK

  • Kneecap Buster


    Posts: 2411
    Joined: 04-January 07
    Member: 1180
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2008 - 06:50 AM

View PostFreddie, on Sep 15 2008, 09:28 PM, said:

MLCad, which is available here, is a good one. It's anything but fast, but is relatively easy and gives the user pretty much total control. Plus it has most bricks that have probably existed.


I like Bricksmith better ;) Very good control, no large bugs detected so far. But it only runs on fine unix systems and not on inferior computers ;)

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help?Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


Posted Image

-== Classic LEGO trains are the best ==-

Do you need replacement stickers for LEGO (reproductions and customs): ministickers.nl

What then about the LEGuanO?!


#6 Aliencat

Aliencat

  • The Modular Meow


    Posts: 208
    Joined: 07-September 08
    Member: 3902
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2008 - 11:39 AM

View PostJopieK, on Sep 16 2008, 08:50 AM, said:

I like Bricksmith better ;) Very good control, no large bugs detected so far. But it only runs on fine unix systems and not on inferior computers ;)
I'm sure this was very useful information for Panda9001100 :)

Edited by Aliencat, 16 September 2008 - 11:50 AM.

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#7 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2008 - 04:07 PM

View PostFreddie, on Sep 15 2008, 09:28 PM, said:

MLCad, which is available here, is a good one. It's anything but fast, but is relatively easy and gives the user pretty much total control. Plus it has most bricks that have probably existed.
Or is it me or something else, but that doesn't work. Are you sure this is the right link? If I've installed MLCad, then I can show you how mine design is.

And most pc's (including mine) running with Windows XP ;) .

#8 Aliencat

Aliencat

  • The Modular Meow


    Posts: 208
    Joined: 07-September 08
    Member: 3902
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2008 - 04:41 PM

View PostPanda9001100, on Sep 16 2008, 06:07 PM, said:

Or is it me or something else, but that doesn't work. Are you sure this is the right link? If I've installed MLCad, then I can show you how mine design is.
Haha I think Freddie made a little copy/paste mistake. Here's the link to the MLCad website ;)

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#9 CP5670

CP5670

  • In search of litmus paper


    Posts: 2481
    Joined: 02-February 08
    Member: 2646
    Country: United States

Posted 16 September 2008 - 06:47 PM

I use MLCad, but it does have some issues. The software renderer looks bad and slows down to a crawl when you have thousands of pieces on the screen, even on very fast processors. If they ever make a Windows port of that Bricksmith program, I'll need to check it out.

There is another program out there called Leocad which has a better renderer and interface, but it doesn't run off the LDraw parts library and has a more limited selection. LDD has a nice renderer but its parts selection is very limited and only has the parts that are on PAB at the time.

#10 highlandcattle

highlandcattle

    Posts: 558
    Joined: 04-July 06
    Member: 839

Posted 16 September 2008 - 09:02 PM

I would be very interested! I already saw your pictures on Brickshelf.
My Bricklink My Flickr
My Trains:
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image  Posted Image
Thank you PaulC

#11 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2008 - 10:01 PM

Can someone explain and/or help how to install this virtual building program?

#12 JopieK

JopieK

  • Kneecap Buster


    Posts: 2411
    Joined: 04-January 07
    Member: 1180
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 17 September 2008 - 06:01 PM

you got the link in some other forum, use the second one since the first was no good.

don't be lazy, just try first www.ldraw.org gives more than enough information, I could give you a lecture of course, but then you might need to enroll at our College (Zwolle so not so far ;)).

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help?Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


Posted Image

-== Classic LEGO trains are the best ==-

Do you need replacement stickers for LEGO (reproductions and customs): ministickers.nl

What then about the LEGuanO?!


#13 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 17 September 2008 - 07:22 PM

Program is running. Now I would like to know how I can put parts in like a 12v trainmotor  :classic: .

#14 Freddie

Freddie

    Posts: 871
    Joined: 16-February 06
    Member: 670
    Country: Norway

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:10 PM

Some parts need to be downloaded separatly from the program; this is also done at LDraw's website, via the Parts tracker. Pay attention to where you put the files, as not all of them, especially the sub-parts, go into the parts-folder. This is indicated at each part's download page (and in the list as well, I think).

#15 JopieK

JopieK

  • Kneecap Buster


    Posts: 2411
    Joined: 04-January 07
    Member: 1180
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 18 September 2008 - 06:09 AM

note: also remember to 'rescan' your catalog in MLCad.

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help?Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


Posted Image

-== Classic LEGO trains are the best ==-

Do you need replacement stickers for LEGO (reproductions and customs): ministickers.nl

What then about the LEGuanO?!


#16 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 21 September 2008 - 07:16 AM

Finally I have the design made. The white tooth clutch I used is the safety part, which protect that the structure can't be pull apart through the power of the 9v motor.

Posted Image

Then I used some tooth for a slowdown the switching part and tooth bevel to show me where the train will go. I've put this part at top, used in 12v trains:

Posted Image

Here the pic's of the design:

Posted Image

Posted Image

What you people think of this design? Only I'm not very happy with the little house I made around it. I would like to know what you people think also of the little house around it.

Edited by Panda9001100, 21 September 2008 - 07:17 AM.


#17 JopieK

JopieK

  • Kneecap Buster


    Posts: 2411
    Joined: 04-January 07
    Member: 1180
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 21 September 2008 - 09:52 AM

it will work that way of course, but it is a huge switch, if you have let's say 20 switches on you track then it is starting to draw too much attention, isn't it?!

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help?Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


Posted Image

-== Classic LEGO trains are the best ==-

Do you need replacement stickers for LEGO (reproductions and customs): ministickers.nl

What then about the LEGuanO?!


#18 Freddie

Freddie

    Posts: 871
    Joined: 16-February 06
    Member: 670
    Country: Norway

Posted 21 September 2008 - 10:15 AM

I'm guessing that most of the switches will be permanently set, so the course won't be altered much. Not that it makes it useless, oh no! It'd be very useful in automated layouts, where switches at train stations need to be set whenever a train stops and a new train is due to enter the loop. I probably would have used a wormgear for the reduction needed, plus it would compact the entire design. I do like the fact that this one has a display to show how the switch is set.

Two questions though; is the clutch strong enough to overcome the torque needed to set the switch? And how, exactly, does it operate the switch?

#19 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 21 September 2008 - 11:28 AM

Well, I didn't have a wormgear. Otherwise I used that piece, maybe in near future I try with it. Hopefully the building will be much smaller then it's right now.

I've modified the switch like this:
Posted Image

So, it's strong enough overcome the torque needed to set the switch. I use mine own design to change the polarity for the power:

Posted Image

#20 highlandcattle

highlandcattle

    Posts: 558
    Joined: 04-July 06
    Member: 839

Posted 21 September 2008 - 12:30 PM

I use this type of switch and it works like  charm and you do not neet to modify a single parts.
Posted Image
My Bricklink My Flickr
My Trains:
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image  Posted Image
Thank you PaulC

#21 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 21 September 2008 - 01:26 PM

The nice thing of my design is, the 9v motor can run forever. Even when the switch thing is finshed.

When I look at your design, I wonder what happens of you keep the 9v motor running? Is the motor you used a strong one? You need a lot of force to change the switch without modify it.

#22 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 11 May 2009 - 06:02 AM

Finally one switch is connected to my controlpanel and it works beautifully. When the switch is finished with switching, the 9v motor can run further without damage the little controlhouse beside it.

I will make a movie to show how it works, but I can't upload it at brickshelf. Just send an email to me and I send the movie to you.

#23 AFOL12v

AFOL12v

    Posts: 669
    Joined: 26-August 06
    Member: 921
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 15 May 2009 - 07:04 AM

Sorry. I can't make a clear video form how this switch works. But you can visit me to see how it works :grin: .



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users