Jump to content


All replies are suddenly "branching tree" variety?


87 replies to this topic

#1 Morgan19

Morgan19

    Posts: 247
    Joined: 22-March 05
    Member: 276
    Country: USA

Posted 09 May 2008 - 10:57 PM

Okay, I can't figure this one out... My last visit to EB was a couple days ago and everything was fine. I came back today and now suddenly all threads just show the OP, then with a "branching tree" of replies underneath it, sort of like Bricklink's or Lugnet's boards, instead of displaying all replies "normally" like the OP.

Is this a setting somewhere that somehow changed itself and I just don't see? :cry_sad: I sincerely hope this isn't a required change with the new boards... I much prefer showing all replies at once without having a tree to click through, and am hoping it's just a hard-to-find setting somewhere.

Looks like this:

Posted Image

m19

Edited by Morgan19, 09 May 2008 - 11:03 PM.


#2 trooperdavinfelth

trooperdavinfelth

    Posts: 1739
    Joined: 09-January 07
    Member: 1223
    Country: Angmar

Posted 09 May 2008 - 11:05 PM

Check your profile; it HAS to be in there. I've already visited several topics here and they aren't in this style. :wink:

Overturn every rock and stone there; leave NOTHING untouched in your profile! :grin:
Join the Clone Commando Pod Republic Commando Clan!
In which users from all over the world join to share their love of Star Wars: Republic Commando!

Join the Clone Army Builders Guild!
In which users from across the globe come together to share their love of Lego Star Wars and MOCing!



For gosh's sakes, people! THEY ARE PRELIMINARY!

On the semi-crappy looking early 2009 sets.

#3 Hinckley

Hinckley

  • Long Ranger Constraction


    Posts: 29366
    Joined: 15-September 05
    Member: 486
    Country: Chicago, USA

Posted 10 May 2008 - 06:01 AM

You've somehow switched to either linear or outline, I can't remember which is which. But the option is in your options list in the top right hand corner of any topic's first post. Click the options button, the drop-down menu pops-up > under Display modes switch to Standard

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide



Posted Image Posted Image


#4 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19313
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 10 May 2008 - 06:13 AM

Oh sorry. I was going to reply to this but I forgot. Hinckley is right; somehow you have switched to Outline mode. I really should use that mode occasionally.





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#5 Morgan19

Morgan19

    Posts: 247
    Joined: 22-March 05
    Member: 276
    Country: USA

Posted 10 May 2008 - 02:15 PM

Huh, weird. I know for a fact I've never gone into that options dropdown (given that I didn't even know it was there) and amn't sure how that switched itself around, but have it fixed now. Thanks for pointing that out-- I was looking through options in my profile and never thought to look in the actual thread.

m19

#6 SlyOwl

SlyOwl

  • Watch out for Infuriated Isaac's metatarsal!


    Posts: 2467
    Joined: 07-October 07
    Member: 2057
    Country: England

Posted 02 July 2008 - 06:36 PM

View PostMorgan19, on May 10 2008, 03:15 PM, said:

Huh, weird. I know for a fact I've never gone into that options dropdown (given that I didn't even know it was there) and amn't sure how that switched itself around, but have it fixed now. Thanks for pointing that out-- I was looking through options in my profile and never thought to look in the actual thread.
Don't worry - it happened to me just now. I was googling "Flying Pirate Ship" and Mr Tiber's Hinckley's one came up. I clicked on the image, closed the resulting frame, to give the EB thread, and I'd switched to linear :wacko:
Things to come? Maybee

To the barricades!
Posted Image


#7 Shoc

Shoc

  • ........................... ............Smartblocks


    Posts: 1085
    Joined: 24-February 08
    Member: 2806
    Country: Land of Eng

Posted 02 July 2008 - 07:14 PM

It did that to me once, which was annoying, it took ages to find this topic, search was no good!  :hmpf_bad:

View PostSlyOwl, on Jul 2 2008, 07:36 PM, said:

Things to come? Maybee
What do you mean?

:skull:

#8 Admiral Blockbeard

Admiral Blockbeard

  • Cat Lover


    Posts: 933
    Joined: 10-March 08
    Member: 2872

Posted 03 July 2008 - 09:22 AM

some users use the forum in this function, then when you conduct a search on a search engine and it comes up with that posters post, it will go to that setting, then when you leave that, your stuck with that old setting, it happened to me too! and this was the best explanation i could come up with, i could be wrong but i think i am in the ball park!

i found my answer/solution after looking at the options tab so i was fine in a short while but for that split second i thought OHH NO, i realy hope this forum never makes it the standard setting, it confuses me too much...

Regards Cpt. PB

Posted Image


#9 MoonCheese

MoonCheese

    Posts: 155
    Joined: 29-March 08
    Member: 2952

Posted 16 July 2008 - 02:54 PM

Yeah, I never liked those "threaded" forums. I'm used to posts all being in a continuous coliumn, not some being considered "replies" to earlier specific posts rather than the thread in general. I don't know if that style is from Usenet or something...I started posting at forums in 2002 when it was already dying out at most places. Alkthough I'm not used to forums with zillions of features in general...one of my first forums didn't allow avatars, images, formatting (even stuff like bold or italics), quoting, etc. and now almost all forums are overblown with way too many settings for me.

Edited by MoonCheese, 16 July 2008 - 02:54 PM.

Liek wutz a sig neway?

#10 Joey Lock

Joey Lock

  • Captain Blue Hair drives a pink scooter!


    Posts: 2847
    Joined: 22-July 07
    Member: 1823
    Country: Rule Britannia!

Posted 24 July 2008 - 03:16 PM

Since yesterday when I go onto a Thread it doesnt show the Pages of Replies, It shows the Original Post and at the bottom it shows the Names of the people and there beginings of there posts. Is it a New thing? If so its extremely annoying!
Posted Image



Help? Thanks  :thumbup:

Posted Image

God save the gracious King,
Long live the noble King,
God save the King:
Send him victorious,
Happy and glorious,
Long to reign over us:
God save the King.

Posted Image


#11 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19313
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 24 July 2008 - 03:26 PM

You've switched your view to "outline" or "linear". Go to "Options" on this page and switch back to standard.





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#12 WhiteFang

WhiteFang

  • Beep beep!


    Posts: 15781
    Joined: 31-December 07
    Member: 2351
    Country: Singapore

Posted 24 July 2008 - 03:28 PM

Hello Joey Lock,

I believe you had selected "Outline" mode in the options.

You will be able to locate the options button the right hand side of each individual topic. Within that options button, there are few useful features in there. Look below, and you will notice the "Display Mode".

The format, which we are familar with is the "Standard" mode. You can adjust the display settings via there. Hope this answer of mine, is useful to you. Do post back here, if you have any more doubts.  :wink:

WhiteFang

Edit: Sinner is faster than me.  :tongue:

Edited by WhiteFang, 24 July 2008 - 03:29 PM.

My BrickLink Store // Sign up for Reviewers Academy // Trains & Town Reviews // Black Knights Kingdom (EBRP) // Watch out EB News!

Click here to find out more about WhiteFang


New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


My name is Wilhalm Bloodaxe and I am back to be part of the Ragnarök Now Redux.

Lord Kenneth Valise, Level 1 Knight, 28yrs old human
Power: 4 Health: 10/10 Gold: 10
Inventory: One potion, a Greatsword (WP: 3) and a Shield (SP: 2)


#13 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19313
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 24 July 2008 - 03:32 PM

View PostWhiteFang, on Jul 25 2008, 12:28 AM, said:

Edit: Sinner is faster than me.  :tongue:
Ahhh, but you've given the better answer.  :tongue: I'm going to merge this with the last topic like this.  :wink:





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#14 Joey Lock

Joey Lock

  • Captain Blue Hair drives a pink scooter!


    Posts: 2847
    Joined: 22-July 07
    Member: 1823
    Country: Rule Britannia!

Posted 24 July 2008 - 03:39 PM

View PostSinner, on Jul 24 2008, 04:32 PM, said:

Ahhh, but you've given the better answer.  :tongue: I'm going to merge this with the last topic like this.  :wink:
Thanks Guys!

Posted Image

God save the gracious King,
Long live the noble King,
God save the King:
Send him victorious,
Happy and glorious,
Long to reign over us:
God save the King.

Posted Image


#15 filefolders

filefolders

    Posts: 158
    Joined: 08-February 08
    Member: 2695

Posted 03 August 2008 - 11:30 PM

This happened to me too.  I was browsing and all was well when it switched for some reason, weird.  Thanks for the help.

Edit:  I just remembered this was after coming to the site from Google.  Weird stuff.

Edited by filefolders, 03 August 2008 - 11:32 PM.

I am a fanatical purist.  Keep your evil decals and Brick Arms away from me.

I got a MOC Page!  Look at my mediocre creations!

Like KoTOR II but think is seems rushed?  The fine folks at Team Gizka are out to fix it!

#16 pesgores

pesgores

    Posts: 92
    Joined: 06-February 08
    Member: 2683

Posted 04 October 2008 - 11:20 AM

Sorry for my newbism, but why putting the posts on a list instead of showing them all? Is there a way to change it?

#17 pesgores

pesgores

    Posts: 92
    Joined: 06-February 08
    Member: 2683

Posted 04 October 2008 - 12:11 PM

Nevermind, i just found out what to do...

#18 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19313
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 04 October 2008 - 12:24 PM

View PostBobaFett95, on Oct 4 2008, 09:11 PM, said:

Nevermind, i just found out what to do...
Good work!  :sweet: Since your problem seemed to be the old "I've switched to Outline" problem I've merged it with the mega topic...





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#19 Specever

Specever

    Posts: 72
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4960
    Country: Germany.

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:15 AM

Each forum shows no other posts unless I click one of these:

Posted Image

How do I fix this?

Posted Image

TOTAL FEEDBACK AS OF NOW: 1. Positive.

#20 Zorro

Zorro

  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:17 AM

Options(above the thread on the right) - Switch to standard.

#21 WhiteFang

WhiteFang

  • Beep beep!


    Posts: 15781
    Joined: 31-December 07
    Member: 2351
    Country: Singapore

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:34 AM

Hello Specever,

I could not view the image which you have posted, but based on Zorro's response, I assumed you have a problem with the display format between standard and outline. You may have click it accidently. Take a look at this topic, and let me know if this is the problem which you have encountered. If so, let me know if you have resolve it as well. Once this is done, I will move and merge this topic to the Website and Forums.

Take a look at here

WhiteFang

My BrickLink Store // Sign up for Reviewers Academy // Trains & Town Reviews // Black Knights Kingdom (EBRP) // Watch out EB News!

Click here to find out more about WhiteFang


New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


My name is Wilhalm Bloodaxe and I am back to be part of the Ragnarök Now Redux.

Lord Kenneth Valise, Level 1 Knight, 28yrs old human
Power: 4 Health: 10/10 Gold: 10
Inventory: One potion, a Greatsword (WP: 3) and a Shield (SP: 2)


#22 Specever

Specever

    Posts: 72
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4960
    Country: Germany.

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:46 AM

View PostWhiteFang, on Jan 19 2009, 08:34 PM, said:

Hello Specever,

I could not view the image which you have posted, but based on Zorro's response, I assumed you have a problem with the display format between standard and outline. You may have click it accidently. Take a look at this topic, and let me know if this is the problem which you have encountered. If so, let me know if you have resolve it as well. Once this is done, I will move and merge this topic to the Website and Forums.

Take a look at here

WhiteFang

G'day,

I have already fixed this problem via Zorro's response. Thank you anyway.

Posted Image

TOTAL FEEDBACK AS OF NOW: 1. Positive.

#23 WhiteFang

WhiteFang

  • Beep beep!


    Posts: 15781
    Joined: 31-December 07
    Member: 2351
    Country: Singapore

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:58 AM

View PostSpecever, on Jan 20 2009, 09:46 AM, said:

I have already fixed this problem via Zorro's response. Thank you anyway.
Glad to know that the problem is fixed. I will merged and moved your topic to the correct location.

My BrickLink Store // Sign up for Reviewers Academy // Trains & Town Reviews // Black Knights Kingdom (EBRP) // Watch out EB News!

Click here to find out more about WhiteFang


New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


My name is Wilhalm Bloodaxe and I am back to be part of the Ragnarök Now Redux.

Lord Kenneth Valise, Level 1 Knight, 28yrs old human
Power: 4 Health: 10/10 Gold: 10
Inventory: One potion, a Greatsword (WP: 3) and a Shield (SP: 2)


#24 Ratshot

Ratshot

  • Thank you for your contributions!


    Posts: 3156
    Joined: 24-December 08
    Member: 4799
    Country: Canada

Posted 15 February 2009 - 09:08 PM

Today when I was looking at the front page on Classic Pirates, I clicked on "discussion forum" then clicked on a topic, when I started to scroll down the page I noticed that all the posts were were under this thing called "Posts in this topic" In order to see the posts I had to click on them individually . Note, this is not what I want and I am not sure if I did this unintentionally or if the site has changed it. I f I can change this please give me instructions on how to.

Edited by Broadside, 15 February 2009 - 09:10 PM.

My flickr

Posted Image
1969 Dodge Charger RT


#25 CopMike

CopMike

  • All your baseplate are belong to us


    Posts: 5121
    Joined: 04-January 05
    Member: 148
    Country: Sweden

Posted 15 February 2009 - 09:21 PM

View PostBroadside, on Feb 15 2009, 09:08 PM, said:

Today when I was looking at the front page on Classic Pirates, I clicked on "discussion forum" then clicked on a topic, when I started to scroll down the page I noticed that all the posts were were under this thing called "Posts in this topic" In order to see the posts I had to click on them individually . Note, this is not what I want and I am not sure if I did this unintentionally or if the site has changed it. I f I can change this please give me instructions on how to.
Does the info in this thread help you? You´ve messed with the Options-buttom.

CopMike

Posted Image

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users