Sign in to follow this  
Lipko

Good at puzzles - good at Technic building?

Based on this thread, I have to ask: does being good at mechanical puzzles make you good at designing your own models? Or is it required to be good at mechanical puzzles?

I start to think so. I'm a mechanical engineer (constructor) and I'm okay in it (it wasn't really tested yet). I consider myself creative, I am a hobby programmer, written many games and stuff from scratch, I did paper modelling (I designed and developed the models completely myself, I "invented" all the techniques and technology paper modelling required, because I didn't know about anyone else doing it that time).

But I suck at mechanical puzzles. And the sad thing that it seems I suck at Technic building too. I made 3 okay models, but the first model that is a bit more "advanced" gets over my head. I can't solve even simple stuff, because it will "contradict" the other stuff there. I'd need to continuously rebuild the whole thing to integrate the new feature, it's just too complex for me.

Opinions? Are you good at puzzles?

I would say i'm better at building MOCs than I am at mechanical puzzles. I suck at those! But I tend to like doing anything creative from writing/recording music, drawing, 3d modelling, welding and most other forms of fabricating my own designs and so on. I've even had a go at writing movie scripts that will probably never be seen just because I enjoy using my imagination. I guess having a good imagination is more important than being good at mechanical puzzles. I just imagine what the greatest technic car or helicopter or whatever of all time would be, then try to build it!

I like to think i'm good at mechanical puzzles. I've solved almost all puzzle things in our house. I taught myself to solve a 3x3 rubiks cube with a guide and after that i've nearly solved a 4x4 with my own algorithms. (I still need to figure out a way to switch edge pairs.) At least i like solving mechanical problems.