Jump to content


LDD 4.3.5 bugs

LDD bugs 4.3.5

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
167 replies to this topic

#101 Gnac

Gnac

    Posts: 342
    Joined: 05-August 12
    Member: 30056
    Country: England

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:02 PM

This grey fullwidth technic beam cannot be inserted into the gap between the halfwidth black technic beams, due to a conflict which seems to affect modified connector peg parts 6558, 32054 and 32556.

Posted Image

Unfortunately, some official instructions rely on a connection like this. I encountered it while trying to attach the fork for the motorbike model in set 4404 - Land Busters.

Posted Image

I can't even successfully place the connector peg with a scaffolding then build around it. Nothing works. I'm just about ready to go outside and kick a car.

Edited by Gnac, 04 November 2012 - 06:16 PM.

Posted Image

Pick-a-BRICK: LINK | SET | SHELF

#102 legolijntje

legolijntje

    Posts: 2183
    Joined: 06-June 10
    Member: 11214
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:16 PM

I think it won't work because officially it is an illegal construction. Because there is stress in the middle part of the pin, normally there is the little gap between 2 beams, but with this there is no gap, just the hole of the beam.

Wow, this is really difficult to explain :grin:

#103 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5742
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 04 November 2012 - 06:30 PM

View PostGraysmith, on 01 November 2012 - 05:57 PM, said:

• Can’t attach a 2x2 plate (3022) or a 2x2 plate with 1 knob (87580) to the top of a barrel (2489). In fact, I tried a whole bunch of bricks and plates, and round ones were the only ones that could be attached. Bug or a limitation of the software?
Question. are you supposed to be able to connect a 2x2 plate ontop of the barell IRL (i.e. is it used in any official set or so)?

View PostGnac, on 04 November 2012 - 06:02 PM, said:

This grey fullwidth technic beam cannot be inserted into the gap between the halfwidth black technic beams, due to a conflict which seems to affect modified connector peg parts 6558, 32054 and 32556.
Unfortunately, some official instructions rely on a connection like this. I encountered it while trying to attach the fork for the motorbike model in set 4404 - Land Busters.
Like legolijntje said - it's an illegal design, because the ridges on the pegs (not visible in LDD, but have a look on a real peg) would cause the peg to be in constant compression. This in turn would cause plastic deformation (aka cold flow) that over time would ruin the peg (it would become loose and less "snappy").
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#104 Gnac

Gnac

    Posts: 342
    Joined: 05-August 12
    Member: 30056
    Country: England

Posted 04 November 2012 - 08:37 PM

Thanks legolijntje & Superkalle. Seeing that this is an illegal technique, I don't think it's important to make the connection with part 32054 in the LXF, so I will leave it to one side and reference these last few posts in the error list.
Posted Image

Pick-a-BRICK: LINK | SET | SHELF

#105 Gnac

Gnac

    Posts: 342
    Joined: 05-August 12
    Member: 30056
    Country: England

Posted 04 November 2012 - 09:39 PM

While we are on the subject of stressful connections with connector pegs, I have been frustrated by a situation where part 88072 (Plate 1x2 with Vertical Shaft) is required to be inserted into 4274 (Connector Peg with Knob). This occurs in set 5761 - Mini Digger, and I've had to stock up on a few 4274s because they keep cracking.
Posted Image

Pick-a-BRICK: LINK | SET | SHELF

#106 vynsane

vynsane

    Posts: 472
    Joined: 21-May 10
    Member: 10811

Posted 06 November 2012 - 05:46 PM

View Postdonut2k, on 16 October 2012 - 03:21 PM, said:

Update 19th Octobre: I got the official response: Apple changed one OpenGL function in 10.8.2 and 10.7.5 that disallows this functionality in LDD. The mail doesn't state if they are working with apple or finding a workaround..

This is so lame! I forgot how bad LDD looks without outlines on.
ALL HAIL THE BLACTRON EMPIRE!

Flickr Photostream | Dropbox - LDD files and instruction archive

The SVG Decals Library - Discuss on EB | Contribute on GitHub

#107 Hypersonic

Hypersonic

    Posts: 25
    Joined: 21-July 11
    Member: 19194

Posted 07 November 2012 - 09:43 PM

Well, I'm not 100% sure that this problem goes here, but I've been trying to get LDD working for some time now. I double click the icon and nothing happens. A quick look at the task managers shows me that the process is running, at a constant memory usage of about 50mb, but no window appears.

Any help'

#108 Graysmith

Graysmith

    Posts: 346
    Joined: 18-January 12
    Member: 24460

Posted 08 November 2012 - 02:57 AM

View PostSuperkalle, on 04 November 2012 - 06:30 PM, said:

Question. are you supposed to be able to connect a 2x2 plate ontop of the barell IRL (i.e. is it used in any official set or so)?

I have no idea if it's ever been done in any official set, but a square 2x2 plate definitely fits on top of a barrel just like a round 2x2 plate does (and that's definitely been done, so putting a square 2x2 on there in the same way can't possibly be considered an illegal build).


Larger plates than 2x2 definitely can't be attached to a barrel though so I take that back. My mistake.


Let me re-state my bug report:

2x2 plates (3022), 2x2 flat tiles (3068) and 2x2 tiles with 1 knob (87580) can be attached on top of barrels IRL but not in LDD. Round 2x2 plates (4032) and tiles (4150) can be attached to barrels in LDD (as well as IRL, of course). Even if LEGO has never built anything with 2x2 square pieces on top of barrels, it shouldn't be considered an illegal build since it's attachment method isn't any different from round 2x2 pieces.

#109 Toa_Of_Justice

Toa_Of_Justice

    Posts: 579
    Joined: 01-February 08
    Member: 2644
    Country: United States

Posted 08 November 2012 - 04:55 AM

View PostHypersonic, on 07 November 2012 - 09:43 PM, said:

Well, I'm not 100% sure that this problem goes here, but I've been trying to get LDD working for some time now. I double click the icon and nothing happens. A quick look at the task managers shows me that the process is running, at a constant memory usage of about 50mb, but no window appears.

Any help'
I have several suggestions:
  • End the process from Task Manager, then try restarting LDD.
  • Uninstall LDD, download a fresh copy of the software from http://ldd.lego.com, then install it.
  • If all else fails, contact LEGO Customer Service.
-Toa Of Justice

Tinker Posted Image Bell | 21103 Posted Image Revamp | iWin Posted Image Dual Device Dock


Please see my Brickshelf gallery for more MOCs!

I don't mind if anyone borrows any part of any of my MOCs. Please be sure to give me credit though.


#110 Hypersonic

Hypersonic

    Posts: 25
    Joined: 21-July 11
    Member: 19194

Posted 08 November 2012 - 05:12 PM

I tried reinstalling, closing it, trying it on other accounts on my computer, clearing and reinstalling drivers... none of them worked. I'll try sending an email. Thanks though.

#111 Gnac

Gnac

    Posts: 342
    Joined: 05-August 12
    Member: 30056
    Country: England

Posted 11 November 2012 - 01:18 PM

I found a couple of weird things!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posted Image

I'm pretty sure gears do not work that way. This may have actually happened in a few official models' LXFs that I've built. (LXF example)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posted Image

Now this is just bizarre. If I have two technic bricks right next to each other with the holes lining up, I can insert part 41532 right through one of them to connect to the other. (LXF example)
Posted Image

Pick-a-BRICK: LINK | SET | SHELF

#112 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5742
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 11 November 2012 - 08:38 PM

Interesting finds Gnac, specially the second one.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#113 CM4Sci

CM4Sci

    Posts: 2916
    Joined: 18-December 11
    Member: 23274
    Country: USA

Posted 12 November 2012 - 02:40 AM

The new Batman cowl doesn't work on a minifig head:

Posted Image


-Sci

   Posted Image


#114 theDeanoRama

theDeanoRama

    Posts: 128
    Joined: 28-September 12
    Member: 32353
    Country: Canada

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:56 AM

I did a search and did not see this come up, so I have no idea if it's been noted or not.

Part 71075 and 71076 are reversed in part numbering:

71076 should be Round 1x1x1 2/3 Posted Imageand 71075 should be Round 1x1 90 degree elbow with no stud Posted Image but LDD has this the other way around.

Images courtesy BrickLink

AFOL residing on the West Coast of Canada.
My flickr feed as well as my MOCpages feed.


#115 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5742
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 14 November 2012 - 03:25 PM

View PosttheDeanoRama, on 14 November 2012 - 09:56 AM, said:

I did a search and did not see this come up, so I have no idea if it's been noted or not.

Part 71075 and 71076 are reversed in part numbering:

71076 should be Round 1x1x1 2/3 Posted Imageand 71075 should be Round 1x1 90 degree elbow with no stud Posted Image but LDD has this the other way around.

Images courtesy BrickLink
I checked this out with TLG Customer Service, and it turns out LDD has the correct numbers.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#116 theDeanoRama

theDeanoRama

    Posts: 128
    Joined: 28-September 12
    Member: 32353
    Country: Canada

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:29 PM

opps :blush:  I guess the error falls to sites like Bricker and BrickLink then. The only reason I even noticed this was while doing colour checks on a current project using LDD Manager, parts were getting listed that I know I didn't have in the model :sceptic:

Edited by theDeanoRama, 14 November 2012 - 11:38 PM.

AFOL residing on the West Coast of Canada.
My flickr feed as well as my MOCpages feed.


#117 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5742
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 14 November 2012 - 11:50 PM

View PosttheDeanoRama, on 14 November 2012 - 11:29 PM, said:

opps :blush:  I guess the error falls to sites like Bricker and BrickLink then. The only reason I even noticed this was while doing colour checks on a current project using LDD Manager, parts were getting listed that I know I didn't have in the model :sceptic:
Yeah, I missed it too (i.e. I need to update LDD Manager it seems :classic:)
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#118 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5742
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 16 November 2012 - 06:44 PM

View PostGraysmith, on 08 November 2012 - 02:57 AM, said:

I have no idea if it's ever been done in any official set, but a square 2x2 plate definitely fits on top of a barrel just like a round 2x2 plate does (and that's definitely been done, so putting a square 2x2 on there in the same way can't possibly be considered an illegal build).


Larger plates than 2x2 definitely can't be attached to a barrel though so I take that back. My mistake.


Let me re-state my bug report:

2x2 plates (3022), 2x2 flat tiles (3068) and 2x2 tiles with 1 knob (87580) can be attached on top of barrels IRL but not in LDD. Round 2x2 plates (4032) and tiles (4150) can be attached to barrels in LDD (as well as IRL, of course). Even if LEGO has never built anything with 2x2 square pieces on top of barrels, it shouldn't be considered an illegal build since it's attachment method isn't any different from round 2x2 pieces.
And a late follow up from me :classic:  
I just tried the connection, and it is a very tight/hard fit to put a 2x2 plate etc on the barell. On the other hand a round brick one of any kind (plate, tile, other barell...) will flex more (because it doesn't have "closed walls") and thus the fit is more "forgiving".  So I'd say that a 2x2 plate (etc...) is indeed illegal, and we probably won't see it in any official set. But this is just my guess.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#119 Godspeed

Godspeed

    Posts: 24
    Joined: 19-February 11
    Member: 16083
    Country: Australia

Posted 17 November 2012 - 10:32 AM

This may not be a bug, but I can't seem to find the 'remove filter' button for colour anywhere in the Mac version. The user manual clearly shows a button for removing the filter, but it's nowhere to be seen and I'm going insane!

#120 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5742
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 17 November 2012 - 02:19 PM

View PostGodspeed, on 17 November 2012 - 10:32 AM, said:

This may not be a bug, but I can't seem to find the 'remove filter' button for colour anywhere in the Mac version. The user manual clearly shows a button for removing the filter, but it's nowhere to be seen and I'm going insane!
I'm not sure I follow. Which mode are you in (LDD, Extended). Also, can you post a screenshot where the button should be?
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#121 Toa_Of_Justice

Toa_Of_Justice

    Posts: 579
    Joined: 01-February 08
    Member: 2644
    Country: United States

Posted 18 November 2012 - 05:51 AM

View PostSuperkalle, on 17 November 2012 - 02:19 PM, said:

I'm not sure I follow. Which mode are you in (LDD, Extended). Also, can you post a screenshot where the button should be?
Is this the button you're looking for (the funnel button near the bottom right of the color palette)?

Posted Image

If so, it's only available in the standard LDD and Mindstorms modes, not the Extended mode.

-Toa Of Justice

Tinker Posted Image Bell | 21103 Posted Image Revamp | iWin Posted Image Dual Device Dock


Please see my Brickshelf gallery for more MOCs!

I don't mind if anyone borrows any part of any of my MOCs. Please be sure to give me credit though.


#122 Gnac

Gnac

    Posts: 342
    Joined: 05-August 12
    Member: 30056
    Country: England

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:09 PM

Posted Image

It appears that part 30602 (coloured trans-orange) and part 30603 (coloured black) can overlap in ways that may not be physically possible. (LXF example)
Posted Image

Pick-a-BRICK: LINK | SET | SHELF

#123 Graysmith

Graysmith

    Posts: 346
    Joined: 18-January 12
    Member: 24460

Posted 30 November 2012 - 02:25 AM

I just noticed that one of the new Galaxy Squad sets is using wheel rims (3464) in a very interesting way (look at the cannon in the front). It's never crossed my mind that you could even attach a stud to these little rims. so that's a new building technique learned!

However, you can't attach anything to them in LDD so.. bug!

#124 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5742
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 30 November 2012 - 03:47 PM

View PostGraysmith, on 30 November 2012 - 02:25 AM, said:

I just noticed that one of the new Galaxy Squad sets is using wheel rims (3464) in a very interesting way (look at the cannon in the front). It's never crossed my mind that you could even attach a stud to these little rims. so that's a new building technique learned!

However, you can't attach anything to them in LDD so.. bug!
I've never seen that technique before either.
Anyway, bug it seems to be!
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#125 Mrcool1804

Mrcool1804

    Posts: 149
    Joined: 03-February 10
    Member: 9414
    Country: USA

Posted 06 December 2012 - 05:32 PM

View Postdonut2k, on 16 October 2012 - 03:21 PM, said:

I did a service request on the the LEGO site and got in response that they'll forward the bug/request to the LDD expert, I got an ID for the ticket and didn't do a followup, will try tonight and will report back here.

Update 19th Octobre: I got the official response: Apple changed one OpenGL function in 10.8.2 and 10.7.5 that disallows this functionality in LDD. The mail doesn't state if they are working with apple or finding a workaround..

Anyone found a work around? I need to get started on my Winter Village entry :sweet:





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: LDD, bugs, 4.3.5

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users