Jump to content


Making Curved Track Look Better


18 replies to this topic

#1 Scorpio

Scorpio

  • Well theres the Hammock district on 3rd


    Posts: 161
    Joined: 01-February 10
    Member: 9381
    Country: USA (IL)

Posted 25 February 2010 - 05:50 AM

Posted Image

Hello

I am pretty new to this forum but have been looking around as a guest for a while. I have a question that hopefully you train geniuses will be able to answer. Is there any way to make this curve look better? I am happy with the way it is now but if anyone knew of a better way of doing this I would love to hear from you. Basically I would like to make the part under the track look like it is curving better with the track and also maybe make the black plates on the top of the track fit together better. Thanks in advance!

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


Brickshelf

Edited by TheBrickster, 28 February 2010 - 12:50 AM.


#2 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 25 February 2010 - 06:19 AM

Hi DHCP.  Interesting topic, but please watch your image size. 800 x 600 is the max per our site guidelines.  You don't have to resize these, but for next time, just know the max.
Thanks, -TB

#3 Stash2Sixx

Stash2Sixx

  • I am not a girl!


    Posts: 2673
    Joined: 02-May 08
    Member: 3094
    Country: US of A

Posted 25 February 2010 - 06:57 AM

Me personally, no.  I really don't have any suggestions as to how to make the curves look a bit smoother.  However, I noticed you live in Illinois, anywhere near Chicago?  My train club has a show this weekend in the south suburbs and I know one of our members has an elevated track with curves.  Might be worth it to swing by and get a glimpse at how others have pulled it off?

Stash2sixx

Some people are like slinkies.  They're not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs! -Anonymous

"Life's tough...It's even tougher if you're stupid" - John Wayne

flickr



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide | Tutorials


#4 Scorpio

Scorpio

  • Well theres the Hammock district on 3rd


    Posts: 161
    Joined: 01-February 10
    Member: 9381
    Country: USA (IL)

Posted 25 February 2010 - 07:13 AM

View PostStash2Sixx, on Feb 25 2010, 12:57 AM, said:

Me personally, no.  I really don't have any suggestions as to how to make the curves look a bit smoother.  However, I noticed you live in Illinois, anywhere near Chicago?  My train club has a show this weekend in the south suburbs and I know one of our members has an elevated track with curves.  Might be worth it to swing by and get a glimpse at how others have pulled it off?

Stash2sixx

Not to go too far off topic but yes, I live in Naperville. I have seen the farm display from your group at the Schaumburg Lego Store. I have always wanted to replicate the Chicago CTA and this is my first attempt at creating some sort of elevated rail system. I have seen a whole lot of your group's pictures online and they have inspired me. I might just have to swing by your show on Saturday. It is the one at the Oak Lawn Library, correct?

#5 AllanSmith

AllanSmith

    Posts: 556
    Joined: 06-February 07
    Member: 1340
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 25 February 2010 - 07:22 AM

2 x 1 bricks joined together have a bit of flex as shown below

Posted Image

Michigan Lego Train Club photo

Edited by AllanSmith, 25 February 2010 - 11:48 PM.


#6 Stash2Sixx

Stash2Sixx

  • I am not a girl!


    Posts: 2673
    Joined: 02-May 08
    Member: 3094
    Country: US of A

Posted 25 February 2010 - 07:30 AM

Yup, Oak Lawn Public Library.  See you there!

Some people are like slinkies.  They're not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs! -Anonymous

"Life's tough...It's even tougher if you're stupid" - John Wayne

flickr



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide | Tutorials


#7 patje

patje

    Posts: 234
    Joined: 02-October 06
    Member: 999
    Country: belgium

Posted 25 February 2010 - 09:42 AM

View PostAllanSmith, on Feb 25 2010, 08:22 AM, said:

2 x 1 bricks joined together have a bit of flex as shown below

Posted Image


I have a question
can the train 7897 drive on this bridge ?
with the nose that comes so much further?
that is perhaps the solution for my own layout
these train can never drive  at my layout.
he takes all trees with him,
the nose goes too far from the tracks
:sick:
interested in legotrains& bldg.  see my Internet site
Visit My Website
Visit My brickshelf page
Visit My Legotrainforum

#8 Modulex Guy

Modulex Guy

  • Ain't nobody takin' my wooden fire truck


    Posts: 844
    Joined: 28-June 09
    Member: 6517
    Country: U.S.A

Posted 25 February 2010 - 03:05 PM

View PostDHCP1121, on Feb 25 2010, 01:13 AM, said:

Not to go too far off topic but yes, I live in Naperville. I have seen the farm display from your group at the Schaumburg Lego Store. I have always wanted to replicate the Chicago CTA and this is my first attempt at creating some sort of elevated rail system. I have seen a whole lot of your group's pictures online and they have inspired me. I might just have to swing by your show on Saturday. It is the one at the Oak Lawn Library, correct?

Hey Hey! wow, someone from Naperville! I'm also in Naperville! :laugh:

Like Stash2Sixx said, come down to an NILTC show (which I'm also a member) and see what we build to maybe get some inspiration! :thumbup:

Yes It's the Oak Lawn Library, although this time I'm not displaying, just did not have the time to get things together. :cry_sad:
NILTC
Hi, My name is Chris... and I'm addicted to Modulex.
Posted Image
O_o
I Buy Modulex!
My Flickr page.

#9 Stash2Sixx

Stash2Sixx

  • I am not a girl!


    Posts: 2673
    Joined: 02-May 08
    Member: 3094
    Country: US of A

Posted 25 February 2010 - 11:40 PM

Cool, looking forward to meeting you. Just ask for Stash; I'll be there all day Saturday and Sunday!

Some people are like slinkies.  They're not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs! -Anonymous

"Life's tough...It's even tougher if you're stupid" - John Wayne

flickr



New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide | Tutorials


#10 AllanSmith

AllanSmith

    Posts: 556
    Joined: 06-February 07
    Member: 1340
    Country: New Zealand

Posted 25 February 2010 - 11:50 PM

View Postpatje, on Feb 25 2010, 09:42 PM, said:

I have a question
can the train 7897 drive on this bridge ?
with the nose that comes so much further?
that is perhaps the solution for my own layout
these train can never drive  at my layout.
he takes all trees with him,
the nose goes too far from the tracks
:sick:
Photo from Michigan Lego Train Club. Maybe a member can answer your questions.  :classic:

#11 Sir E Fullner

Sir E Fullner

  • The Admiral's croissants smell delicious!


    Posts: 563
    Joined: 04-September 09
    Member: 7307
    Country: United States

Posted 26 February 2010 - 07:01 PM

NICE

:cry_happy:  :thumbup:  :classic:  :tongue:  :knight:  :pirate:  :alien:

My MOCPage Ett. FullnerMy Brickshelf

Eat yer spinach, kiddies! However, don't forget the fish.
Posted Image


#12 peterab

peterab

  • Whacking witch hunter


    Posts: 1248
    Joined: 03-August 09
    Member: 6893
    Country: Australia

Posted 27 February 2010 - 11:44 AM

View Postpatje, on Feb 25 2010, 08:42 PM, said:

I have a question
can the train 7897 drive on this bridge ?
with the nose that comes so much further?
that is perhaps the solution for my own layout
these train can never drive  at my layout.
he takes all trees with him,
the nose goes too far from the tracks
:sick:

The technique doesn't depend on how far the wall is from the tracks so you could make it wider if you wanted, or you could build the wall lower, or raise the track within the walls so the train clears it.

#13 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 27 February 2010 - 03:04 PM

I think doing this sort of thing has a lot of potential (expanding width, dual rail etc.) but it would cost a great deal of money as far as parts are concerned. As you can see, the sides there are mostly built up with 2 x 2 brick.
To make it look "better", I'd use plates to extend the elevated section out another 2 or 3 studs. All the best. :wink:

View Postefullner, on Feb 27 2010, 05:01 AM, said:

NICE
:cry_happy:  :thumbup:  :classic:  :tongue:  :knight:  :pirate:  :alien:
Please don't use so many smileys in an otherwise pointless post in future.

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#14 Richie

Richie

    Posts: 655
    Joined: 15-July 08
    Member: 3527
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 27 February 2010 - 04:04 PM

If you have set 7897, it's easy to test how far the wall has to be from the tracks. Build a standard curve, lay a plate 2 x 12 halfway across the track, with 8 studs below the track and the rest at the outside of the corner. Place a pillar or some bricks at the edge. With the train you can look how far the bricks have to be from the track. With a curved wall this should be the same.

Edited by Richie, 27 February 2010 - 04:06 PM.

It's multifunctionomical.

Posted Image

Flickr


#15 patje

patje

    Posts: 234
    Joined: 02-October 06
    Member: 999
    Country: belgium

Posted 04 March 2010 - 06:39 PM

View Postpeterab, on Feb 27 2010, 12:44 PM, said:

The technique doesn't depend on how far the wall is from the tracks so you could make it wider if you wanted, or you could build the wall lower, or raise the track within the walls so the train clears it.


Thanks for de repley
I think that i must go for a system like this...

:wink:
interested in legotrains& bldg.  see my Internet site
Visit My Website
Visit My brickshelf page
Visit My Legotrainforum

#16 Scorpio

Scorpio

  • Well theres the Hammock district on 3rd


    Posts: 161
    Joined: 01-February 10
    Member: 9381
    Country: USA (IL)

Posted 05 March 2010 - 07:02 AM

Here is an update with my elevated rail. I am actually liking the way the underpart looks as the town grows around it. I also added gates to the top to make it look a little nicer (thank you pick a brick wall). I would also like to point out that I am using a modified version of the 7897 Passenger Train. My version does not have the front nose. Let me know what you think. Questions, comments, criticism welcome. Thanks.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#17 Captain Zuloo

Captain Zuloo

  • god for 10


    Posts: 4330
    Joined: 19-July 07
    Member: 1816
    Country: Australia

Posted 05 March 2010 - 09:02 AM

Looks fantastic now! the width is nice, and the railing looks brilliant. good idea, and nicely executed. But do you plan to expand it? At the moment as such a small loop it doesn't really serve a purpose. It doesn't make sense being there being so small. Perhaps you could expand it a little around the buildings and give it a station. Then I'd say it has every reason to be there, and it would look far better! :classic:

Posted Image

Brick Expo 2011 - Australia's BIGGEST LEGO Expo!
www.brickexpo.com.au


#18 Ashi Valkoinen

Ashi Valkoinen

    Posts: 166
    Joined: 27-August 09
    Member: 7207

Posted 05 March 2010 - 09:36 AM

View PostCaptain Zuloo, on Mar 5 2010, 10:02 AM, said:

But do you plan to expand it? At the moment as such a small loop it doesn't really serve a purpose. It doesn't make sense being there being so small.
The first thing came to my mind about the first picture is the "pizza display" topic. :D

Anyway, this MOC looks fantastic, it seems to be a real railway bridge.
AV
Brickshelf | My MOC topic on EB
ρ•grad(δ2Φ/δt2)-(λ+2μ)•graddivgradΦ+ρ•rot(δ2Ψ/δt2)+μ•rotrotrotΨ=0

#19 Scorpio

Scorpio

  • Well theres the Hammock district on 3rd


    Posts: 161
    Joined: 01-February 10
    Member: 9381
    Country: USA (IL)

Posted 05 March 2010 - 03:02 PM

View PostCaptain Zuloo, on Mar 5 2010, 04:02 AM, said:

But do you plan to expand it? At the moment as such a small loop it doesn't really serve a purpose. It doesn't make sense being there being so small. Perhaps you could expand it a little around the buildings and give it a station. Then I'd say it has every reason to be there, and it would look far better! :classic:

I do plan to expand the layout when I actually have more table room. I am currently limited to two tables and the amount of 1x2 dark gray bricks I can get.
There is a station in the setup but it isn't really standard. If you look at the far left in the pictures you can see the train coming out of a building. That is the station. Here is an individual picture.

I am still designing this station. I am not happy with the front glass but it works for now.
The building design is loosely based off Chicago CTA stops.

Posted Image
Posted Image

Edited by DHCP1121, 05 March 2010 - 03:06 PM.




Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users