Hi guys, I am just expecting my 9398 to arrive soon and would like to be prepared with rechargeble battery supply. I do have a bike lamp which operates with this Li-ion battery pack here:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Led-Lamp-6400Mah-18650-8-4v-battery-Pack-for-xml-T6-P7-LED-lamp-/251001613660?pt=UK_SportsLeisure_Camping_LightsLanternsTorches&hash=item3a70dcad5c

and the charger for it. So, I would like to use the pack also on the crawler. The pack consists of 2 x 2 18650s connected in parallel and then connected together in serial. I am not an electrician but the output voltage should be something between 8,1 volt (measured today after a fully charging) and 7,4 volt after some usage.

So I was thinking to use the above battery and increase the voltage on the motors by using 2 of this regulators:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/321283653204?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

One regulator after the IR-receiver and before each motor.

Possible?? If not, how about connecting the battery pack directly to the IR-receiver? I saw some tests and the crawler performs quite well with the Lego Li-Po battery. What do you think performance-wise??

Best regards,

Daniel

performance is pretty good with the Lego Li-po battery but partly due to the weight saving too

I only recently bought a rechargeable box to try on the 9398

previously with the large battery box I use 1.2v rechargeables anyway so the voltage is very similar

though with 6 new 1.5v alkalines ts goes great but not for long as you will waste them wanting to play with it all the time...

Edited by Rockbrick

Thanks!! The idea is to increase voltage on on the both L-motors but not on the servo - this should improve performance a lot :classic:

Still need to know if it is possible at all with the intended setup.. thanks a lot!!

The ouput from the IR reciever is not DC but PWM