Sign in to follow this  
Brickextreme

Mariner Hotel Modular MOC

As I admitted in my "5 Modular Building MOCs" post, I am not very good at original ideas. For this MOC, I was influenced by cimddwc's awesome Emerald House. Typically, my designs are based on convenience. In other words, what can I build without having to Bricklink. I started by trying to replicate the Emerald House, but didn't have enough dark green. Also, I didn't have enough of either white or tan windows so I made the second and third floors different colors. From there, I took some other liberties. Floors are removable but no interiors......possibly I will get to it someday.

As always, I welcome positive feedback as well as constructive criticism.

26402530234_c742155146_c.jpgaDSC01130 - Copy by Brick Extreme, on Flickr

26402529784_28f6ee3bd4_c.jpgaDSC01113 - Copy by Brick Extreme, on Flickr

26402529324_5d4446c80b_c.jpgbDSC01126 - Copy by Brick Extreme, on Flickr

26402526434_27e3230363_c.jpgaDSC01125 - Copy by Brick Extreme, on Flickr

I think it looks fine with the floors being different colors because you used brown consistently throughout. Very nice.

Does the black pointed roof have a back or is it open? In a many layouts where would can look at the buildings from all sides having exposed backs to roofs looks bad to me. The Chinese theater set has this problem as well.

Wonderful modular! :wub: The stone first floor looks great, with the angled entrance and recessed sections on the side, and I really like the texture of the log bricks on the top story :thumbup:

I think it looks fine with the floors being different colors because you used brown consistently throughout. Very nice.

Does the black pointed roof have a back or is it open? In a many layouts where would can look at the buildings from all sides having exposed backs to roofs looks bad to me. The Chinese theater set has this problem as well.