Volvo FL12 8x8

01.jpg

I'm proud to present to you my best moc so far. I was building it for almost half a year. During this time I graduated, and my BSc thesis was about remote control of this vehicle.

07.jpg

Truck features all wheel drive, 4 wheel steering with different steering lock, full double wishbone suspension, remote controlled 4-speed gearbox with neutral gear, working winch, working fake R6 piston engine and working steering wheel.

Remote control

Vehicle is remote controlled by a mobile phone using Bluetooth connection. Both applications (mobile phone app and NXT app) are written by me in Java language (I used LeJOS to program NXT).

usingtarn.gif

Gearbox

Gearbox uses 2 driving rings to shift gears, each of them is controlled by one NXT motor. After shifting gear motor locks in a fixed position to prevent slipping off a driving ring.

Gear ratios are:

• gear 1) 18.75:1
    gear 2) 11.25:1
    gear 3) 6.25:1
    gear 4) 3.75:1

Steering system

Two front axles are steered with different ratios which is 1:1,67 (z12 drives z20). System construction is strong, backlash is low and it is impossible to desynchronize axles steering.

steeringsystem.jpg_thumb.jpg

There is a price for this toughness. Steering geometry isn't perfect, but it's good enough:

steeringgeometry.jpg_thumb.jpg

Software provides "return to center" and "endpoints" functions, which means that wheels can't turn to greater angle than the chassis is design to.

The steering wheel inside the cabin is connected to steering motor via rubber, so the cabin can tilt along with the steering wheel.

Propulsion system