Sign in to follow this  
Cwertle

Lord of the Rings Brickfilm WIP

I have decided to undertake a large project, and try to make the whole Lord of the Rings trilogy into a Brickfilm.

I did though need a few tips on the making of it, so if anyone could help me with these things it would be great.

Sound effects- Does anyone know of good sites for free, safe, sound effects?

Fireworks- I am not very good at special effects so i was hoping for a simple way to have fireworks.

Large buildings and armys- I do not have a big a collection as most of you guys, so do you think I should use microscale for these?

Voices or subtitles- Which of these should I use?

Comments appreciated :classic:

This does sound like a massive undertaking. I have dabbled in making stop motion LEGO movies, but nothing very big. From the sounds of it, you don't have the LEGO collection to do LOTR.

Anyway, I do have some advice on most of things you are asking. First, sound effects are hard to find for free online. The best thing you could do would be to take the audio from the films and match your footage with it. If you cannot do this, then you will just have to look on the internet a lot until you find what you need.

Large buildings and armies is tricky if you have a small collection. If you can't accomplish huge armies, Photoshop can be a good help. As for buildings, you may need to look for ways to gather more bricks.

As for fireworks, I'm unsure, but Photoshop could be handy here too.

If you want some inspiration, this is the best LOTR stop motion video I have ever seen. Hopefully it will inspire you:

Thanks for the advice! Maybe i could turn this into a comic instead of a brickfilm, that would simplfy things, though it wouldnt be as exicting.

Also, that was a great movie, gimlis laugh cracked me up! :laugh: