I have started collecting every single minifigures produced by Lego for superheroes theme including the old Batman/Spiderman sets and exclusive minifigures from SDCC and ToyFair, etc. I think I am at around 98% complete.

I wondered if anyone has done the same and how do you display them? Any advice on getting hard-to-find minifigures?

If you have a look at the link in my signature, it'll direct you to a quiz with every single Marvel and DC Superheroes Minifigure available to date (not including the Batman and Spider-Man older themes). Hopefully that will be of some help to you.

I've almost completed the themes myself, and I just display my minifigures on Baseplates. One for Marvel Heroes, one for Marvel villains, and the same for DC too.

I've been collecting them for a few years now , and what I've largely learned is that it's really a waiting game--especially for the old Batman/Spider-Man/Superhero figures.

It's really easy to get any of the new figures, especially if they're on the shelves, but it is becoming more challenging to get even some 2012 figures for a decent price. In general, the new Superhero figures go for about 10-15 dollars individually, and they really only go up from there. This is especially true for popular characters who appeared in only one set, and like many other licensed themes, the fact that they most likely won't reappear for a years helps keep their value way up. The Superheroes theme is all about the characters after all.