Jump to content


[KEY TOPIC] LDD 4 Bugs and brick errors


  • Please log in to reply
694 replies to this topic

#426 yellost

yellost

    Posts: 637
    Joined: 29-July 06
    Member: 876
    Country: Belgium

Posted 16 October 2011 - 08:00 PM

It's probably already been mentionned before, but just in case :
While building the VW Camper Van, I noticed that the wall element 1x2x1 is actually not in the category illustrated by it. Instead it is in the category with the door.
Posted Image
Someday, the whole Universe shall bow before my genius... or at least the cat... maybe...

And on for my Brickshelf gallery...

#427 Aanchir

Aanchir

  • Color Encyclopedia


    Posts: 7620
    Joined: 31-December 09
    Member: 8841
    Country: United States

Posted 16 October 2011 - 09:39 PM

View Postyellost, on 16 October 2011 - 08:00 PM, said:

It's probably already been mentionned before, but just in case :
While building the VW Camper Van, I noticed that the wall element 1x2x1 is actually not in the category illustrated by it. Instead it is in the category with the door.
Already mentioned in a separate topic specifically for that type of inconsistency: Category errors in 4.1.8.

Posted Image recommends the following sites:
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#428 Crash Sanders

Crash Sanders

    Posts: 600
    Joined: 20-August 08
    Member: 3771
    Country: Russia

Posted 16 October 2011 - 10:16 PM

Maybe we should form a list of frequent mentioned bugs and glitches?

#429 yellost

yellost

    Posts: 637
    Joined: 29-July 06
    Member: 876
    Country: Belgium

Posted 17 October 2011 - 01:21 AM

Ah, I didn't know about that topic... I would have checked it there...
I don't know what the politic is for pinned topics, but it would be nice to have those about reporting bugs and such stuck on top of the first page...
As the category one is already almost relegated on the second page...
Someday, the whole Universe shall bow before my genius... or at least the cat... maybe...

And on for my Brickshelf gallery...

#430 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5632
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 17 October 2011 - 04:02 PM

View Postyellost, on 17 October 2011 - 01:21 AM, said:

Ah, I didn't know about that topic... I would have checked it there...
I don't know what the politic is for pinned topics, but it would be nice to have those about reporting bugs and such stuck on top of the first page...
As the category one is already almost relegated on the second page...
Yes, you're right. Should have done that earlier. Fixed now.  :classic:
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#431 Florimel

Florimel

    Posts: 8
    Joined: 30-October 11
    Member: 21230
    Country: France

Posted 30 October 2011 - 03:22 AM

View PostAanchir, on 05 November 2010 - 03:16 PM, said:

Also, many connections between a System stud and Technic hole are still not possible, and the reasons don't seem to have anything to do with legality of the connections. A 1x1 plate can attach by the stud to the Technic holes of parts 6541 and 32013, for instance, but not to part 6632. All of these problems are able to come up in DbM mode.
I experienced the same issue with part 32013, as shown below. It cannot be attached to a simple 1x2 brick.

Attached Files



#432 ATonOfBricks

ATonOfBricks

    Posts: 10
    Joined: 05-November 11
    Member: 21463

Posted 05 November 2011 - 04:49 PM

Hello, I'm new to eurobricks. Is there anyway to improve the performance of LDD?
It crashes a lot. I can't even move the model without it crashing, even on my small models.
Also, is there any other Lego software that can handle huge models (around 15,000 to 30,000 bricks)?

#433 DLuders

DLuders

  • Technic Technician


    Posts: 5817
    Joined: 17-October 09
    Member: 7868
    Country: USA (WA State)

Posted 05 November 2011 - 05:28 PM

@ ATonOfBricks:  Welcome to Eurobricks!   :classic:   You may have to turn of LDD's Advanced Graphics feature -- read about it on this Eurobricks LDD Troubleshooting Guide.

I can assure you that LDD can handle models of 15,000-30,000 bricks in size -- read about Alienwar9's huge LDD cityscapes here.  You need a powerful computer, though.  He has this on his 3-year old computer:

Windows Vista 32-bit
Intel Core 2 extreme QX6700 2.66Ghz (clocked to 3.2Ghz, quad core)
4Gb DDR2 6400 RAM (800 MHz)
Nvidia EVGA GTX 460 1024mb (overclocked, new part. My old one fried because of LDD actually )
150GB 10,000 rpm hard-drive
2TB total extra hard-drive space

#434 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5632
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 05 November 2011 - 09:58 PM

View PostATonOfBricks, on 05 November 2011 - 04:49 PM, said:

Hello, I'm new to eurobricks. Is there anyway to improve the performance of LDD?
It crashes a lot. I can't even move the model without it crashing, even on my small models.
Also, is there any other Lego software that can handle huge models (around 15,000 to 30,000 bricks)?
Welcome to the forum.  :classic:

However, please note your question should not have been posted in the "LDD 4 Bugs and brick errors" - this topic is for explicit bugs or errors, not general questions.

Thanks.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#435 Master of Legos

Master of Legos

    Posts: 13
    Joined: 29-August 11
    Member: 20096

Posted 07 November 2011 - 03:00 AM

I'm fairly sure that these shouldn't fit together without the bogey plate being stressed.

Posted Image

I even tested it with real bricks - the bottom part pops out much easier than with 1 plate with technic hole.

#436 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5632
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 07 November 2011 - 05:49 PM

View PostMaster of Legos, on 07 November 2011 - 03:00 AM, said:

I'm fairly sure that these shouldn't fit together without the bogey plate being stressed.

Posted Image

I even tested it with real bricks - the bottom part pops out much easier than with 1 plate with technic hole.
Good find. It seems LDD is fooled into this by the first plate you position. Funny thing is too that you can't place a half-beam on the peg.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#437 Sjuip

Sjuip

    Posts: 205
    Joined: 21-November 11
    Member: 22224
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 22 November 2011 - 09:33 PM

I'm reporting a bug that I encountered while building 10027 Train Shed in LDD.
I do not know whether this has been reported yet.
The white bar that is supposed to be the axle of the red lathe, does not fit all the way into metallic tube 71075.
Instead, it stops in the stud, leaving it protruding at the right end of the lathe.
See picture - white bar is coloured green for clarity.
Posted Image
For lxf of 10027 Train Shed see http://www.eurobrick...ndpost&p=965039

Edited by Sjuip, 27 November 2011 - 12:06 PM.


#438 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5632
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 23 November 2011 - 12:40 AM

View PostSjuip, on 22 November 2011 - 09:33 PM, said:

I'm reporting a bug that I encountered while building 10027 Train Shed in LDD.
Good find. :thumbup:
I at least haven't seen that before.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#439 Sjuip

Sjuip

    Posts: 205
    Joined: 21-November 11
    Member: 22224
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 25 November 2011 - 11:37 PM

Another bug. I don't know if it's been reported yet.
It seems to be a boundary problem with part 30407 Flap.
I came across this when trying to build Rescue Helicopter 7903 in LDD (4.1.8, Extended).
Apparently, LDD does not allow another brick to be attached to underside of part 30407, if it is protruding beyond the positions.
On the helicopter, it does (checked with real bricks) in order to form a rotorblade.
See screenshot.
Posted Image

#440 Sjuip

Sjuip

    Posts: 205
    Joined: 21-November 11
    Member: 22224
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 28 November 2011 - 09:31 PM

Yet another bug.
Again, I do not know whether it has been reported yet, but it concernes a rather unique element, which so far (according to Peeron) has only been used in set 7242 Street Sweeper.
Part 2578 Shield Box is not modelled correctly, therefore it does not want to connect to the ball of part 3729.
See screenshot
Posted Image
For picture of actual element see http://www.peeron.co.../2578?img=19246

#441 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5632
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 28 November 2011 - 10:29 PM

View PostSjuip, on 28 November 2011 - 09:31 PM, said:

Yet another bug.
Again, I do not know whether it has been reported yet, but it concernes a rather unique element, which so far (according to Peeron) has only been used in set 7242 Street Sweeper.
Part 2578 Shield Box is not modelled correctly, therefore it does not want to connect to the ball of part 3729.
See screenshot
Posted Image
For picture of actual element see http://www.peeron.co.../2578?img=19246
Hm, 2578 seems to exist in a variety of versions.

The one in LDD corresponds to 2578b in BrickLink, even though it is actually missing one of the connecting panels AND it does not connect to 3928. (So that is a bug in itself!).

The element used in 7242 Street Sweeper seems to be an updated version and corresponds to 2578a. What the correct DesignID is for that one I don't know. But it seems even TLG got it wrong. Search for 7242 here and you'll find that TLG mark the replacement part as 2578, also showing the old geometry (same the one in LDD).

It'd be interesting if anyone that has the set 7242 could see what the DesignID is (marked inside the "shield box").
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#442 Toa_Of_Justice

Toa_Of_Justice

    Posts: 574
    Joined: 01-February 08
    Member: 2644
    Country: United States

Posted 29 November 2011 - 03:08 AM

View PostSuperkalle, on 28 November 2011 - 10:29 PM, said:

It'd be interesting if anyone that has the set 7242 could see what the DesignID is (marked inside the "shield box").
I have set 7242, and the DesignID on that part is 2578. I hope LEGO adds the new part to LDD alongside the old one, since the old one is needed for set 6645.

-Toa Of Justice

Tinker Posted Image Bell | 21103 Posted Image Revamp | iWin Posted Image Dual Device Dock


Please see my Brickshelf gallery for more MOCs!

I don't mind if anyone borrows any part of any of my MOCs. Please be sure to give me credit though.


#443 Sjuip

Sjuip

    Posts: 205
    Joined: 21-November 11
    Member: 22224
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 29 November 2011 - 06:28 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 28 November 2011 - 10:29 PM, said:

It'd be interesting if anyone that has the set 7242 could see what the DesignID is (marked inside the "shield box").

My son owns the set - that's why I came across it.
Just checked and Toa_of _Justice is right: the design ID is 2578.
I already had noticed that the geometry on the TLG Lost Parts site is the same as in LDD - anyway it does not resemble the tow-ball fitting on the actual part.
Maybe they used the model in LDD for the picture at the Lost Parts site?

#444 kamos

kamos

    Posts: 31
    Joined: 18-August 11
    Member: 19856
    Country: Slovakia

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:04 AM

Hello,

i found some bugs:

1: geometry bug in "4151 Grid plate"
Posted Image

When i was trying build "7213 Off-Road Fire Truck & Fireboat", i found bug (possible geometry error) in 4151 Grid plate. As you can see on the picture, at one side, that thing what is in green square, can be placed bellow 4151 but at another side it can't be placed. As I found, 4151 have two "bad" and two "good" sides (last part of picture showing good in green and bad in red sides)


2.telescope error

Posted Image

I was unable to add 2351 telescope to 57779 telescope arm. I don't have any save with this so i can't test if LDD remove it.


3.error

Posted Image

when i was trying rotate this on my model (tow truck), LDD crashed BUT when I removed the arm from car, it will rotate without any error

EDIT: when I got both plates with fork, and move it "totally down" it will stuck and sometimes it crash LDD, but if is one of them removed it will work without problem




4.robot inaccuracy

Posted Image

maybe you ask "Buddy, what are you talking about?" (note: my name in English is buddy, friend). I'll try explain it.  If you build "Bad robot" and grab his higher parts (all except legs) and try move them, you'll see, you can move to be more on left or right. If you build something like in the picture you'll see, on one side can be add for example wall element 4215 but you can't add it to another side.  As you can see in photo bellow, in real life is possible to do this. It looks like the robot arms or his body is oversized in LDD. I would like to ask, if TLG could sightly edit that robot to fit between these brick.

Posted Image


I added an LFX file so you can try this.




(if the picture are too big , size or resolution tell me)

Edited by kamos, 10 December 2011 - 04:24 PM.


#445 Master of Legos

Master of Legos

    Posts: 13
    Joined: 29-August 11
    Member: 20096

Posted 11 December 2011 - 05:31 PM

I found a nasty bug with part 60169. It swirls around randomly when trying to flex it.

Before:
Posted Image

After:
Posted Image

#446 Lyichir

Lyichir

    Posts: 1507
    Joined: 17-December 10
    Member: 14738
    Country: USA

Posted 11 December 2011 - 11:54 PM

View PostMaster of Legos, on 11 December 2011 - 05:31 PM, said:

I found a nasty bug with part 60169. It swirls around randomly when trying to flex it.

Before:
Posted Image

After:
Posted Image

That often happens when LDD is having trouble processing. How big is the model you're using it on? Often I find it helps to copy and paste the parts you're attaching it to into a new file, flex it there, and then copy and paste the flexed chain back to your original model. That's not to say that this isn't a bug, but just me trying to inform you of some workarounds.

#447 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5632
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 12 December 2011 - 01:50 AM

View PostLyichir, on 11 December 2011 - 11:54 PM, said:

That often happens when LDD is having trouble processing. How big is the model you're using it on? Often I find it helps to copy and paste the parts you're attaching it to into a new file, flex it there, and then copy and paste the flexed chain back to your original model. That's not to say that this isn't a bug, but just me trying to inform you of some workarounds.
Can you (or kamos) post a LXF where this phenomena could occur?
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#448 Master of Legos

Master of Legos

    Posts: 13
    Joined: 29-August 11
    Member: 20096

Posted 12 December 2011 - 11:36 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 12 December 2011 - 01:50 AM, said:

Can you (or kamos) post a LXF where this phenomena could occur?

Hmm, I tried, but I couldn't get it to happen again. Oh well. Maybe Kamos could do it?

#449 kamos

kamos

    Posts: 31
    Joined: 18-August 11
    Member: 19856
    Country: Slovakia

Posted 13 December 2011 - 04:53 PM

View PostMaster of Legos, on 12 December 2011 - 11:36 PM, said:

Hmm, I tried, but I couldn't get it to happen again. Oh well. Maybe Kamos could do it?
Tried with (possible) same parts as you but it didn't happen.

#450 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5632
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 14 December 2011 - 08:13 PM

Hi

Finaly got around to answering this

View Postkamos, on 10 December 2011 - 01:04 AM, said:

1: geometry bug in "4151 Grid plate"
Posted Image
This is an illegal design from TLG. The flange on the yellow techic element (by the x-axle hole) portrudes into the 4151 plate. After re-building, I found that the error occurs on both sides.


Quote

2.telescope error
Posted Image
I was unable to add 2351 telescope to 57779 telescope arm. I don't have any save with this so i can't test if LDD remove it.
The 2351 is the old telescope and 57779 the new arm. I'm not sure they go together with physcial bricks either.



Quote

3.error

Posted Image

when i was trying rotate this on my model (tow truck), LDD crashed BUT when I removed the arm from car, it will rotate without any error

EDIT: when I got both plates with fork, and move it "totally down" it will stuck and sometimes it crash LDD, but if is one of them removed it will work without problem
I haven't been able to reproduce this.

Quote

4.robot inaccuracy

Posted Image

maybe you ask "Buddy, what are you talking about?" (note: my name in English is buddy, friend). I'll try explain it.  If you build "Bad robot" and grab his higher parts (all except legs) and try move them, you'll see, you can move to be more on left or right. If you build something like in the picture you'll see, on one side can be add for example wall element 4215 but you can't add it to another side.  As you can see in photo bellow, in real life is possible to do this. It looks like the robot arms or his body is oversized in LDD. I would like to ask, if TLG could sightly edit that robot to fit between these brick.

Posted Image
This is a tricky one. It actually be that this is an illegal build also. I'm not sure that the width of the robotarms (including "hands") are narrower or wider then the glass.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users