Sign in to follow this  
Thetford

Cannot place tiles under plates in LDD despite there being room

I'm relatively new to LDD and I amcurrently designing a building in LDD, and I am facing an issue with tiles. The building incorporates both "modular" and "city" build styles, so both the floors and the back walls can be removed and reattached with ease. This uses tiles under the back walls so that the back wall can be slid out without having to remove the floors (so it can be optionally backless like a "City" building). This of course brings me into conflict with the LDD restriction that prevents anything being placed on tiles or other smooth surfaces despite nothing physically or geometrically actually preventing it. Anyway, I just removed the tiles that would be under the back wall, place the back wall on the SNOT bricks, then replace all the tiles under the back wall. While this worked fine for the ground floor, the first floor only allowed half the tiles to be replaced, despite being enough room underneath. I cannot understand what is blocking the tiles from being there.

HarbourOffices6_zps9951a04f.png

HarbourOffices12_zps9eaa3abb.png

First floor without back wall.

HarbourOffices8_zps81e848bd.png

Mechanism for attaching back wall on to the rest of the building

HarbourOffices9_zpsd713f65c.png

Tiles removed in preparation (2 White 1x1, 2 White 1x4, 4 White 1x8, 6 Dark Orange 1x2)

HarbourOffices11_zpse8339a1e.png

Back wall attached, and all possible tiles replaced, with the remaining invalid (4 White 1x8, 1 Dark Orange 1x2) note how the dark orange tile is invalid despite its mirror image on the other side of the building is valid despite having the same bricks above and below.

HarbourOffices10_zps93056d8f.png

Gap under wall with all tiles removed.