Sign in to follow this  
Eilif

A boatbuilder's shop

indexed.gif B-OV-8E

All right, here's the promised update to Brickington Island. If you just want to see the pics, you can skip the story below.

Bjorn Johansen Comes Home

Having recently added an airport and ferry service, and having begun to develop the higher elevations of the Island, the Brickington Island Town Board finds it'self with new residents who would like to set up businesses on the Island. One such Resident is Bjorn Johansnen.

Bjorn Johansen grew up on Brickington Island, and his family has long maintained the Historic Coast Guard Boathouse in downtown Brickington as a family vacation spot. A boatbuilder by trade, Bjorn has had built boats on the mainland for the past 20 years. Now that he has built a solid reputation, and Brickington has become a more accesible locale, he has applied for a permit to relocate his business to Brickington Island and expand the size of the Historic Coast Guard Boathouse.

After a series of negotiations, Bjorn agrees to use to modernize and double the size of the boathouse while maintaining the same traditional style of the building's exterior. Johansen Watercraft has now officially relocated to Brickington. Bjorn and his apprentice/daughter Esther build top quality wooden boats in a variety of styles for the discerning boat owner. The Johansen family lives in the newly renovated/expanded loft above the workshop.

Special thanks to Erasuremode who took these pics for me when my camera ran out of batteries.

Here's the view from the street. No sign yet, as adding anything to an historic facade requires a whole separate set of permits that are still in progress.

img_0169.jpg