I would like to know what everyone thinks about the relatively new flexible train tracks. Do you think it should replace straight tracks from passenger train 7938? Thx

Flex track would be perfect for running a LEGO version of the British Pacer. It'll provide the correct rough ride and maybe "donkeying" if I put plates underneath here and there. :laugh: That's my plan once I finished my Pacer MOC.

It's going to be noisy when the train runs over flex track. Here is an example of my MOC going over flex track in the curves.

Edited by dr_spock

When I first started picking up Lego train stuff at the beginning of this year, I thought they were a great idea, and for a purely toy railway (or one that won't be using 9v stuff), they are pretty good (even if they're far from perfect, the flexibility they allow is worth it). However, since I decided to go to 9v for my MOCs, the flexi stuff has become less than useless to me.

I'm a train novice compared to most fellows in these parts - as I merely have a humble layout weaving around my city. However, in my amateur opinion, what you gain in flexibility to achieve non-standard lengths/angles perhaps necessary for your layout, you lose in traction and stability. I've come to use flex track in extreme moderation, and certainly wouldnt trade straight track for it. In fact, I recently replaced purchased a few packs of straight just to swap out some flex I was using for straight lengths.

I started Lego train this year and now I have a nice layout with 210 rails. I use 7 flex but only because I need 7 1/4 track. There is no other way to have this lenght... Those flex are spreaded all over the layout and I use a plate to make them straight.