dlefik2014

My 3D Lego Renders Thread

Hi everyone. I just wanted to have myself a thread to show my journey into the 3D lego world and maybe get some honest feedback to maybe help myself improve over time.

So I'll give a bit of background on me real quick. Basically i've been into doing 3D work for about 3 or so years now, all self taught, so I will admit I have a lot of bad habits that I've developed over the years I'm sure lol. I did a couple lego renders a few years back with some pieces I modeled up in 3D Studio Max. They weren't really anything fancy to be honest as my modeling skills were pretty limited at the time, so they ended up being simple primitive pieces. I'll show those here too. I basically stumbled into the LDD software a few weeks ago when my kids were looking for something to toy around with lego stuff and things kind of went crazy from there. I decided to jump into LDraw after finding myself getting a little obsessed on the digital lego stuff.

So right now, I've only been dabbling in MLCad for about 2 weeks on and off, so I got a ton yet to learn I'm sure. Since I'm a 3D Max user though, I wanted to learn anything I could about getting LDraw parts into 3D Max for rendering. I started out trying to hand model a lot of parts but as the days went by, it was becoming quite complex and nerve racking especially when it came to more complex parts. I can model a lot of the basic bricks, plates, studs, and some other basic pieces, but I found I was spending more time doing modeling than actually having fun building stuff. Well, I learned through many hours of play that LeoCad and LDView don't export very nice 3DS or OBJ geometry, so I finally found a workflow that works nicely for me.

Well, I'll show my first actual project done, then give some info on the workflow.