Sign in to follow this  
lorax

Just starting out in stop motion

Hello, I am not sure I am in the right part of the forum.

I haven't started making Lego films yet, I am just learning how to do stop motion (there is a competition to make a music clip and I have been wanting to try it out).

Here is a mini practice:

I use Corel video studio pro 4x, and a basic slr camera. What I would love to know is, how to make my work better, what are the best number of frames, how much movement and facial expression can we achieve and are their any tricks for doing this? If you have a number of people in a scene, how do you remember which ones you have already moved, how do you make sure your movement timing will match any talking or music?

I have lots of questions, it is a slow, hard process, but lots of fun so far. (and I would love to learn how to do it well).

Final video is here:

Edited by lorax

That was really good! I thought the scene of the band playing together just before the bus hits them was fantastic, your timing there was bang on.

I'm new to stopmotion as well and haven't produced much yet but I can tell you a couple of things that have helped me.

I noticed some light flicker though out your film and there are some things that you can do to reduce/eliminate this. What settings can you adjust manually on your camera? Everything that can be set to manual should be. The most important being white gain, if you can't adjust this then you most probably won't be able to get rid of the flicker entirely. The settings need to be exactly the same for each still. I don't know what you are using for lighting but I can tell you that you should never use natural light, it changes over time as clouds go over etc and will effect your shot, always use lamps to light your set.