ignacj

7898 green loco questions

traintech1.jpg

I apologize if these were already discussed previously, I'm fairly new to LEGO trains (sensing addiction in making) and have new 7898 set on the way.

My questions are:

1. Can 7898 green locomotive be controlled with a new PF remote (8879)?

2. Can the same loco be upgraded to use new rechargeable battery box (8878)? I guess will the battery fit without getting new base plate?

3. Having a long experience with Radio Control hobby, has anyone successfully wired on of PF trains with regular Lipo 2-cell packs?

For price of about $80 you can get a fairly large capacity LiPo 2-cell pack with capacities in excess of 5000mAh. The only tricky part

would be to rig up some sort of LiPo saver that would prevent battery from over-discharging (<3v per cell) and therefore damaging the pack (I suspect this is integrated into LEGO rechargeable battery pack, therefor one of the reasons for higher price). Naturally this type of arrangement would not be kid-friendly.

Thanks

ig

I apologize if these were already discussed previously, I'm fairly new to LEGO trains (sensing addiction in making) and have new 7898 set on the way.

My questions are:

2. Can the same loco be upgraded to use new rechargeable battery box (8878)? I guess will the battery fit without getting new base plate?

3. Having a long experience with Radio Control hobby, has anyone successfully wired on of PF trains with regular Lipo 2-cell packs?

For price of about $80 you can get a fairly large capacity LiPo 2-cell pack with capacities in excess of 5000mAh. The only tricky part

would be to rig up some sort of LiPo saver that would prevent battery from over-discharging (<3v per cell) and therefore damaging the pack (I suspect this is integrated into LEGO rechargeable battery pack, therefor one of the reasons for higher price). Naturally this type of arrangement would not be kid-friendly.

Thanks

ig