Jump to content


Deeplinking backwards


11 replies to this topic

#1 turtleman2020

turtleman2020

    Posts: 312
    Joined: 31-December 11
    Member: 23684

Posted 25 June 2012 - 04:08 PM

Everytime I deeplink a picture the picture goes to the top of my post. As a result I have to deeplink my pictures backwards, the last pic first and the first one last etc. Has anyone else had this problem, more importantly can somebody help?

#2 Fugazi

Fugazi

  • Welcome to Eurobricks. How can I help you?


    Posts: 3912
    Joined: 08-January 10
    Member: 8966
    Country: Canada

Posted 25 June 2012 - 04:30 PM

I am not familiar with this problem, but it might help if you provided your operating system and browser version. Are you using the 'insert image' button of the editor to deeplink images?

Even if it doesn't solve your problem, you still should be able to copy-paste the images in the correct order as you go regardless of the order you deeplink them in.
New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide

#3 gotoAndLego

gotoAndLego

    Posts: 1050
    Joined: 09-January 10
    Member: 8984
    Country: USA

Posted 25 June 2012 - 05:18 PM

I have noticed this as well. Windows 7, IE 9, the insert image button puts the code at the top of the page insead of where it should be.

Edited by gotoAndLego, 25 June 2012 - 05:19 PM.

-----
Please support my Lego Cuusoo projects:

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

FLICKr

#4 turtleman2020

turtleman2020

    Posts: 312
    Joined: 31-December 11
    Member: 23684

Posted 25 June 2012 - 05:45 PM

I have windows 7 and IE 9 so should I just continue doing it backwards?

#5 purpleparadox

purpleparadox

    Posts: 1610
    Joined: 20-February 12
    Member: 26763
    Country: Canada

Posted 25 June 2012 - 05:50 PM

View Postturtleman2020, on 25 June 2012 - 05:45 PM, said:

I have windows 7 and IE 9 so should I just continue doing it backwards?
If I were you I'd just download Google Chrome.

Edited by purpleparadox, 25 June 2012 - 05:50 PM.

Posted Image


#6 Brickdoctor

Brickdoctor

  • Look at my Post Count!


    Posts: 20624
    Joined: 06-June 10
    Member: 11254
    Country: California, USA

Posted 25 June 2012 - 07:05 PM

View PostgotoAndLego, on 25 June 2012 - 05:18 PM, said:

...IE...

View Postturtleman2020, on 25 June 2012 - 05:45 PM, said:

...IE...
There's your problem. :tongue:

#7 gotoAndLego

gotoAndLego

    Posts: 1050
    Joined: 09-January 10
    Member: 8984
    Country: USA

Posted 25 June 2012 - 07:21 PM

View PostBrickdoctor, on 25 June 2012 - 07:05 PM, said:

There's your problem. :tongue:

Oh I know.
-----
Please support my Lego Cuusoo projects:

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

FLICKr

#8 turtleman2020

turtleman2020

    Posts: 312
    Joined: 31-December 11
    Member: 23684

Posted 25 June 2012 - 08:59 PM

I got google chrome problem solved :sweet:

#9 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:11 PM

This happens to me on my phone browser occasionally, but I know what it is. With a phone you need to scroll up to get to the insert image button and sometimes your cursor moves due to your finger movement.

I'm guessing IE is defaulting the cursor to the beginning of the post when you leave the text box and click the button.  With all the known issues with IE I honestly think switching to another browser is the best solution, whether it's chrome or firefox or something else.

#10 AndyC

AndyC

    Posts: 1224
    Joined: 23-June 09
    Member: 6485

Posted 30 June 2012 - 03:48 PM

View PostBig Cam, on 28 June 2012 - 01:11 PM, said:

I'm guessing IE is defaulting the cursor to the beginning of the post when you leave the text box and click the button.  With all the known issues with IE I honestly think switching to another browser is the best solution, whether it's chrome or firefox or something else.

As much as everyone loves to blame IE, in this case it's because Eurobricks serves broken HTML to Internet Explorer. If you click the "This page is broken" icon in the IE9 address bar (just to the left of refresh) this issue will go away (IE will render the HTML the way IE6 did), as well as a whole bunch of other weird issues throughout the site.
Posted Image

#11 Fugazi

Fugazi

  • Welcome to Eurobricks. How can I help you?


    Posts: 3912
    Joined: 08-January 10
    Member: 8966
    Country: Canada

Posted 30 June 2012 - 05:22 PM

View PostAndyC, on 30 June 2012 - 03:48 PM, said:

As much as everyone loves to blame IE, in this case it's because Eurobricks serves broken HTML to Internet Explorer. If you click the "This page is broken" icon in the IE9 address bar (just to the left of refresh) this issue will go away (IE will render the HTML the way IE6 did), as well as a whole bunch of other weird issues throughout the site.
'Broken' HTML is in the eye of the beholder! :wink: But yes, IE9 is finicky. Here's our resident expert's statement on these issues.
New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide

#12 AndyC

AndyC

    Posts: 1224
    Joined: 23-June 09
    Member: 6485

Posted 01 July 2012 - 03:03 PM

View PostFugazi, on 30 June 2012 - 05:22 PM, said:

'Broken' HTML is in the eye of the beholder! :wink: But yes, IE9 is finicky. Here's our resident expert's statement on these issues.
I think the W3C validator might disagree on that! :wink: Personally I don't care much, as I know the workaround, but the overall experience for users of Eurobricks would probably be better if one of the methods for auto-flagging the site as requiring compatability with old versions of IE were used, rather than relying on posts in this forum or just pointing people towards other browsers. Assuming, that is, there isn't an easy fix available for the actual forum software itself.
Posted Image



Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users