Sign in to follow this  
Brick Miner

a 9 volt system question...

i hope someone, who has experience with the 9 volt system, can share some knowledge :'-) !!! because i have a question that could save me some cash...

can 9V system power be "split" from one source to two different outlets ??? for example, i want to power both, a set of train track contacts (to run the train), AND a micro motor from one power source (in this case, the train speed regulator).

is this physically possible, or will this cause a short-circuit, or worse ??? it seems possible, using a pair of electrical wire bricks (and attaching them to the top of the train track contacts, where they attach to the speed regulator), but because im a novice about the 9V system, i have no idea what would happen :'-( !!!

any feedback would be greatly appreciated !!!

thanks - BrickMiner

I believe you can do it BM. I powered a light and a track once using the method you explained (multiple wires from the speed regulator).

I did a little research and came across this at Lego Train Depot:

You can use one controller to power two loops. You could either have two totally independent loops or have them connected by points in some way. If you want independent loops you will need an extra #5305 9V Train Connecting Lead to get the power to it. Since most people don't have extra leads, however, you probably want to go with the points method. Points can route power to another loop as well as allowing the trains to swap over for a bit of variety. This is explained in more detail in the section on How To Wire Up Layouts With Points. But if you just want to see an example, look at Euro Two Track.

If you can power two different sets of track with the same contoller (using an extra connecting wire), I don't see why you can't power a track and something else (like the motor you indicated).