en_zoo

Carpenter's house in Laelariel [missed deadline for Cat. B]

33749932846_856de30e01_c.jpg

'We've been deprived of everything; only few houses are still standing. We tried our best to contribute to the war against Raavage, but.. '   - A villager in Laelariel

I'm sorry guys, life got in between and I missed the deadline. When realising I wouldn't make it, I decided to also go over the size restriction, so this cannot be an entry at all. However, I'm pretty satisfied with the result, so I'm posting it anyways. Sorry, I have only this one pic due to the same time constraints.

It's my first attempt at a half-timbered Tudor style house, for which I'd like UoP credits - will definitely build more of this, so if you reckon this one isn't quite enough for the Credits, no worries and just say ^ The Tudor is, after all, a bit irregular, as you can see [there was a reason for this but I've quite forgotten by now..].

Special thanks must go to @TitusV for the much inspiration provided recently [I was honest, see? :wink:] as well as @ZCerberus for the same inspiration, in particular thanks to his Beggar's Inn.

Other random facts:

The roof - I'd never expected to like the classic sloped roofing so much; it might be disappointing for some, but I reckon I'll stick with it for a while :tongue: One part I didn't manage well is the rake, as it doesn't completely cover the black of the roof-slopes.

The colours - needless to say, blue and its shades are the new addition to my palette, I really like them [yes, random dark turquoise just to see how it looks :blush:]. I'm also looking for a smoother transition between rb and normal green - sand green helps, but I'm open to suggestions [I don't reckon dark brown would do..].

Overall, some classic techniques that I've finally tried out.

C&C most welcome as usual - thanks for looking! ^^

Edited by en_zoo